We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wont be back..”
Review of Forty 1⁰ North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Forty 1⁰ North
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Manama, Bahrain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wont be back..”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

extremely comfortable rooms, beds you want to sink into, linen to die for and spacey clean bathrooms...BUT, arriving in Newport from Europe, with jetlag issues, be warned, you will not be able to sleep in this hotel - especially if you have rooms 6 & 7. loud music from the deck bar/resturant in the evenings and piped music outside your room in the corridor starting from 6am - music so loud that you must turn up your AC to make your room very cold to block out the noise from the reception music and the piped corridor music. the hotel seems to be run by summer college students who you cant identify as they wear no kind of ID or uniform or even any kind of clothing that would identify them as employees of the hotel - not a hotel manager in sight, even when we asked to speak to the manager - no reception desk to speak of, just a table with a laptop and a young girl surfing the net..no concierge services and if local information needed, your answer will be found by the girl at the desk surfing the net for you. Saying that the employees were all very pleasant, especially the car parking guys, lovely hotel interiors - great location, just don't expect to sleep..

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bernadettemccann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    91
    41
    16
    19
See reviews for
93
323
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cedar grove
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Beautiful Hotel with TERRIBLE customer service!!!!!!! I took my girlfriend here for 3 days for a nice romantic getaway. The room was $700.00 a night so I was expecting an incredible room and incredible service and all we got was a decent room with no balcony and a side view or the water!!! You get nothing for the price of the room. We had to call down 3 x just for ice !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I highlu reccomend not staying here. Also we ghad to pay $25.00 a nite to park it was pathetic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We complained wrote a e mail and letter about how displeased we were and never heard anything back !!!! Do your self a favor look else where!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank teambbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

My boyfriend and I just got back from a one-night stay here. The hotel property, rooms and amenities are beautiful. With these rates, we were also expecting top-notch, or at least very good, service, and unfortunately it was amateur hour. Understanding check-in was 3 pm, we arrived early and were informed that we would get a call when our room was ready and our bags would be waiting for us in the room. We never received a call and no attempt was made to provide an early check-in. When we arrived back to the hotel at 5 pm, our bags were still in the closet. Also, each time we dealt with the front desk, there was an extended wait. While the desk area is very minimalist and lovely, the computers and printers are located in the office in the back so the one clerk manning the desk has to keep disappearing for periods of time. Later, when leaving for dinner, we asked the front-desk clerk for turn-down service and for the room service dishes to be removed from the room. After just checking us in earlier that evening and passing us leaving our room, she asked which room we were in and when we weren't sure which number it was and explained where it was located, she still wasn't sure which room that was and asked for my last name. Finally, the morning we checked out, several people were milling around the front desk and no clerk was there. Eventually, we had to flag down a waitress from the restaurant who had to go in the back to get someone to help us all. In an average-priced hotel, this kind of service might have been excusable, but with astronomical rates like this, it's really unforgivable. It's such a beautiful place, management just needs to concentrate a bit more on the service.

Room Tip: Note that the
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ka_1980_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

This hotel has a lot of style, from its streamlined tastefully nautical design to its clubby pool room and bar area. It is not fuddy-duddy at all which is a refreshing surprise. The service was personal and polished. The room was very large with a small balcony overlooking the harbour. The bathroom was very spacious and modern with huge tub, marble floors, separate walk in shower and a lot of square feet in between. We took over a suite for a business meeting and it was light-filled, modern, and comfortable. A great choice for a Newport getaway.

Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank sfbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed here with my husband and 3 month old infant for 2 days on our way from NYC to Maine. Beautiful property, right on the water, walking distance to restaurants and shops. It looks more chic than other properties on the water and I can imagine that it gets pretty crowded with younger crowds during the weekends. Fortunately, for us, we were there from Sunday - Tuesday, and was very accomodated by the staff in terms of restaurant seatings and/or sitting in the lounge areas with the stroller. Rooms were modern with ipads and ipod touches in the room, as well as a fireplace that would be great in the winter time. Our room did not have a bath tub (not sure if that's consistent throughout the hotel); therefore it was difficult to bath the baby. There is valet parking for $15 day. Check in was delayed approx an hour though. Would definitely consider staying again.

Also, there's a rental (red barn) right next to the hotel, would be great for families and much cheaper.

Room Tip: Try to get a waterview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babywong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We reserved this hotel for 4th of July weekend to get away from the city and relax. We arrived to the hotel in the morning to have a wonderful drink on the patio and then went out to explore Newport. The hotel is beautiful and drinks were great. But we woke up at 5AM to make the drive from NYC so we wanted to lie down before dinner for 30 min in our room but couldn't because the party had already started downstairs. Basically our water view room was directly over the party outside on the deck which starts at about 4PM. This means loud music from that point on nonstop until 2AM. We realize this is a trendy hotel but we wanted one quiet evening since we had such a long journey. By the time we came back from dinner (after not being able to relax in the room before due to noise) the music was unbearable. You could literally sing along if you were in the shower. When we complained we were basically told there was nothing they could do and that it was a trendy hotel and we should understand that was the case. We found this totally unacceptable! The manager wouldn't even come up to speak with us in person. Clearly the bar patrons are more important than the guests who are paying over $400 per night. We've stayed at plenty of hip hotels and never had to deal with the club noise in our room. Not to mention the crowd was like Jersey Shore gone wild with tragic styles and drunk people screaming etc in the lobby. Needless to say, after the staff was unwilling to turn down the music and the manager didn't come up to see us, we got a verbal agreement for a refund and drove all the way back to Manhattan. My husband was fuming! So much for a lovely weekend in Newport. Do not come here unless you plan to be out at the bar every night because the noise will keep you awake!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank London93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Perfect location, great views, beautiful marina and overall great ambiance. The only thing to complain about is when we arrived the front desk had lost our reservation and told us we never booked our room. Not only did I have a confirmation email from the hotel but I had a confirmation number and the name of the person I spoke to on the phone to confirm the reservation. They did not apologize. Three young stupid girls stood around looking at each other and then blankly at the computer and never found our reservation. They were only able to find our reservation at their restaurant, the grill. Lucky for them our room was still available for the nights we planned on staying. Beds were very comfortable and bathroom is great.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greatdainz02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
649 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.8 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.3 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#6 of 21 in Newport
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forty 1⁰ North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forty 1⁰ North

Property: Forty 1⁰ North
Address: 351 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6654
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Forty 1⁰ North 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forty 1° North brings a modern elegance to historic Newport. Marrying a cool and casual luxury with the excitement of our downtown waterfront setting, we offer the best of Newport to all our guests including a sense of eco-consciousness beginning with our LEED-certified hotel, the first of its kind in Rhode Island. Spacious Guestrooms, Suites, Cottages, and Lofts are all outfitted with state-of-the-art technology and environmentally-friendly amenities, adhering to our philosophy of responsible consumption and design. Floor-to-ceiling windows and over-sized balconies in our Suites welcome the outside indoors with natural sunlight, fresh seaside breezes, and sunsets that our guests are not likely to ever forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Forty 1⁰ North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 1 North
Forty 1 North Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing