We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the Admiral!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Ranked #5 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2008

We just returned after three nights at the Admiral Fitzroy Inn. This was our first visit to this inn and our biggest regret was that we did not plan on staying longer. The location was perfect and the on site free parking was a plus. Staff was friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast had many choices and was delicious. Our room on the top floor was clean and nicely decorated with pretty linens and wall stencils. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Admiral Fitzroy to friends. We look forward to returning!

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank RDC56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for Admiral Fitzroy Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2008

This place was fantastic. The staff were great. The breakfast was great. The location was great. We stayed there for 4 nights. We stayed in a King room with the deck. It was in a perfect location. Walking distance to everything. We def will stay there again. I would recommend everyone to stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AESP920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2008

Found the Admiral Fitzroy online, and was impressed to find no negative reviews. It was perfect. Staff couldn't have been more helpful or more friendly. Room was bright and confortable, and if you like to walk, it is within walking distance of everything. Continental breakfast was great, served in a breakfast room that is bright and very picturesque. And did I mention the free freshbaked cookies available at the desk during the day and evening? Felt like we got a bargain considering the accomodations.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Wharfwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2008

I booked our 3 nights at the Admiral Fitzroy based on the many positive reviews here, and on the reasonable price compared to many other Newport B&Bs. I'm very happy we did! The location is great; you can walk to so many things. The room (we had a queen size room on the 2nd floor) was spacious, and immaculately clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful with restaurant recommendations. The continental breakfast was fresh and plentiful. I personally prefer a continental breakfast; other B&Bs I've been at have huge breakfasts full of sweet things and it's just too much for me. I'd rather have a normal size breakfast and have room to try one of the local restaurants for lunch. I would defintely recommend the Admiral Fitzroy and will stay here again if I ever get a chance to return to Newport.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yankeegirl46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Fitzroy for two nights and we had a great time. The staff was very friendly and was more than happy to direct us to places to see and do in the area.
The breakfast was also excellent - not your typical coffee and roll fare, with home baked goods, fresh fruits, etc.
The room was nothing fancy but it was very cozy - kind of like staying at grandma's house.
Due to the close proximity to Thames Street there is a good deal of street noise at times. The trade off is the many shops and harbor side attractions that are all within walking distance. Parking on the narrow streets is scarce so we appreciated the ample parking lot behind the hotel.

We look forward to visiting the Fitzroy again.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2007

I stayed here during the Boat Show in Sept 2005 and was delighted with both the good standard and friendliness of the staff. The location is ideal, right in the centre with a private car park but quietly set back. The room was clean, comfortable and the addition of a tea kettle made our visit just perfect!(We are English) The daily freshly baked cookies were also a wonderful suprise that we looked forward to. Breakfast was simple but good. I was taught how to slit and toast an English muffin by the helpful breakfast assistant which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: September 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sucal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2007

What an absolutely fantastic Bed and Breakfast! The food was OUTSTANDING! The most friendly staff - the beds were more comfortable or as comfortable as our own at home! You must stay here!!!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NanaChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,034 reviews
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
600 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#8 of 21 in Newport
402 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Fitzroy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Fitzroy Inn

Address: 398 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: £136 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admiral Fitzroy Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Admiral Fitzroy Inn is an 18-room bed and breakfast conveniently located in the heart of Newport's bustling waterfront district and within walking distance to many popular local shops and restaurants. The Inn offers three floors of unique, hand painted rooms with private baths in each and an elevator for easy access. A Signature Continental breakfast, on-site parking, wireless internet and roof top deck are additional amenities included in your stay. The Inn was built in 1854 and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It is approximately 1.5 hours south of Boston, 1.5 hours from Hartford, Ct, and 3.5 hours from New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Admiral Fitzroy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Fitzroy Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing