We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value in Prime Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Ranked #4 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
CHESHIRE
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Value in Prime Location”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Stayed at the Admiral Fitzroy for a long weekend in early April to celebrate our Anniversary and had a great stay.
Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff and homemade cookies that were still warm. The gentleman at the front desk recommended restaurants and entertainment marking up a map and actually walked out front with us to point out different places and directions.
Our room was super clean, spacious and overlooked Thames St. The Inn and rooms are not super modern, but this is an historic Inn and not some trendy boutique hotel. We were looking for quaint and clean, which this Inn was in spades.
The continental breakfast was excellent, with a variety of fresh pastries, breads, cheeses, cereals, fruits and hard-boiled eggs to start the day off right.
It would be difficult to find a better location in Newport with everything within easy walking distance.
We will definitely being staying at this Inn again in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTMcPs_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    95
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
52
272
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lowell, MA
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The Inn is in a great locale: if you don’t mind walking most of all the attractions you’d like to see (including the mansions) are within about 1 ½ miles of the Inn. The building had a few rough spots re appearance inside & out: flaking paint and other relatively minor cosmetic details in need of attention. But overall there were no issues with cleanliness at all (dirty lodgings are a cardinal sin in our book). The interior common spaces are all nicely maintained, though tight if shared with other guests. BTW: we found that breakfast was better than most, with unexpectedly good coffee and a nice selection of appetizing pastry, fruit juices and tasty fresh fruit salad. All staff were very amiable & accommodating; our server at breakfast was great- look for the tip jar and recognize the fine service!
One caveat: you may want to ask whether the shower is in good working order. We had an irritating problem with the plumbing the first morning which was easily remedied (really should not have happened), but too late for our morning routine that day. Even considering that one detriment, we found the Admiral Fitzroy to be a fine choice for old Newport!

Room Tip: We ‘upgraded’ to one of the two top floor rooms which each have their own small deck/patio. It also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Duke_of_Url
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Windsor, Connecticut, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

My husband and I had a weekend with "no kids". We purchased a "Groupon" for the Inn, which included a bottle of wine and chocolates. Breakfast was included. The inn was beautiful. The rooms were very large and comfortable. The breakfast was a healthy choice of many items, including fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, scones, yogurts, and more. The location was right in the middle of everything, very convienent! There were fresh cookies always available, along with a candy jar (which my husband loved!) The only issue was you could hear people in the adjoining rooms. It wasn't too bad, but definitely noticable. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at the Admiral Fitzroy for 4 nights in June, 2011. I had a difficult time choosing a location but am glad we decided to stay here. This is a lovely inn, full of character and in a great location for exploring the area. The room was charming and very clean. The breakfast was excellent -more continental than American but filling and more than enough choices. Staff were friendly.
We brought our bicycles and loved biking on the trails in the area. Great sea side rides. We also did the cliffside walk, explored the mansions and did a sunset cruise. All in all, a great area to explore.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I stayed at the Admiral Fitzroy Inn for two nights with my boyfriend, and from start to finish we had a welcoming, warm and hassle-free experience. From the variety of fresh breakfast food each morning (and fresh-made cookies each afternoon) to the charming decor of the rooms, the staff who were always willing to answer any questions we had or offer advice on local attractions, and the convenience of the location, this was a fantastic 'home base' for us to have for the weekend. On top of that, Newport is a wonderful little city with a lot to do and see. We walked along Thames street and the waterfront, as well as the scenic Cliff Walk, twice, toured a mansion, visited a local vineyard and enjoyed the nightlife (the restaurants and bars host a lot of great live music). We will absolutely be going back to Newport in the future, and we plan to stay at the Admiral Fitzroy again!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mbMuchaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luvaplan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

My husband and I went to Admiral Fitzroy for a winter weekend getaway. Our room was spacious, comfortable, clean, and priced right. It was on the top floor and we had a view of the water. The staff was friendly, made us feel right at home. We really enjoyed the continental breakfast, it's similar to breakfasts served in European inns and the breakfast room is adorable! The location of the Admiral Fitzroy is great, within walking distance to many restaurants and bars. We had a nice relaxing weekend and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor facing the street will have a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewster, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

My husband and I went to Admiral Fitzroy for a weekend with another couple. We had such a nice time. The staff was so nice and helpful. The continental breakfast was wonderful all fresh and homemade. We can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlottie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,992 reviews
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
393 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.1 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Fitzroy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Fitzroy Inn

Property: Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Address: 398 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admiral Fitzroy Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Admiral Fitzroy Inn is an 18-room bed and breakfast conveniently located in the heart of Newport's bustling waterfront district and within walking distance to many popular local shops and restaurants. The Inn offers three floors of unique, hand painted rooms with private baths in each and an elevator for easy access. A Signature Continental breakfast, on-site parking, wireless internet and roof top deck are additional amenities included in your stay. The Inn was built in 1854 and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It is approximately 1.5 hours south of Boston, 1.5 hours from Hartford, Ct, and 3.5 hours from New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Admiral Fitzroy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Fitzroy Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing