We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey, but definitely worth it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castle Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pricey, but definitely worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

I read a bunch of other reviews saying this hotel was a bit stuffy, but my wife and i found it to be great. We stayed at one of the beach houses since the main lodge was sold out. In retrospect, we're glad we did because it was a much more private spot with a fantastic view of the water. Highly recommend this place if you're up for dropping some coin on a night's stay.

Room Tip: beach houses provide stunning view of water, very quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fenster2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    98
    26
    20
    22
See reviews for
85
391
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

If you can get past the expense, Castle Hill Inn is a wonderful property. My wife and I went up for two nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We stayed in one of the beach cottages and it was simply superb. The amenities and decor were top notch. And what a view!
Drinks on the lawn overlooking the bay can't be beat. We ate at the inn five times during our stay - two breakfasts (which are included), two dinners and one brunch. The quality of the food and the staff was universally excellent. I can't speak to the rooms in the main inn as we didn't stay there. From beginning to end, top to bottom, the experience was really quite extraordinary. The staff could not have been kinder or more prompt and were very helpful in arranging anything we asked for. There is literally nothing I can think of that could have been handled better. It's not a trip we can afford to make often but we will definitely be returning and hopefully staying once again in Beach Cottage 29. I highly recommend it to anyone who can afford the price tag.

Room Tip: The beach cottages are beautifully decorated and provide very good privacy and a private beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Equinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

Just finished our trip to the Castle Hill Inn. We stayed at the beach house - Room 35. Some things you cannot tell from the description. I recommend looking up the Inn on google maps then looking south of the Inn - you will see the cottages. The Cottages are directly on the beach. Only guests can use the enclosed beach so there are very few people on them. Attendants set up umbrellas, chairs and tables for you which is extremely helpful. With kids going to and from the beach can be difficult between sun tan lotion, lunches, bathroom, etc - Having the room right there was ideal. Breakfast was included with the room so we walked the family to the inn (short walk) every morning. At night with the kids asleep you can sit outside on the porch right on the beach. The restaurant was suitable for children in the AM at least. The commute into newport city is about 3 miles but it takes 10 minutes. We never really wanted to go into the city however. anyway. The staff was all helpful an courteous. Obviously the price is steep but well worth it for the experience and service.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cq94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane , Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

afternoon tea was sensational
the setting unbeatable
a perfect last night in the USA

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDG63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
140 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

We loved it here. We stayed in 2 beach houses, 34 and 35. Each had a deck, a fireplace and was simply charming. We slept with the door open to hear the bay and the fireplace on---it automatically turns off. We missed the tea --but won't next time! Had a great breakfast of pancakes suzettes, frittata with asparagus, arugula and chevre--MMM. Lovely service---a great get away.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank el04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

I took my wife to this resort for her birthday. Our waitress delivered the worst possible service starting from taking over 35 minutes to find our wine, to serving the wrong appetizers to pouring wine inclusive of cork to both of us to never once asking how everything was to never even answering to our "thank you-s". The cake was served on dirty dishes.... how classy is that.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank CharlesAmbrosecchia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newyork
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

I have never wrote a trip advisor review before...But this place was unbelievable The ocean cottages are one of the coziest, most romantic places I have ever stayed.
If you are looking for a romantic place, ocean cottages are the way to go. Food is fabulous, housing is stellar and staff is incomprable. I didnt want to leave. five stars by far!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmartin99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
3.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
3.1 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
2.8 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
2.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
2.7 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Inn

Property: Castle Hill Inn
Address: 590 Ocean Ave, Newport, RI 02840-6518
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#8 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dynamic and breathtaking, Castle Hill Inn promises an exclusive, luxury experience for each guest who visits. The property's 40 acres offer everything from panoramic water views, and rustic hiking trails to private beaches and hidden rocky coves. In summer, guests come to unwind and enjoy the Newport social scene that gathers on the Lawn, which slopes from an elegantly restored 19th-century mansion out to Narragansett Bay. During cooler months, Castle Hill becomes more of a private retreat, perfect for escapes from city life but still close to the amenities of downtown Newport. Year round, the property also boasts world-class dining that showcases the best of Rhode Island's seasonal bounty, Castle Hill's extraordinary setting only becomes more beautiful with each turn of season, and we do our best to match its brilliance with unmatched service for our guests. A Relais & Chateaux member and recipient of Forbes Travel Guide Four Star Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Castle Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Hotel Newport
Castle Hill Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing