We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay”
Review of Forty 1⁰ North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Forty 1⁰ North
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Stay”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Forty 1 North is a water front hotel set back off the busy Thames St. You are able to have the charm of the boutiques and restaurants without the noise or bustle. It's an oasis. The views of the marina are spectacular from all King rooms. There are double sided spray showers and fireplaces in every room. The Grill dining room has Chef Christopher Lee (formerly of NYC's Aureole!) at it's helm. He is a genius. The menu is fabulous and creative without being too experimental. Every appetizer, entree, and dessert at breakfast and dinner were outstanding. Ask for Luis, the waiter, he will make your meal more memorable. The check in and lobby are a little odd (non-descript), but just a little bump in an otherwise wonderful operation. We ate here in the summer and the outside seating is amazing. The inside views are also impressive. The rooms and bedding are luxurious. The ambience is modern and beautiful like a yacht. Unlike the old crusty hotels that abound the island. You will definitely enjoy your stay. Great deals to be had in the off season. I would not recommend this hotel for children. It is more of a couple or adult group atmosphere. But your pups are welcome if quiet.

Room Tip: Rooms with king beds have a full view of the water. Double beds have a view of town. It is very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anbarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    90
    41
    16
    19
See reviews for
84
318
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Yes, a witty title bc it is Newport after all.

So to get right down to it - we are a very well travelled couple (we've stayed in all types of hotels all over the world).

The good: location is amazing. The view is wonderful. The food in the restaurant is superb. The room is clean, well appointed, and modern.

The bad: the valet is a joke. The staff in the restaurant is reminiscent of a college pub. With the exception of our waiter (who later was also our room service attendant) and the bus-boys no one else seemed to care...about anything. Eye rolls, dirty looks at management, you name it.

There is NO 24 hour room service (as is published). Also note - the Valet is NOT 24 hours. If you would like though they can "get you your key." It appears after midnight there is only 1 staff member to answer phones. They also are the one to tell you "no room service" and "valet is not here."

It is sad that such a beautiful place that someone obviously put a great amount of care and attention to detail into the design is being ruined by the staff.

So, would we stay here again? I doubt it. Perhaps after a few more seasons have passed. We'll keep an eye out on the reviews here to see if the staff/management are replaced.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R2B2Squared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

They really did this place the right way with all of the first class amenities. It still has that boutique feel when you walk through the doors. They don't even have a front desk with a dedicated 24/7 staff. Sometimes when you walk in, there won't be anyone there at all. There also isn't anyone holding the doors to greet you when you walk in. I guess the valets served as the greeter, but hopefully they'll fix that. Enough with the negatives. The location is incredible. You can't find a more central spot! You want to stay at the Viking or one of the other mainstays, you'll be out in the middle of nowhere. You want to be near the harbor (check), near the shopping (check), near the good food (check), and it still leaves you only a five minute drive from the cliff walk and the mansions. Our room was a waterview and had a beautiful fireplace and huge bathroom with a large tub. Don't expect to find an iron or ironing board, but you can call housekeeping for one. The property is out of a movie. The outside decks are right on the marina. Really nice for breakfast or a drink before dinner. Bottom line, after the stay, I didn't feel too guilty about paying $400 per night for this place in the busy season (seafood fest, fall season).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank center2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We picked this place to avoid the ubiquitous chintz of the traditional Newport inns and the modern and trendy proposition of 41N looked attractive. The reality was somewhat ambiguous: we were met by a very polite car park attendant who said he would valet park my car even though the car park was 80% empty and the nearest space was a few feet away! I said I was fine and was strangely directed to a disabled space and told I could keep the keys - ah well €20 saved at least. There is no reception and had a double take on what I thought was a couple of young guests playing on their apple laptop - no problem with this casual approach to checking in which was quick and efficient. However, more of a problem was had with room technology - loved the iPad but could not see the point of an iPod (no speakers or headset?), took some time to work out how to turn off glacial aircon and the TV didn't work - called reception and an "engineer' arrived to reset cable which tripped out later - eventually worked out the quirky system which just underlines that you either need some room instructions or have to bother to explain how stuff works - the iPad was good to show menus but had nothing about the room or facilities. We guessed when breakfast might be served.

The room itself was cosy and classy from pillows & towels to a wet room. On the downside why have a double waterfront room with a harbour view with only one chair? Ridiculous. However, most annoying feature, by far, was the music playing through external speakers which was blasting away all of the time even though no-one was actually outside to listen. We asked if if could be turned down so we might sleep with a window open but apparently it is controlled by a computer,, ah well will go with the chintz next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 28 years of marriage at Forty 1 North because we wanted it to be special and in less then 24 hours we were happily more than satisfied- thank you all! We will make this an annual event and we intend on advance booking our next year anniversary reservation today!
The hotel staff was very friendly, professional, helpful and accommodating. The harbor views and mega yachts were beautiful and the hotel's location is central to all the great shopping in Newport. We highly recommend Forty 1 North....you won't be disappointed- cheers and be sure to order their delicious evening cocktail special !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scituate, Mass
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My wife and i spent a long weekend here in early September. Great locationas it is on the water with a nice marina. Excellent food and a decent bar. Room was nice and bed comfortable. My issue is with the attitude of the employees and the general feeling of the place being disorganized.i had the exact same experience as a previous reviewer. Bell man was great and directed us upstairs to check in. There was a podium with no one there. A woman came out with an attitude and made us feel like it was a chore to check us in. It was as if it was weird for someone to be checking in at this hotel. Same thing at the inside bar. We went down for a drink and the male bartender who was not busy made us wait about 10 minutes before asking us if we wanted a drink.
When he asked us what we wanted it was as if it was a chore for him to get a drink for us. This guy had absolutely no personality. You generally get a feeling of the employees saying to themselves that "they should feel lucky to be staying here". We will not be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank picklesmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My wife are very seasoned travelers and having just come from a great stay on Marthas Vineyard
we were looking forward to our stay oa Forty 1 North. We were there for the Wine and Food Festival weekend and were working the event. From the moment we arrived and were totally ignored at the checkin desk where the two woman thought it was more important to chat and check out something on the computer than welcome guests. It was very uncomfortable and we knew right away it was a mistake. The $700+ per night room was very small and upon entering we found the phone did not work, the safe had to be replaced, the Ipod did not work, the TV did not work and did not shut off all night. Speaking of the night we were in 705 and the bar's music banged loud until 1am. I mean very loud. The best part of the stay was the young men out front at the valet, professional and very helpful.
This might not seem like much but they give you one small bar of soap for the weekend where you have to bring it from the shower to the sink to use, one bar. There is no coffee machine in the room and I went down to get some in the morning and well no one was there to help so I walked down the street to get some. Add this all up and it was a complete robbery. This is a bar who has a marina and oh by the way happens to have very expensive hotel rooms in that order. Never again, never again! We told the same young ladies upon checkout about our stay and were told how sorry they were and they were working on fixing the problems. I told to go look at Trip Advisor and customers were complaining about the same things we complained about for years and nothing has been fixed. We should have checked first with Trip Advisor!
Don't stay here, it will ruin your trip!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bcchocolat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
596 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.3 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#7 of 21 in Newport
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forty 1⁰ North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forty 1⁰ North

Property: Forty 1⁰ North
Address: 351 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6654
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Forty 1⁰ North 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forty 1° North brings a modern elegance to historic Newport. Marrying a cool and casual luxury with the excitement of our downtown waterfront setting, we offer the best of Newport to all our guests including a sense of eco-consciousness beginning with our LEED-certified hotel, the first of its kind in Rhode Island. Spacious Guestrooms, Suites, Cottages, and Lofts are all outfitted with state-of-the-art technology and environmentally-friendly amenities, adhering to our philosophy of responsible consumption and design. Floor-to-ceiling windows and over-sized balconies in our Suites welcome the outside indoors with natural sunlight, fresh seaside breezes, and sunsets that our guests are not likely to ever forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Forty 1⁰ North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 1 North
Forty 1 North Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing