We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our one year anniversary....”
Review of Castle Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our one year anniversary....”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

could not have been better! If you are looking for a romantic weekend away, you must visit Castle Hill Inn! The views from the lawn and dining room were just fabulous! The service was top notch, and we left feeling like we were royalty! My wife did not want to leave and she even said that she enjoyed our stay here more than our honeymoon stay at a 5 star carribbean resort! The breakfast was delicious and the afternoon tea was very special! We did not eat dinner there since it was our first time in Newport and we wanted to explore, but once we returned each night, our room was very cozy and romantic with a fireplace and big whirlpool tub! The only thing that I can see people not loving is that it gets quiet pretty early there, but that was fine with us since we were looking for a nice quiet getaway! Overall, all I can do is rave about this place and thank the staff at Castle Hill Inn for making our one year anniversary more special than I ever could have imagined! We will return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7709dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    99
    26
    21
    22
See reviews for
86
402
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We were in awe having lunch on Sunday. The views are amazing and we could have not asked for better weather.

Our family did not have a reservation for lunch when we arrived at 2pm. She took my cell number and we were asked to wait. While we waited, we ordered some cocktails and sat on the lawn chairs. Nothing better than having a few drinks, watching the boats go by, and enjoying the bay views!

It took only 20 minutes for our table to be ready – not bad at all! The wait staff was attentive and helpful. They were very accommodating with food allergies. I loved the Jerk chicken and my family loved their dishes including the Clam Chowder and Swordfish.

Once you have taken a drive through Ocean Drive and have explored the beautiful scenery, make sure to stop at Castle Inn for lunch!

P.S.: While we had wonderful sunny weather and dined outdoors, it can be quite breezy on the outside patio. It didn’t bother me a bit, however, for those who get cold easily, I recommend bringing a scarf, shawl, or sweater if you’re one to be chilly.

Room Tip: Set up a reservation if short on time
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funtravel6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed for an anniversary, so the expense of this luxurious stay was anticipated and we felt well justified. We stayed within the Inn itself, in an upstairs room with panoramic views over the bay and its traffic, the lighthouses, and sunsets. The food was way above our expectations - over three nights in the restaurant we tried most of the mains on the menus and all were excellent. Desserts were also outstanding. Afternoon tea was beautifully presented and savoured. Service was faultless and seemed effortless and genuine. Assistance with transfers in and out of NY was also provided graciously. We came a long way for this stay and enjoyed the whole experience so much that we hope to be back. For most, this property would be out of reach for a weekend getaway, but for a special occasion it has provided a memorable highlight.

Room Tip: Rooms which directly overlook the bay also overlook the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Amazing views and atmosphere and equally amazing food.
It looks like it could get pricy during dinner, but brunch was affordable . We tried their lobster gumbo, arugula salad, and rise and shine burger - all were exceptional.
We'll definitely go back and try their dinner menu too - although we'd have to break the bank.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janice282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Spent a recent weekend staying in one of the beach cottages. What a view, the ocean waves are breaking on a private beach just off your deck. Room was great and the heated floor in the bathroom was a pleasant surprise. Staff was both welcoming and friendly. Breakfast (included with room) is over the top (lobster hash with poached eggs!). Had such a great stay that we booked another long weekend in the beach cottages for the fall. Expensive but worthwhile.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogerwilco123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in one of the cottages and had a lovely and peaceful stay. Very quiet; nice mature landscaping. Very luxurious bathrooms and cute mini kitchen complete with a espresso maker. I also booked a tasting menu at the restaurant and it was simply not up to par with the price point... in terms of service or food quality.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank primpolished
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
245 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This beautifully restored and maintained inn met all of our expectations. Situated on a promontory overlooking the harbor entrance water views were abundant. The breakfast was hearty and served in a spacious dining room with sunshine and vistas. Staff were well trained and eager to please. Surely will return!

Room Tip: Select a room in the main Inn. #5 was terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
3.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
3.1 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
2.9 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
2.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
2.7 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Inn

Property: Castle Hill Inn
Address: 590 Ocean Ave, Newport, RI 02840-6518
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#8 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dynamic and breathtaking, Castle Hill Inn promises an exclusive, luxury experience for each guest who visits. The property's 40 acres offer everything from panoramic water views, and rustic hiking trails to private beaches and hidden rocky coves. In summer, guests come to unwind and enjoy the Newport social scene that gathers on the Lawn, which slopes from an elegantly restored 19th-century mansion out to Narragansett Bay. During cooler months, Castle Hill becomes more of a private retreat, perfect for escapes from city life but still close to the amenities of downtown Newport. Year round, the property also boasts world-class dining that showcases the best of Rhode Island's seasonal bounty, Castle Hill's extraordinary setting only becomes more beautiful with each turn of season, and we do our best to match its brilliance with unmatched service for our guests. A Relais & Chateaux member and recipient of Forbes Travel Guide Four Star Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Hotel Newport
Castle Hill Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing