We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a romantic trip, we loved it and cant wait to go back”
Review of Castle Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2011

I have never wrote a trip advisor review before...But this place was unbelievable The ocean cottages are one of the coziest, most romantic places I have ever stayed.
If you are looking for a romantic place, ocean cottages are the way to go. Food is fabulous, housing is stellar and staff is incomprable. I didnt want to leave. five stars by far!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmartin99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

546 - 552 of 713 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2011

My husband and I stayed in a beach cottage for both my birthday and anniversary this year and neither experience disappointed. The staff goes out of their way to ensure that your needs are met. Our cottage was beautifully decorated and spacious. The bed was super comfy and we loved falling asleep to the sound of the waves crashing on the nearby shore. We especially enjoyed sitting on our back deck and relaxing next to the beach that was only several steps away. For a small fee, we were able to get our complimentary breakfast delivered to the deck and it was one of the best breakfasts we've ever had. We highly recommend their tasting menu since every bite is a sublime treat. The walk to the lighthouse on the property is a short but nice one. You can also ride the hotel's bicycles for free and take the short ride to 10 mile drive where all the famous mansions are located. This place is not cheap but you'll be glad you spent the extra money in exchange for what you get in return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolgb328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

One of the best experiences we have ever had vacationing! The Beach House room overlooking the water was immaculately clean, tastefully furnished and located directly on the water. Dinner each night was perfectly presented and tasted sensational when complimented with the excellent service (Hat tip to our server Brian). Complimentary breakfast each morning was delectable and started each day off on a positive note. The staff members, from the servers and valets to the groundskeepers and managers were attentive, considerate and always willing to assist, you should be very proud of them! The beach fire with homemade S’mores on Saturday night was a real treat. The only negative side of the entire trip was that was had to leave in the end. Keep up the good work and we will be back again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micknavy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We had tea the afternoon of our arrival and then went out to explore Newport. Our package included dinner which was great. Our room had a deck looking out to Naragansett Bay. We loved the sound of the water and the lighthouse. Better than we hoped for!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BalletDiva123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

The beach front cottage was excellent and worth the money. My wife and I travel frequently, and this is the best place that we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowman_737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

An overdue review for an exceptional haven. Castle Hill Inn, situated out of town on Narragansett Bay but close to the amenities of Newport, is an immaculate, beautifully detailed get-away. This was our fourth stay in either a beach house or cottage, our two last visits in the beautifully furnished beach cottages, smaller than the beach houses but having all the same amenities, including a Nespresso machine. Situated on their own private beach, our cottage interior was decorated in white and shades of aqua, immediately transporting my husband and me to a vacation mindseat. Our french doors opened to our private deck, steps from the water, and although it was a chilly weekend, we could enjoy the view from our duvet-covered bed! Service is 5-star, and the Inn managed to secure us an immediate seating at a Newport restaurant that had an hour wait. The afternoon tea is nice, although not remarkable. Truly a blissfull weekend getaway and we will return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynneB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

The Castle Hill Inn is a gorgeous property with amazing grounds. We stayed in a lovely room in the Harbor House with amazing views. The beds are incredibly comfortable and there are some nice touches like cookies in your room.

However, across the board, the service was very disappointing. It was quite lovely to sit on the big lawn in Adirondack chairs for drinks, but when the servers didn't know their own menu, never came by in 90 minutes to offer us a second cocktail or give us the bill we were disappointed. We had similarly absent minded service sitting at the bar.

We expected better food from a Relais & Chateaux property.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank abbygailnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
3.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
2.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
3.1 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
610 reviews
2.9 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
688 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Inn

Address: 590 Ocean Ave, Newport, RI 02840-6518
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#8 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £287 - £726 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dynamic and breathtaking, Castle Hill Inn promises an exclusive, luxury experience for each guest who visits. The property's 40 acres offer everything from panoramic water views, and rustic hiking trails to private beaches and hidden rocky coves. In summer, guests come to unwind and enjoy the Newport social scene that gathers on the Lawn, which slopes from an elegantly restored 19th-century mansion out to Narragansett Bay. During cooler months, Castle Hill becomes more of a private retreat, perfect for escapes from city life but still close to the amenities of downtown Newport. Year round, the property also boasts world-class dining that showcases the best of Rhode Island's seasonal bounty, Castle Hill's extraordinary setting only becomes more beautiful with each turn of season, and we do our best to match its brilliance with unmatched service for our guests. A Relais & Chateaux member and recipient of Forbes Travel Guide Four Star Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castle Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Hotel Newport
Castle Hill Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing