We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“book the lighthouse suit...just lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane , Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“book the lighthouse suit...just lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

afternoon tea was sensational
the setting unbeatable
a perfect last night in the USA

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDG63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    98
    26
    20
    22
See reviews for
85
399
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
140 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

We loved it here. We stayed in 2 beach houses, 34 and 35. Each had a deck, a fireplace and was simply charming. We slept with the door open to hear the bay and the fireplace on---it automatically turns off. We missed the tea --but won't next time! Had a great breakfast of pancakes suzettes, frittata with asparagus, arugula and chevre--MMM. Lovely service---a great get away.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank el04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

I took my wife to this resort for her birthday. Our waitress delivered the worst possible service starting from taking over 35 minutes to find our wine, to serving the wrong appetizers to pouring wine inclusive of cork to both of us to never once asking how everything was to never even answering to our "thank you-s". The cake was served on dirty dishes.... how classy is that.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank CharlesAmbrosecchia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newyork
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

I have never wrote a trip advisor review before...But this place was unbelievable The ocean cottages are one of the coziest, most romantic places I have ever stayed.
If you are looking for a romantic place, ocean cottages are the way to go. Food is fabulous, housing is stellar and staff is incomprable. I didnt want to leave. five stars by far!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmartin99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

My husband and I stayed in a beach cottage for both my birthday and anniversary this year and neither experience disappointed. The staff goes out of their way to ensure that your needs are met. Our cottage was beautifully decorated and spacious. The bed was super comfy and we loved falling asleep to the sound of the waves crashing on the nearby shore. We especially enjoyed sitting on our back deck and relaxing next to the beach that was only several steps away. For a small fee, we were able to get our complimentary breakfast delivered to the deck and it was one of the best breakfasts we've ever had. We highly recommend their tasting menu since every bite is a sublime treat. The walk to the lighthouse on the property is a short but nice one. You can also ride the hotel's bicycles for free and take the short ride to 10 mile drive where all the famous mansions are located. This place is not cheap but you'll be glad you spent the extra money in exchange for what you get in return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolgb328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

One of the best experiences we have ever had vacationing! The Beach House room overlooking the water was immaculately clean, tastefully furnished and located directly on the water. Dinner each night was perfectly presented and tasted sensational when complimented with the excellent service (Hat tip to our server Brian). Complimentary breakfast each morning was delectable and started each day off on a positive note. The staff members, from the servers and valets to the groundskeepers and managers were attentive, considerate and always willing to assist, you should be very proud of them! The beach fire with homemade S’mores on Saturday night was a real treat. The only negative side of the entire trip was that was had to leave in the end. Keep up the good work and we will be back again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micknavy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

We had tea the afternoon of our arrival and then went out to explore Newport. Our package included dinner which was great. Our room had a deck looking out to Naragansett Bay. We loved the sound of the water and the lighthouse. Better than we hoped for!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BalletDiva123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
3.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
3.1 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,927 reviews
2.9 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
2.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
2.7 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Inn

Property: Castle Hill Inn
Address: 590 Ocean Ave, Newport, RI 02840-6518
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#8 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dynamic and breathtaking, Castle Hill Inn promises an exclusive, luxury experience for each guest who visits. The property's 40 acres offer everything from panoramic water views, and rustic hiking trails to private beaches and hidden rocky coves. In summer, guests come to unwind and enjoy the Newport social scene that gathers on the Lawn, which slopes from an elegantly restored 19th-century mansion out to Narragansett Bay. During cooler months, Castle Hill becomes more of a private retreat, perfect for escapes from city life but still close to the amenities of downtown Newport. Year round, the property also boasts world-class dining that showcases the best of Rhode Island's seasonal bounty, Castle Hill's extraordinary setting only becomes more beautiful with each turn of season, and we do our best to match its brilliance with unmatched service for our guests. A Relais & Chateaux member and recipient of Forbes Travel Guide Four Star Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Hotel Newport
Castle Hill Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing