We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a nice quiet getaway.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Ranked #5 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for a nice quiet getaway.”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband and I stayed in one of the rooms with the semi-private deck and we loved it. The room and bathroom were clean, and the view was beautiful. The breakfast was delicious and there were plenty of options from which to choose. We felt very much at home during our stay. The inn is located in a great spot and we were able to explore newport on foot for our entire stay. We can't wait to return again for another peaceful getaway.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McMShan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admiralf, Manager at Admiral Fitzroy Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you! We're so glad you felt at home here and enjoyed the deck room, they are special. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    90
    16
    6
    1
See reviews for
47
253
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We met friends for a long weekend in Newport and stayed at the Admiral Fitzroy Inn for the first time. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The location can’t be beat and the room (#7) bathroom and downstairs breakfast room were immaculately clean. I consider myself to be very picky and this place was lovely. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7 which was nice and well appointed, our friends stayed in room 5 which was also n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebBurns25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admiralf, Manager at Admiral Fitzroy Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Great! Thank you so much for the review. We consider ourselves to be picky too! Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and I spent another trip to Newport here in this quaint and charming inn that is located right in the heart of Newport. The staff is always welcoming and informative. We stayed in Room 19 which is lovely and has a semi-private deck that we especially enjoy with a view of the harbor and Newport Bridge. There is always a very nice breakfast served with fresh fruit and baked goods and delicious cookies for a nighttime treat. The Inn's location right on Thames Street makes walking to great shops and restaurants a breeze. We love it--it's become our only choice to stay when we visit Newport.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bogart1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admiralf, Manager at Admiral Fitzroy Inn, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you, thank you, thank you! We love happy return guests and are so appreciative you took the time to share you experience with other travelers. Hope to see you both soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Short Hills, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

What a delight this charming B&B is in the heart of Newport and Thames Street. Thank you for your location, your convenient parking lot- and your elevator for weary late afternoon middle aged travelers!
Angela was warm and welcoming without being intrusive. The location can't be beat and the breakfast was fresh and more adorable than plentiful but just enough!

Location, charm and friendly service. Who could ask for or want anything more?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerusalemjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admiralf, Manager at Admiral Fitzroy Inn, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thanks so much for the review! We're glad you enjoyed the simple amenities of the inn and hope you'll come back to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latham, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I returned to the Admiral Fitzroy in April to celebrate his birthday, and we were even more impressed with the Inn! Angela and the staff could not have been more helpful or accommodating. This time we stayed in room 9, which was absolutely lovely! The elevator was particularly helpful taking our bags to the second floor. The breakfast was plentiful, fresh, and delicious! We had the Mansion package and selected Sardella's for dinner. (Also highly recommended!). We returned home relaxed and refreshed! Looking forward to staying at the Admiral Fitzroy when we return to Newport!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admiralf, Manager at Admiral Fitzroy Inn, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thanks for coming back Sue! And thanks for mentioning our packages; we hope they help guests get the most of their Newport experience. Look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, WI
Level Contributor
264 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

There is a lot of History to this building. Once a convent, and now a stylish B&B which was relocated to its current location you are in the heart of all activities in the historic district. The staff is excellent in their attention to detail, including their pleasant breakfast and the fabulous cookies (that I loved) in the main reception area. The King size bed room was very spacious. Jim was helpful in guiding us on our journeys. An added bonus was the free parking in a very crowded downtown location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cabo_Bob_and_Harriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admiralf, Manager at Admiral Fitzroy Inn, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to notice all the details of our historic inn! We are so glad you enjoyed your time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

A lovely inn in a great part of town on Thames street. I believe inns are the way to go in beach towns. They are more charming and have a more relaxed atmosphere than bigger hotels--which is great when you come up with a lot of questions about the area. The Admiral Fitzroy is no exception. Danielle was fantastic when I made the reservation. She was exceptionally friendly and helpful.

We had a minor misunderstanding about the room, but the staff took care of it quickly and without causing us any inconvenience. I appreciated this because I know what a puzzle it can be to make a room change in a near-capacity inn.

To top off the stay, I asked if there was a place nearby to buy a beach towel. Danielle tracked down two nice beach towels for us, saving us from a stop on the way to the beach. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admiralf, Manager at Admiral Fitzroy Inn, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thanks Brian! We're so glad you enjoyed the inn and the beach! We truly appreciate the kind review and hope to see you on your next trip to Newport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.6 mi away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#7 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Fitzroy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Fitzroy Inn

Property: Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Address: 398 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admiral Fitzroy Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Admiral Fitzroy Inn is an 18-room bed and breakfast conveniently located in the heart of Newport's bustling waterfront district and within walking distance to many popular local shops and restaurants. The Inn offers three floors of unique, hand painted rooms with private baths in each and an elevator for easy access. A Signature Continental breakfast, on-site parking, wireless internet and roof top deck are additional amenities included in your stay. The Inn was built in 1854 and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It is approximately 1.5 hours south of Boston, 1.5 hours from Hartford, Ct, and 3.5 hours from New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Admiral Fitzroy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Fitzroy Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing