We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Charlevoix, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

Our stay at Castle Hill was exceptional. We stayed in one of the beach houses and it was very tastefully decorated with doors opening out to the ocean. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and we could sleep to the sound of the waves crashing against the rocks. Walking into the room provided a state of instant relaxation! The food was fabulous and the staff was most accommodating. It was our first trip to Castle Hill but we felt as if we were old friends. I would go back to Castle Hill in a heart beat! This should be a "must do" on every vacation list!!

Room Tip: The beach houses are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjdy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    98
    26
    20
    22
See reviews for
85
391
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

The waves crashing outside, the delicious smell of fresh espresso, and the colors of the sea - all from your cottage... it's a complete package!! We really really enjoyed our trip to Castle Hill. It may become a yearly getaway for us. The people are super friendly, the food was delicious, and I cannot say more about our cute little beach cottage(Nautilus)... so romantic!! Thank You Castle Hill Inn for the break from the crazy work-life!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelforlife09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

I wanted to do somthing spontaneous for my boyfriend and I and thought about getting away for the evening and suprising him. I googled romantic getaways and a few hundred pop ups came along, thank god I noticed Castle Inn immediatly. I was so impressed by the decor and pictures of this place I couldnt help but forget how much it was for 1 night and book the trip. I was a little nervous considering i booked the beach cottage and we were going in March. Weather is def not the best, ( cold and snowey) but I took the chance. Im so happy I did! The snow fall really set the mood. If you could stay on the beach when it snows its def a sight to see. Especially with a roaring fire place to set the mood. Our beach cottage was absolutely adorable. Everything was just perfect! I read a negative experience with a customer who complained about the fog siren from the beach because of bad weather.. well in my oppinion it was not at all as horrible as they said it was. It actually set the mood even more with the sounds of the crashing waves. I def can say this place is not in my budget at all but I would sacrifice a few shopping trips to save up and stay a few nights again. You def wont be disappointed.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank nen84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

We were lucky enough to stay in a beach cottage and listen to the magical crash of the waves lull us to sleep every night. We were greeted with a big smile and a Welcome Back note on our check in envelope. The cookies, chocolate and classical music playing upon opening the door to our room are a special touch! We come to this hotel every year for two nights each March seeking refuge from the busy word we live in and get that and more every time. Breakfast was delicious and five star perfection. Tea and tasty nibbles made each afternoon special.We can not wait for next year!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gottchagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

We stayed at Castle Hill for a weekend getaway. Our agenda was to completely relax and "veg" out, so we opted for the privacy of one of the beach cottages. It was absolutely beautiful, and exceeded our expectations in terms of location. The cottage is literally steps from the ocean; you can sit up on the bed and your view out the window is just that. The room and bathroom were immaculate. The bathroom had heated floors; definitely a bonus in the dead of winter. Our cottage had a fireplace, it added to the coziness of the room, and it kept us nice and warm.

Staff members were all wonderful; charming, friendly, and at your disposal. Breakfast was awesome; not to be missed.

By my standards, the only thing lacking is a gym, or a workout facility nearby (needed more during winter time). The Inn provided me with a guest pass to a fitness center in the town next to Newport, but it was 15 minutes away. Had it not been an excessively windy (and cold) weekend, I could've enjoyed some spectacularly beautiful runs, though. Other than that, everything was PERFECT.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajs0522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

Visited in late November. Had an amazing long weekend. Stayed in beach cottage which is really nice and simply decorated. Loved the service, brunch and views.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank outnabout2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cantonment
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

In all of our numerous travels, we have never encountered a finer place to stay. Absolutely everything about the Inn is 5 star. The accomodations, the amenities, the food and most importantly, the staff, are all unparalleled. Try it and you will agree, Castle Hill Inn is the best.....by far.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
3.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
3.1 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
2.8 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
2.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
2.7 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Inn

Property: Castle Hill Inn
Address: 590 Ocean Ave, Newport, RI 02840-6518
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#8 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dynamic and breathtaking, Castle Hill Inn promises an exclusive, luxury experience for each guest who visits. The property's 40 acres offer everything from panoramic water views, and rustic hiking trails to private beaches and hidden rocky coves. In summer, guests come to unwind and enjoy the Newport social scene that gathers on the Lawn, which slopes from an elegantly restored 19th-century mansion out to Narragansett Bay. During cooler months, Castle Hill becomes more of a private retreat, perfect for escapes from city life but still close to the amenities of downtown Newport. Year round, the property also boasts world-class dining that showcases the best of Rhode Island's seasonal bounty, Castle Hill's extraordinary setting only becomes more beautiful with each turn of season, and we do our best to match its brilliance with unmatched service for our guests. A Relais & Chateaux member and recipient of Forbes Travel Guide Four Star Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Hotel Newport
Castle Hill Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing