We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Ranked #4 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Admiral Fitzroy Inn during Memorial Day weekend. Newport, RI is one of our most favorite places to visit. We normally stay in a hotel when we are there but decided to give this a try this year! We absolutely made the right choice!!! Perfect location (with a parking spot included!!), wonderful friendly staff, and very clean. The breakfast each morning was delicious and everything was fresh. We cannot wait to come back!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank dzee85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admiralf, Manager at Admiral Fitzroy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2014

So glad you decided to stay with us this time around, hope to see you again! Thanks for the review :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

I can't even begin to explain how enjoyable our stay was at the Admiral Fitzroy in Newport. My boyfriend and I stayed for a weekend and felt as if we were right at home. Our room was cozy, clean, and comfortable. The staff was incredibly accommodating and kind. Plus, the fresh cookies in the afternoon was a warm and welcoming touch. The complimentary breakfast was great to wake up to and the deck was perfect when we didn't want to go to the beach. We will definitely be staying here again next time we're in town, and would recommend it to any couple looking to get away for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rachel816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admiralf, Manager at Admiral Fitzroy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Rachel, thank you so much for recommending our inn to other travelers. We're so glad you enjoyed your room and the rooftop deck. Hope to see you up there next summer!

-Your friends at the Admiral Fitzroy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were first time visitors to Newport, R.I. and were so delighted with everything the trip had to offer. Our hotel was very clean, comfortable with a great location! The staff were all so incredibly friendly and helpful. The breakfast room was lovely with a lovely selection of great breakfast items. The hotel was not fancy, but offered exactly what we wanted and required. On our next trip to Newport, I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. The city of Newport was great, the people friendly and the walkability amazing. Don't miss the cliff walk! We discovered so many lovely shops, restaurants and bars just by putting some miles on our feet. No car needed there

Room Tip: Rooms 18 and 19 have their own balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank merle1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admiralf, Manager at Admiral Fitzroy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. We are glad you mentioned all the details that make the inn a perfect place for out of town guests. Hope to have you back again.

-Your friends at the Admiral Fitzroy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

My second year staying at the Admiral for Newport Folk Fest, but my first with my infant son. They offered to provide a pack n play when we booked the room!!! Everyone was extremely helpful and kind (as usual)... We are truly grateful!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admiralf, Manager at Admiral Fitzroy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Glad to have you back Erica! We loved meeting your little one too :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is the second time we stayed at the Admiral Fitzroy Inn with sets of grandchildren. The Inn is modest, but clean, centrally located in the harbor, well equipped and kid friendly. Free on-site parking and a generous breakfast are two other perks.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

After a recent 2-night stay, I can only reiterate what my fellow visitors to the Admiral Fitzroy have been saying - this is a very nice Inn. The location is perfect - you never have to use your car to walk down by the harbor; the staff is attentive, helpful and courteous; the accommodations are clean and well-maintained; and the breakfast is plentiful and varied. It even has an elevator! Add those homemade cookies in the lobby, a fresh breeze blowing off the harbor, and you have the makings of a perfect place to stay during a trip to Newport. My stay could not have been any better!

Room Tip: We stayed in room #14 which faces the street and the harbor. Nice sized room with a sitting area, d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Guy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admiralf, Manager at Admiral Fitzroy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Guy, thank you so much for the complimentary review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again!

-Your friends at the Admiral Fitzroy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

On the advice of my son and daughter-in-law, my husband I stayed here for 2 nights. I really can't say anything more than some of the other reviewers. The place was lovely, and in a great location. Staff were pleasant and accomodating. Breakfast was similar to a continental but better and more variety, just enough to start the day. The dining room was set up with different size tables so you were able to sit alone with your spouse instead of with strangers. And, don't forget to try the chocolate chip cookies before you head off to bed.
My husband and I would definitely stay here again if we were to return to Newport!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kathieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admiralf, Manager at Admiral Fitzroy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for the review! We're glad you found us and enjoyed your stay here. There will always be fresh cookies, so come back and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#6 of 21 in Newport
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cliffside Inn
Cliffside Inn
#1 of 95 in Newport
1,130 reviews
1 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
0.2 mi away
Almondy Inn
Almondy Inn
#20 of 95 in Newport
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Fitzroy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Fitzroy Inn

Address: 398 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: £95 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admiral Fitzroy Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Admiral Fitzroy Inn is an 18-room bed and breakfast conveniently located in the heart of Newport's bustling waterfront district and within walking distance to many popular local shops and restaurants. The Inn offers three floors of unique, hand painted rooms with private baths in each and an elevator for easy access. A Signature Continental breakfast, on-site parking, wireless internet and roof top deck are additional amenities included in your stay. The Inn was built in 1854 and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It is approximately 1.5 hours south of Boston, 1.5 hours from Hartford, Ct, and 3.5 hours from New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Admiral Fitzroy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Fitzroy Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing