We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not exactly the cleanest place” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Admiral Fitzroy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Ranked #6 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not exactly the cleanest place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

My wife and I stayed here and we would not return. I'm not sure who's writing all these wonderful reviews but it's not what we experienced at all. Honestly, we felt duped by all the reviews on this site. For starters the sheets on our bed were dirty when we got there. They had some disgusting green and red dried crusty stuff on them. It grosses me out to even think about it now but it appeared to be somebody's bloody snot that they had excavated and then wiped on the sheets. The bathroom was also apparently missed in the cleaning process. There was old hair on the floor and in the tub and there was a swipe of old toothpaste smeared on the wall next to the sink. There was also what appeared to be short hairs and/or dust actually painted into some of the trim in the bathroom. The decor was tired, dated, and just looked dingy. I know it's an historic structure and all but you can still freshen the paint every 10 years or so. Oh yeah almost forgot, on Saturday morning somebody with a cart of some sort (or a drum set made of plastic buckets) started slamming things around out in the hall around 7 or 8 o'clock. This went on for a good 15 to 20 minutes. Nothing like being woken up on what was supposed to be a relaxing weekend by somebody playing crash up derby in the hall.

Oh, just an FYI, if you're going to splurge and get an additional package with the chocolates don't expect too much. They were tasty I'll give them that - all 4 of them. It is a tiny box with 4 chocolates in it. It was actually kind of funny and yet insulting at the same time.

At least the breakfast was ok. It's as they describe it - a continental deal. If you're expecting a real breakfast you'll need to go somewhere else but if you're cool with muffins, danish, toast, juice, coffee, etc. then it's good for what it is. No complaints here. Nothing fancy but it did the trick and It was all pretty fresh. I knew what to expect and it was just that.

The staff was present, not good, not overly bad, just present - didn't seem too concerned about or interested in us much at all. They were kind enough to get us new booger free sheets when we asked but we weren't really offered any kind of real apology from management or anything (given the disgustingness of the situation) and nobody asked us how everything was for the rest of the weekend, including at checkout when just about every hotel, motel, inn, and B&B in the world asks you how your stay was or says, "We hope you enjoyed your stay." or "come back again". Nope, nothing. Just a generic, "Thank you. Have a nice day." I overhead some staff members talking about the snot incident the next day and one of them actually said, "I looked at it and you could hardly even see it." Implying that we were being overly nitpicky for expecting sheets free of another guest's bodily discharges. (The nerve of us.) I don't even want to think about what was on the sheets that we didn't see (ick!). I guess that was probably the tipping point for me and why I'm wasting my time writing this review. I usually don't bother doing this kind of stuff but I felt obligated so the rest of you could have fair warning.

We've stayed at other Inns/B&B's in Newport and elsewhere and this is by far the worst we have experienced. It's too bad because the location is great and we really had high hopes for this place. Based on the reviews we expected more, much more. If the price was lower (and there was some level of remorse for the snotty sheets) it would have been acceptable as our expectations would have been less but this place wasn't cheap. We expected more - great service and a clean room isn't too much to ask for at a supposedly fancy, historical inn. Bottom line, you can do better than the Fitzroy for the money if you're staying in Newport.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank abcxyz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admiralf, Manager at Admiral Fitzroy Inn, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Our entire staff is extremely disappointed to read what felt like a very mean spirited review of our inn regarding your recent stay with us. We would first like to point out that over the past10 years of operation that our team has been at this property, complaints about the cleanliness of the Admiral Fitzroy Inn could be counted on one hand. It is absolutely rare for any guest to note our inn as anything but immaculate and we go through great effort to maintain this reputation.

All of our linens are laundered on site daily in extremely hot dryers and our housekeeping does a thorough inspection before dressing each room. The unfortunate event that your sheets were not pristine is upsetting, however we feel our staff handled this instance with courtesy and timeliness by immediately providing you with a fresh set of sheets. The night staff apologized to you personally and took care of the matter. We were sorry to read that you were not satisfied with our initial apology and solution to the problem at hand.

We would also like to note that you reserved your stay with us through Groupon, for a discount of 40% off a regular reservation. For a stay on Thames Street in Newport, Rhode Island, it is difficult to find accommodations for less than what you paid.

We are also sorry you were disappointed with the chocolates in your package. The sampler box of 6 chocolates are handmade at a local shop and is more about quality than quantity. We will be careful in the future to state this more clearly.

In response to your noise complaint: our housekeeping staff does not arrive until after 9am so what you heard could have been caused by another guest, and was something we feel could have been solved by calling our front desk.

Lastly, we never proclaim to be a “fancy” inn, as you stated in your review. We pride ourselves on comfort, cleanliness, friendliness, and most importantly attention to our guests’ needs at our historic property. We are sorry that your experience was less than wonderful and hope that travelers considering our inn will do their own research about our reputation, which includes the many authentic reviews by satisfied guests who have stayed with us and enjoyed their experience.

Sincerely,
Angela Craig, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    83
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
44
227
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

My partner and I stayed here for New Year's Eve and took advantage of the Admiral Fitzroy's NYE special, which was a great deal. After a long drive it was nice to have a bottle of champagne, cheese plate, and chocolates waiting for us upon check-in. Angela was very welcoming and friendly. The B&B is very warm and cozy, and the New Year's Day mimosas were a nice touch. The rooms were large and clean. The cookies were yummy, and I would not hesitate to stay here again, and recommend it if you are in Newport.

Room Tip: Two rooms (18 and 19) on the top floor share a deck. It was nice in the winter, and I imagine it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeME207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

We had a rough time. We were here for the holiday weekend and put next to a very noisy room. While the night guard was helpful, the day staff was totally dismissive! She gave off the impression that she just didnt care. Add to that incredibly noisy pipes, and we didn't sleep at all. Also, this is NOT a bed and breakfast. The breakfast is mediocre at best. We paid a lot of money for a special package, and we wasted our money. (Though 22 Bowens was amazing!) We will not be returning to the Admiral Fitzroy.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sgm2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admiralf, Manager at Admiral Fitzroy Inn, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
While we do appreciate you taking the time to review our inn, we feel your experience and opinion of the Admiral Fitzroy does not accurately represent our favorable reputation and the majority of our guests’ experiences. New Year’s Eve in Newport, Rhode Island has anything but a quiet reputation, and beyond providing a choice of multiple private rooms we can do little to control the activity of our guests on this holiday. This is also a historic property, which lends itself to interior noise.
Our night watchman did address your noise complaint by talking to the guests that were zealously celebrating the New Year, he also moved you to a different room to try and solve the problem. Additionally, your New Year’s Package was very reasonably priced to include a discounted room rate, a $100 Gift Certificate towards dinner, flowers, a bottle of wine, a cheese tray and a small box of locally handmade chocolates. We added mimosas and quiche to our continental breakfast however; you chose not to join us for breakfast on New Year’s Day so you probably did not experience this.
The Admiral Fitzroy Inn is not a typical Bed and Breakfast due to the fact that we are 18 rooms over four floors with an elevator in a building that is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The property is not a good match for everyone but we do our best to accommodate our guests and, as you can see by the other reviews, 99% of our ratings are excellent and we hope readers will take notice of the typical and enjoyable stays most guests have at the Fitzroy.
Sincerely,
Angela Craig, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

The Admiral Fitzroy Inn is a great place to stay. We were made to feel most welcome; the rooms are clean and charming and a great breakfast is served. Highly recommended. We travelled there in November 2011 (not 2012, as shown) and whilst we haven't been at any other time I really liked Newport at this time of year (Thanksgiving). The town itself was very quiet but with plenty of choice in resturants and lots of places to visit. If you are going on Thanksgiving make sure you book ahead as many resturants are either closed or close early; likewise with the mansions.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
392 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

We stayed here for our anniversary weekend & we enjoyed it very much. Like most on here already said, the hotel was charming, the room was spacious & clean, the location was convenient to all & etc. We got the anniversary package which included flowers and champagne in the room. We knew we weren't getting Taittinger & a dozen roses but we thought what they included was better than what was expected.

A reviewer mentioned that this was a "little bit of Europe" in RI and we found that to be the case with breakfast. We don't necessarily choose to stay at B&B's with the purpose of having the included breakfast but it's a nice perk when it's done right. Their breakfast room was very cute but a little too close for comfort for our taste. We are 2 normal-size people and could barely squeeze between the occupied chairs to sit. In European fashion, they offered a small, continental-style breakfast and even further in that fashion they offered ham & cheese sandwiches made to order. That is cute if that is what you are going for, but this is the U.S. and here breakfast is about eggs, omelettes, bacon & etc. It's not like eggs are expensive or takes long to cook or a chef is needed to cook them. Part of what we enjoy about B&Bs is the feeling of a getting home-cooked breakfast in an intimate setting, not having an impersonal spread of fridge items laid out for you to pick at like leftovers. Luckily we found the Corner Cafe in town and had a wonderful breakfast there instead. Although the breakfast was a little disappointing, that kind of setup isn't truly uncommon so I cannot take off too many points for that.

Room Tip: I took the recommendation from here for room 19 and we were very pleased. Top floor & windows fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sneakyright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admiralf, Manager at Admiral Fitzroy Inn, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
We’re glad you enjoyed your anniversary stay here with us. We were disappointed to read your thoughts on our continental breakfast since this is, as you stated, a great perk of staying in a local inn. Our breakfast is referred to on our website and by our reservations staff as a signature continental breakfast and we make great effort to provide more than what’s typically offered at a continental breakfast. Our spread includes fresh fruit salad prepared each morning, sweet breads and muffins baked in house each morning, bagels, english muffins, high-quality, bakery-style croissants and scones, and fruit and plain yogurt. We also offer fresh granola made to order for our inn, hard boiled eggs, ham and assorted cheeses, assorted cereal, oatmeal, 4 different juices, coffee, and a variety of herbal teas. As you also mentioned we prepare a warm ham and cheese croissant upon request. Everything we offer is made fresh, nothing is “leftover” as you implied.
We understand some travelers prefer a hot breakfast and that’s why we clearly label ours continental and are always happy to recommend local breakfast restaurants to our guests.
We consistently seek to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations and we apologize if there was ever a miscommunication about the type of breakfast you would receive here at the Admiral Fitzroy Inn. Best wishes to you in your future travels and we do hope you’ll visit us again at the Fitzroy.
Cheers,
Angela Craig, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012 via mobile

Nice spacious rooms, friendly innkeepers,perfect location,great European continental breakfast. The place is very clean and well kept.antique building so bring earplugs for peaceful sleeping.private baths

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lameass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
92 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

The room we had was wonderful. Period furniture and very clean. Within walking distance of everything in Newport including the beach and the mansions. Breakfast is continental, fresh fruith but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
#12 of 21 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#5 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Fitzroy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Fitzroy Inn

Property: Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Address: 398 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admiral Fitzroy Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Admiral Fitzroy Inn is an 18-room bed and breakfast conveniently located in the heart of Newport's bustling waterfront district and within walking distance to many popular local shops and restaurants. The Inn offers three floors of unique, hand painted rooms with private baths in each and an elevator for easy access. A Signature Continental breakfast, on-site parking, wireless internet and roof top deck are additional amenities included in your stay. The Inn was built in 1854 and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It is approximately 1.5 hours south of Boston, 1.5 hours from Hartford, Ct, and 3.5 hours from New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Admiral Fitzroy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Fitzroy Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing