We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Hill Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (753)
Filter reviews
753 results
Traveller rating
571
110
27
22
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
571
110
27
22
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach cottagelobster mashthe cottagesadirondack chairsharbor houseturret suitesuperior beachgrace kellyexpansive lawnafternoon teanarragansett baythe main housemy husband and idining roomsoverlooking the waterpoached eggsnew england
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
377 - 382 of 753 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2014

could not have been better! If you are looking for a romantic weekend away, you must visit Castle Hill Inn! The views from the lawn and dining room were just fabulous! The service was top notch, and we left feeling like we were royalty! My wife did not want to leave and she even said that she enjoyed our stay here more than our honeymoon stay at a 5 star carribbean resort! The breakfast was delicious and the afternoon tea was very special! We did not eat dinner there since it was our first time in Newport and we wanted to explore, but once we returned each night, our room was very cozy and romantic with a fireplace and big whirlpool tub! The only thing that I can see people not loving is that it gets quiet pretty early there, but that was fine with us since we were looking for a nice quiet getaway! Overall, all I can do is rave about this place and thank the staff at Castle Hill Inn for making our one year anniversary more special than I ever could have imagined! We will return!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7709dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We were in awe having lunch on Sunday. The views are amazing and we could have not asked for better weather.

Our family did not have a reservation for lunch when we arrived at 2pm. She took my cell number and we were asked to wait. While we waited, we ordered some cocktails and sat on the lawn chairs. Nothing better than having a few drinks, watching the boats go by, and enjoying the bay views!

It took only 20 minutes for our table to be ready – not bad at all! The wait staff was attentive and helpful. They were very accommodating with food allergies. I loved the Jerk chicken and my family loved their dishes including the Clam Chowder and Swordfish.

Once you have taken a drive through Ocean Drive and have explored the beautiful scenery, make sure to stop at Castle Inn for lunch!

P.S.: While we had wonderful sunny weather and dined outdoors, it can be quite breezy on the outside patio. It didn’t bother me a bit, however, for those who get cold easily, I recommend bringing a scarf, shawl, or sweater if you’re one to be chilly.

Room Tip: Set up a reservation if short on time
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank funtravel6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed for an anniversary, so the expense of this luxurious stay was anticipated and we felt well justified. We stayed within the Inn itself, in an upstairs room with panoramic views over the bay and its traffic, the lighthouses, and sunsets. The food was way above our expectations - over three nights in the restaurant we tried most of the mains on the menus and all were excellent. Desserts were also outstanding. Afternoon tea was beautifully presented and savoured. Service was faultless and seemed effortless and genuine. Assistance with transfers in and out of NY was also provided graciously. We came a long way for this stay and enjoyed the whole experience so much that we hope to be back. For most, this property would be out of reach for a weekend getaway, but for a special occasion it has provided a memorable highlight.

Room Tip: Rooms which directly overlook the bay also overlook the sunset.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Amazing views and atmosphere and equally amazing food.
It looks like it could get pricy during dinner, but brunch was affordable . We tried their lobster gumbo, arugula salad, and rise and shine burger - all were exceptional.
We'll definitely go back and try their dinner menu too - although we'd have to break the bank.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janice282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Spent a recent weekend staying in one of the beach cottages. What a view, the ocean waves are breaking on a private beach just off your deck. Room was great and the heated floor in the bathroom was a pleasant surprise. Staff was both welcoming and friendly. Breakfast (included with room) is over the top (lobster hash with poached eggs!). Had such a great stay that we booked another long weekend in the beach cottages for the fall. Expensive but worthwhile.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rogerwilco123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews