We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favourite place to stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castle Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our favourite place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

My lovely wife Tina and I stayed at Castle Hill in December-January in 2009 to celebrate our engagement.
We stayed in both the turret suite in the main house and one of the
beautiful beach houses.
During our stay we were warned not to stray too far from the hotel as a snow storm was coming. We thought we'd be fine, but just didn't know what was coming! We took a drive keeping it local, just incase the storm came in, and oh how it came in!
We were pretty much snowed in for a couple of days, and what a great place to be snowed in!
The staff just can't do enough for you! From buggy rides from the main house to the beach houses, to the complimentary "smoothie of the day" at breakfast. The turret suite is amazing with fantastic views right from your bathtub! The upstairs viewing room is wonderful too.
I have to say that our favourite was the beach house. Something amazing about opening the door to your bedroom and walking out onto a snow covered terrace then down a couple of steps to a beach blanketed in snow. The independence of staying in a self contained apartment, with the amenities of the main house just a short beautiful walk up the hill was more than we could have asked for.
The local area is beautiful, even more so in the snow!
Watch the sun set from the lighthouse, amazing!
Spend a little time in the bar if you get chance, and ask the bartender to fix you a cherry lifesaver. Yummo!
Spend a couple of hours taking afternoon tea, very relaxing. They even have a tea specialist!

If you're heading Newport way, you could do a lot worse than staying at Castle Hill.
Maybe not as inexpensive as other places, but well worth it.
Go on treat yourself!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    98
    26
    20
    22
See reviews for
85
391
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wareham, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

My daughter and my brother have both stayed at Castle Hill. I was not too enthusiastic leaving my dogs and going away for three days. After all, we live next to the water on Cape Cod, and I love our home. It took less than an hour for me to begin relaxing. The service was first class. Everyone was welcoming and enthusiastic. I forgot that ti was raining when I walked inside to enjoy afternoon tea. The staff could not have been more delightful and the food was wonderful. We had a cottage on the sand with a small dune in front. The bed was next to the window and we woke up to the sight and sound of the waves. Breakfast was the best I have ever had- both days. As much as I wanted to return home, I really didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: cottage on the sand
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dieselmom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

My husband and I visited Castle Hill for the first time last week and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We stayed in the deluxe beach house, which in a word, is amazing! The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. The beach houses are tastefully decorated and well appointed. These "rooms" are located on a private beach so the views of the ocean are unobstructed and gorgeous.

Castle Hill offers complimentary afternoon tea, and though always a nice touch, I found their tea service to be a bit stuffy (a true throw back to Newport's Gilded Age).

The very best part of our stay was our dinner at the resort's restaurant. The food was locally sourced, organic when possible, creative and absolutely delicious.

The service at Castle Hill is top notch. Everyone we encountered was courteous and accommodating. I cannot wait to go back this summer to enjoy cocktails on the Adirondack chairs looking out over Narragansett Bay!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STJGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

My sister and I travelled to Newport for some much-needed R & R and organised to spend two nights at the Castle Hill Inn. From the moment we stepped out of the car we felt transported by the building, the view and the welcome we received. This Inn is all about attention to detail, excellent service and nurture. Breakfast and afternoon tea were superb and dinner on the first night overlooking the water is an experience we wont soon forget. We will definitely be coming back. A word to the wise, do NOT be tempted to bypass the cookies in your room. They are amazing!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tbrown_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

Love this place when in town I stay at castle hill and eat at restaurant Bouchard, and you should as well.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodfiendflavor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlevoix, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

Our stay at Castle Hill was exceptional. We stayed in one of the beach houses and it was very tastefully decorated with doors opening out to the ocean. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and we could sleep to the sound of the waves crashing against the rocks. Walking into the room provided a state of instant relaxation! The food was fabulous and the staff was most accommodating. It was our first trip to Castle Hill but we felt as if we were old friends. I would go back to Castle Hill in a heart beat! This should be a "must do" on every vacation list!!

Room Tip: The beach houses are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjdy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

The waves crashing outside, the delicious smell of fresh espresso, and the colors of the sea - all from your cottage... it's a complete package!! We really really enjoyed our trip to Castle Hill. It may become a yearly getaway for us. The people are super friendly, the food was delicious, and I cannot say more about our cute little beach cottage(Nautilus)... so romantic!! Thank You Castle Hill Inn for the break from the crazy work-life!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelforlife09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
3.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
3.1 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
2.8 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
2.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
2.7 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Inn

Property: Castle Hill Inn
Address: 590 Ocean Ave, Newport, RI 02840-6518
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#8 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dynamic and breathtaking, Castle Hill Inn promises an exclusive, luxury experience for each guest who visits. The property's 40 acres offer everything from panoramic water views, and rustic hiking trails to private beaches and hidden rocky coves. In summer, guests come to unwind and enjoy the Newport social scene that gathers on the Lawn, which slopes from an elegantly restored 19th-century mansion out to Narragansett Bay. During cooler months, Castle Hill becomes more of a private retreat, perfect for escapes from city life but still close to the amenities of downtown Newport. Year round, the property also boasts world-class dining that showcases the best of Rhode Island's seasonal bounty, Castle Hill's extraordinary setting only becomes more beautiful with each turn of season, and we do our best to match its brilliance with unmatched service for our guests. A Relais & Chateaux member and recipient of Forbes Travel Guide Four Star Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Castle Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Hotel Newport
Castle Hill Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing