We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always lovely...”
Review of Castle Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This was our first time in the main inn. The service was amazing as always. However, I wish I'd read some more reviews about the room that I chose based on the bathroom's awesome soaking tub and 2 sided-fireplace. The downside of being in the main inn is various noise issues. Overall, however this is still one of my favorite places in the R&C lineup.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SabiFarida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

545 - 551 of 736 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

We have rented three different cottages over the years and have organized two corporate retreats. Each experience has topped the prior one. The cottages were spotless, brightly painted, beautifully decorated, and amazingly private. One steps out onto the beach and the rocks. One can sit on the terrace in the morning sun or late into the evening. The restaurant is remarkable, with our favorite a breakfast special of eggs benedict over lobster hash. What impresses us most has been the staff's instant grasp of our names and interests, in such a relaxed manner that one feels none of the stress that often accompanies unctuous and supercilious efforts to please.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Landmarkfinder A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Newport is one of my favorite places on earth. I've been lucky enough to visit many places but Newport does it for me everytime. My Husband and I make it a point to go every year, and always make it a point to eat there one of the nights of our stay each time.

The atmosphere is incredible, the food fantastic, the wine delicious and the service is warm. You will not be dissapointed. For a quiet revening that offers a civilized yet romantic setting Castle Hill is the place.

We have done the tasting menus every time we've been paired with wine. It's worth it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

My wife and I stayed in one of their beach front cottages last May. The accommodations were ok. I did notice a little bit of mice droppings under one of the cabinets... but otherwise the place was clean. At about $360/night in early May, it was pricey but ok. I was about to return for a fall getaway, and they've raised their off season rate to $600/night. Definitely not worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Mina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbraunCHI, General Manager at Castle Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2011

Dear guest,
First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to complete your trip advisor survey.
I am truly sorry that you experienced cleanliness issues in our one of our rooms during your visit back in May and I would like to assure you that all measures were taken at that time to correct these issues.
Due to levels of business and the fact that we are a seasonal property, our rates vary greatly throughout the months and the year. While we are not always able to publicize all our rates on line, I suggest that you call the hotel directly for any last minute deals that may be available. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will personally assist you in finding a rate in which you will see true value.

Sincerely,
Daniel Braun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We just returned from our second stay at the Castle Hill Inn in the past year and couldn't have been happier. This time we stayed in a premium beach cottage room which is slightly larger than the regular beach cottages. Both types of rooms are decorated in the same way - all whites and blues, a perfect beach cottage fantasy. The extra space allows a separate shower in the bathroom and a little more wiggle room, which was worth it to us. The cottages are right on the beach so you can just lay in bed and look out the window directly on to the water. The service here is very good, not the very best we've ever had (certainly good enough for the price point) but they're very friendly and will do their best to respond to requests. The food is excellent here. We really enjoyed the breakfasts, which are included, especially the lobster hash, which we remembered fondly from our last stay. There is also an included afternoon tea served in the main house. Overall, however, the best reason to stay here is the location - both in relation to Newport and in terms of being directly on the water. Newport can get quite congested, particularly when a cruise ship pulls in, and it's nice to retreat to the quiet of the inn about a mile or two outside of town. The beach side location can't be beat - the cottages are on a small sandy beach which is a rarity in Newport. You're also on one end of Ocean Drive - so we spent a lot of time driving and walking along this route which has to be one of the most beautiful in the U.S.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oscarfelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We had 3 nights in one of the beachside rooms and loved every moment of our Castle Hill Inn experience. After nearly 3 months 'on the road' I can say that the staff at this Inn are the most outstanding we have encountered. We were there to celebrate a friend's birthday. The quality of the food, the presentation of the function room and table service were outstanding. It was lovely to see the staff continuing the celebration by acknowledging the event over the next 2 days. The attention of the staff to the older and less mobile members of our group went beyond duty to reflect staff that have a genuine concern for their clients. True, accommodation is expensive, but this is a beautiful location, the rooms are lovely and it is a treat you shouldn't deny yourself when visiting Newport.

Room Tip: The turret is the place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

When we received our invitation to a wedding at Castle Hill, we checked room prices on line. To our dismay, the cheapest room (with 165 square feet), which was over $500.00, was smaller than the SMALLEST bedroom in our house. The bathroom, at only 55 square feet, was also smaller than our bathrooms. We decided to book a room in another hotel.

We looked forward to this wedding reception with great anticipation. But NOTHING about the event impressed us. Yes it is a lovely spot, but we have certainly been to many nicer and more elegant places. When we arrived, we wanted to use the rest room. We had to walked outdoors up a hill to very nondescript facilities. Thank goodness, it wasn't rainy. Pre-reception refreshments were served on the lawn. There was an awning but very few chairs were provided under it.

It was difficult to walk to the water as the grass was still wet from the morning rain. We could see the Narragansett Bay from under the awning, but otherwise the view was just lawn -- no flowers, no gardens, no shrubs, etc. There should be a concrete type path to walk to view the water. It was very difficult to walk to see the water after dark as there were NO lights out on the lawn.

The second time we wanted to use the facilities, we were allowed to walk through the tent to the indoor bathrooms. We had to climb down ugly stairs, go by the kitchen, walk along a narrow corridor to find bathrooms that were no better than what you would find in a cheap chain restaurant. This is suppose to be an elegant place!

We were still hungry after the meal and we have had much tastier meals at Uno's. We were given one roll each. We asked for more. We were told we would get more but this never happened. No coffee or tea.

Judging from the room prices, this wedding much have cost a fortune. It certainly wasn't worth it. There was nothing elegant about this affair -- including having a reception in a tent.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
14  Thank bcnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
3.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
2.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
2.7 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,168 reviews
2.9 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
723 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Inn

Address: 590 Ocean Ave, Newport, RI 02840-6518
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#8 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £275 - £746 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Castle Hill Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dynamic and breathtaking, Castle Hill Inn promises an exclusive, luxury experience for each guest who visits. The property's 40 acres offer everything from panoramic water views, and rustic hiking trails to private beaches and hidden rocky coves. In summer, guests come to unwind and enjoy the Newport social scene that gathers on the Lawn, which slopes from an elegantly restored 19th-century mansion out to Narragansett Bay. During cooler months, Castle Hill becomes more of a private retreat, perfect for escapes from city life but still close to the amenities of downtown Newport. Year round, the property also boasts world-class dining that showcases the best of Rhode Island's seasonal bounty, Castle Hill's extraordinary setting only becomes more beautiful with each turn of season, and we do our best to match its brilliance with unmatched service for our guests. A Relais & Chateaux member and recipient of Forbes Travel Guide Four Star Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Hotel Newport
Castle Hill Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing