We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic but pricey!”
Review of Forty 1⁰ North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Forty 1⁰ North
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Hudson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic but pricey!”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We just spent a 3 day weekend "off season" in April at this fabulous hotel! It was our 3rd stay in Newport, second time in April and this was absolutely, by far, the best hotel, location, service, and room. We got a great deal on the water view deluxe room through Snique Away, and were excited to experience this place. Upon arrival on a Thursday night, a valet greeted us. My husband asked if we had the option to park our own car, the valet said "yes" and indicated where we could park. After that, we never had to drive anywhere, because the location is so convenient to EVERYTHING in town, we just walked!
We were then greeted at the front door by a lovely woman who checked us in. The first thing that struck us was no "front desk", just a beautifully appointed writing desk where we were checked in by laptop and then escorted to our room. Once there, the gal took us through how to operate the tv, ipod, ipad, and indicated other amenties such as the wet bar. The room was so beautiful, and modern! From the furnishings, fireplace, seating area, view, tv, and giant bathroom with 2 person soaking tub and double shower, we were thrilled with how comfortable, beautiful and accomodating the room features were.
On the ipad were a list of the prices for spa services (available in room only) which we did not use. Wet bar prices, which were OUTRAGEOUS ($65 for a small bottle of Bacardi), but quite possibly de riguer, since we don't usually have a wet bar in the room! There were room service menus, a list of area restaurants and other suggested places to go, plus tv listings and free newspapers to read.
Every person we ran into in the hotel greeted us warmly, thanked us for being there, told us to have a good day/night, and even said "welcome back" when we came back from an excursion. The service is wonderful, you really felt that you were welcome and valued as a customer. The first night, we enjoyed a drink at the round bar in the main lobby. Wine list was quite limited, we were told they were gearing up for "the season", but enjoyed a espresso martini instead which was scrumptious. Bar prices were very high - $25 for 2 drinks with tip (more than we are accustomed to paying).
Pros: Hotel is beautiful, modern, comfortable. Amenities in the room and hotel abound, from in-room ipad/ipod, fireplace, soaking tub, to the lobby library with bar, books, pool table, tv, outdoors is also very comfortable with seating and firepits. Location is fantastic, service is amazing. Bed is comfortable, linens are beautiful, plus Malin-Goetz skincare, haircare products supplied.
Cons: In our room, we could not get the ipod to play "over the tv" as we were told it would, even after calling down and getting instructions. Our fireplace would not "stay on" whether the 30, 60, or 120 minute setting. We did not ask for assistance with this, which may have resolved the problem quickly, we just dealt with it. Prices are VERY high for food/drinks - the last night we had dinner at the hotel bar and it was spectacular tasting but very pricey. Room service coffee was $10 with tip which had exactly 2 cups in the pot sent up - no coffee in the lobby or a maker in the room - absolutely a must! My husband ran next door next 2 mornings for coffee at "Express Yourself", but on site is preferable. BEWARE of Valet parking charges!!!! Luckily, in our Snique Away confirmation, the hotel policies indicated that "valet parking is available" - so when we were charged $75 for 3 days of valet parking, we were able to get it waived because nothing indicated that there was an automatic parking charge - but this is the policy! The valet never touched our car, but apparently it is a daily parking rate. The head of guest services was very gracious about this charge an immediately removed it from our bill - which made us feel that this is absolutely a hotel that we would return to in the future!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kimadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    90
    41
    16
    19
See reviews for
82
315
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012 via mobile

We had a very wonderful experience at forty one north.  As usual Mary took great care to personalize our stay. hangar a personalized note in our room welcoming us back even though we showed up way before check untimely as we had taken a red eye in from Los Angeles. All of the staff who had met us on a prior visit remembered our names and welcomed us back. That is always swell. We took the fermentation class from Tom.  The food was really nice and the chef accommodated our vegetarian guest at the last minute very nicely. The wines were ok, not great, but ok but the class and the atmosphere were terrific. We actually just ended up sitting at the bar with the class and it became our dinner we cancelled our other resevartion in town and just hung out. We would absolutely do a package again.  We even invited our local friend to join and very much appreciated the flexibility in letting her join. As always the room was so comfy!  Bath salts would be a great add to the room for us bathers in that great tub!  Also. Having some nice bikes at the hotel to take out would be great.  I rented one easily in the parking lot, but it would be a nice touch and is somewhat common for a hotel of this caliber. We will definitely be back in the fall. We are on the board at URI and yours is the place we love to come back to for our twice yearly adventure.
 

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Joupiejoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I recently had friends visiting that chose to stay at Forty 1 North for the weekend. I went to meet them there to have a quick lunch and to check the place out. Kat, the manager, was extremely helpful with my friends and myself. She treated us all like VIPs and we were all very impressed. The property itself is top notch and no expense is spared. It is true luxury on the Newport waterfront. Excellent place and excellent staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Finton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
143 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This time, we were not in the main building but in the Westerly Loft, off to the side of the 41 North main parking lot. While the room was not nearly as nice as in the main building, it was huge (they claim >800 sq ft) with a kitchenett, several couches, flat panel tv, and dinner table. As with everything at the hotel, it was immaculately clean. The room is perfect if you have kids in tow (except for the 2 flights of stairs for them to climb). We love 41 North, and plan to head back again later in the year. It's a perfect base to explore Newport for a day.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeantownBriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Recently had an opportunity to send several days at the Forty 1 North Hotel in Newport. While I'm a frequent visitor to the town, this was my first time staying at this establishment. There are no words to express how pleased I was with the outstanding customer service and friendliness of everyone who made my stay enjoyable and memorable. Because the hotel is surrounded on the first floor by a beautiful outdoor bar and sitting area, I think the noise level of people enjoying themselves & the music would bother me in the summertime. However, I would stay there again during the winter months.

Room Tip: The harbor-view rooms are to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank braddish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Haven, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

we have been coming to newport for most of our lives. stayed in many hotels. this was by far the best! great room-wonderful and helpful and fun staff-great food. would go back here on all visits if possible! thanx 41 north for a great weekend!

Room Tip: we faced the water and had a connecting veranda with our friends. it was to die for !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport RI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Weekly Fermentation Class dinner - held 4/11/12. The new chefs food from start to finish was the BEST we’ve ever experienced at 41North over the last two years... and we’ve had some great meals in the past… but this far exceeded in presentation, quality and taste. Kudos and welcome to Chef Damien Brassel. Jose at the bar was great to deal with and mixed some wonderful Manhattan's and Cosmo's. Tommaso is always a pleasure to see and hear about his wine selections for the evening. It was very nice that Tommaso had people introduce themselves at this small gathering… it certainly is an ice-breaker and one that allows conversation between strangers to flow.

The guest we had with us wrote > "Thank you again for the very fun and delicious dinner - every bit of it, the company, the room, the view, the food and the wine were all so wonderful..."

We are already looking forward to next Wednesday's Fermentation Class dinner!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChasMiller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forty 1⁰ North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forty 1⁰ North

Property: Forty 1⁰ North
Address: 351 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6654
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Forty 1⁰ North 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forty 1° North is Newport's newest waterfront destination. State-of-the-art Hotel and Marina. Exciting Restaurants and chic lounges. Beautifully appointed lodgings. Extraordinary service. Everything you'd expect in a world class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Forty 1⁰ North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 1 North
Forty 1 North Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing