We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Dining”
Review of Pier 49 Seafood & Spirits - CLOSED

Pier 49 Seafood & Spirits
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, View
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
“Delightful Dining”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Food, service and atmosphere were delightful. We especially liked the calamari - a new twist we had never ecperienced..

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John_RR2531KF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline O, Manager at Pier 49 Seafood & Spirits, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for writing a review on your recent dining experience at Pier 49. We are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed our food (especially calamari!), service, and atmosphere. We look forward to having you as our guest again the next time you are in Newport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    34
    22
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“50th birthday surprise”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Neil Sullivan and his team went above and beyond professional and courteous service, starting with the accommodations for a small surprise dinner party, planned months before, to the day we checked out and our truck wouldn't start. Neil worked with me via email for this surprise for my husband's 50th, and I am not exaggerating when I say, he made the eight of us feel as if we were the only ones there. He also set up a table for us during an extremely busy st. Patrick's day lunch crowd. The dinner that night? Our table looked as if we were at a wedding. The staff? Could have been family, they made us so welcome. The food was awesome. EVERY guest raved about their meal. And Neil himself, notified his staff, and came out in the freezing cold to jumped our truck. I wondered, at one point if he mistook us for royalty! Lol!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline O, Manager at Pier 49 Seafood & Spirits, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for writing such a glowing review on the service you recently received while dining with us! Pier 49 is truly fortunate to have such a wonderful Restaurant Manager, Neil, who continuously goes above and beyond for our guests. We are thrilled that our staff was able to contribute to the success of your 50th surprise birthday party and exceed your expectations in every aspect. We look forward to having another opportunity in the near future to host your group again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, RI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lunch Meeting”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Our sales staff visited Pier 49 for an impromptu off site meeting. The atmosphere was very inviting and the staff incredibly accommodating. The Executive Chef came out and introduced herself as did the manager. Jenn, our server, was very friendly and efficient. The lunch menu had everything that you would want on the water in Newport but I settled for a delicious burger with a view of the Harbor. We look forward to returning in the summer when we can sit outside!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crabbykate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline O, Manager at Pier 49 Seafood & Spirits, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for choosing to meet and dine at Pier 49! We are glad that your group enjoyed our inviting atmosphere and accommodating staff. We love when we have the opportunity to interact with our guests and we appreciate you recognizing the friendly and efficient service they provided. We can’t wait for you to return this summer when our outdoor patio and bar are open!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethany, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast.”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The hotel offered a breakfast buffet for $12 per person. The food was typical breakfast food. The restaurant had a nice view of the harbor

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aud732013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline O, Manager at Pier 49 Seafood & Spirits, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you for writing a review on your recent experience. We are pleased that you enjoyed dining in Pier 49 with views of our marina and Newport Harbor. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Newport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great outdoor bar on the wharf”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

expensive but good...in close competition to other surrounding restaurants. Like that its attached to the hotel we stay at and the bartenders are a lot of fun and very professional

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marsha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline O, Manager at Pier 49 Seafood & Spirits, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Pier 49! We are glad that our hotel’s onsite restaurant provided the perfect combination of convenience and personable customer service during your stay. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Newport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pier 49 Seafood & Spirits also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing