We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, this place is heaven.”
Review of Castle Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well, this place is heaven.”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We couldn't have had a better experience here. We stayed in a beach cottage, and it was the perfect size. Right on the water, really nice finishes in the room, and heated floors made it a cozy weekend trip in the winter.

The thoughtful handwritten note from the manager referencing our upcoming wedding there was a sweet touch, and the room service delivered in blizzard conditions was delicious. Oh and the cookies. Let's not forget the freshly baked cookies by the bed.

Room Tip: We loved the beach cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unclejune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    104
    26
    22
    23
See reviews for
93
422
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I cannot put into words the amazing customer service, all the staff and how everyone went out of their way to make our stay extra special. We stayed in one of the Beach Cottage rooms. Amazing pancakes and great spot for afternoon tea.
The Castle Hill Inn truly does ensure their guests feel like Kings and Queens and it is was very sad to say goodbye.

Room Tip: Beach Cottage room, you can see the sun rise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roydell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Service was outstanding. Relais & Chateau standards met and exceeded! All food superb. Try the filet. For breakfast, try the cinnamon pancakes. Did I mention the service was warm, friendly, and attentive? Beach cottage was very nice. Ocean 20 feet from terrace. Superb location and highest quality restaurant. We'll be back!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bostonian80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Near Boston
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Just returned from a two night stay in one of the beach cottage rooms at the Castle HIll Inn. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left we enjoyed everything about it! The staff is amazing friendly and accommodating. Prior to our arrival they even sent me an email listing various things to do in the area and restaurant suggestions. Had breakfast there both mornings and the food was wonderful. Attention to small details makes the difference and CHI certainly delivered on that! We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hburnsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I stayed here for my yearly visit to Newport, the view of course is amazing, the service of the staff could have been a bit better, they weren't exactly welcoming upon arrival. the room was clean however there was hair in my shower drain. other than that it was a pleasant stay

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariamarvobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neptune City, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I wrote a review of this property back in September, 2013 and it was not favorable. The hotel manager, Brian Young, personally invited my daughter and I back for another stay, assuring me that this time, we would experience the Inn the way it should have been experienced on our first stay. I traveled with my other adult daughter this time was offered one of the deluxe beach houses rather than a room in the main inn. It was a completely different experience! We loved our accommodations and the staff was attentive to all of our inquiries and needs. This property is quite beautiful and we were very satisfied. I would recommend Castle Hill Inn to travelers who want to visit Newport but want a quiet place to retreat after visiting the Newport sites. This trip was off-season and I think we were one of the only guests booked in a beach house so we had a private beach view and only the sounds of nature surrounding us. Not only were we invited back but I was refunded a good portion of what I paid the first stay. Definitely what I would expect from Relais and Chateaux management. Thank you Mr. Young and staff.

Room Tip: We preferred the beach cottage to the main inn. The main inn is not as quiet but it is lovely. I t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lwl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Washington, New York
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We we there during Restaurant week, which had a special menu. We really enjoyed our dinner there, as the food was very good (selected courses from a priced fixe menu). The food itself was delicious, although the portions were a tad smaller than I would of liked, and the price was expensive (especially for the amount of food). The service was outstanding, as our server was very good, as well was the Sommelier - very good recommendations. The atmosphere of the entire place is great. We had a final drink at the bar before we left, which was nice, too.

Earlier in the day, after driving along Ocean Drive, we stopped here for the outside bar - which i would strongly recommend. Very windy and cold this day, but we enjoyed the setting very much. Good drinks and snacks.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
3.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
2.9 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
649 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
2.7 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
592 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Inn

Property: Castle Hill Inn
Address: 590 Ocean Ave, Newport, RI 02840-6518
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#8 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dynamic and breathtaking, Castle Hill Inn promises an exclusive, luxury experience for each guest who visits. The property's 40 acres offer everything from panoramic water views, and rustic hiking trails to private beaches and hidden rocky coves. In summer, guests come to unwind and enjoy the Newport social scene that gathers on the Lawn, which slopes from an elegantly restored 19th-century mansion out to Narragansett Bay. During cooler months, Castle Hill becomes more of a private retreat, perfect for escapes from city life but still close to the amenities of downtown Newport. Year round, the property also boasts world-class dining that showcases the best of Rhode Island's seasonal bounty, Castle Hill's extraordinary setting only becomes more beautiful with each turn of season, and we do our best to match its brilliance with unmatched service for our guests. A Relais & Chateaux member and recipient of Forbes Travel Guide Four Star Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Castle Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Hotel Newport
Castle Hill Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing