We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy retreat from Newport crowds”
Review of Castle Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Cozy retreat from Newport crowds”
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We recently stayed in one of the beach cottages and couldn't have been more pleased. You really are right on the beach - you go out on you deck and walk a few steps to the sand. That was my number one want for this trip and I got it. The cottages aren't quite as isolated as I hoped - you can see Ocean Drive from the cottages quite easily - but Newport is a pretty bustling place so I think this is as good as it is going to get and still be in Newport. The cottage itself was a perfect fantasy of a beach cottage - high white painted wood ceilings, beadboard everywhere, beautiful furnishings in whites, blues and greens. The back of the cottage toward the beach is all windows and when you come in through the front door we could see nothing but the sky and the sea through them which was just amazing. The cottage was slightly smaller than I thought - maybe 15 by 15 overall which includes the bathroom and a small kitchenette. But the outside deck adds to the space. The floors have radiant heat which was nice and the toiletries were L'Occitaine. The breakfasts here were fantastic - especially the lobster hash - and together with the free tea for guests in the afternoon we never needed to eat a full lunch. The tea was really great and shouldn't be skipped - lovely finger sandwiches, amazing pastries, and fresh fruit all served in a beautiful room at the main house. The location of the hotel is really nice - other than being right on the water - you are right on Ocean Drive and can get out and about very easily. But I would not stay here without a car. The main house is beautiful and the grounds are large with sweeping views of the bay and bridge. We did eat dinner here one night and it was good but not the best meal we ate. The food itself has good and I would eat it again but the prices were just a bit high for what it was. We felt it was worth it though, after a long day of travel to sit in a beautiful and quiet wood paneled dining room with good food and nice wine, even if it was a little overpriced. The view alone in the main dining room would make up for a lot of dining defects and the service was formal yet friendly. I have stayed at several Relais and Chateaux properties and I would say that although this isn't the most luxurious of the bunch it certainly lives up to the standards of luxury and service that the group advertises.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscarfelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    99
    26
    21
    22
See reviews for
86
411
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnston, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

The staff at Castle Hill is exteremely pleasant, the wait staff is completely knowledgable and the rooms beyond comfortable. The views around the property are stunning and the walking trails are well kept, even at this late stage of the season. The reputation of the menu speaks for itself and it does not disappoint. This is truly five star service.....

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gacesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Castle Hill Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2010
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for the very kind comments on your recent stay at Castle Hill. I have made a point of sharing your review with all our staff members. I have noticed that you marked the experience overall as one "star" which contradicts your statements. If there are any concerns that you come accross while at Castle Hill, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 401-849-3800 and I will be happy to address all of them and if not, I kindly ask you to reconsider your marks. I look forward to hearing from you and to welcoming you back to Castle Hill in the near future.
Sincerely,
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2010

my husband surprised me for my 50th birthday with a trip to castle hill, in newport, ri! we had the most wonderful time. i was spoiled the entire trip! we stayed in the "master bedroom" with a spectacular view. we walked in to the room to a delicious bottle of champagne and fresh strawberries. the amenities were amazing and the staff was unbelievable. so attentative! we enjoyed the restaurant as well, and i had a surprise bubble bath drawn for me on our final evening with rose petals. this is a special place and i recommend it to anyone who enjoys fine dining and pampering!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richitsgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We stayed here for two nights after our wedding. It was incredibly pleasant and relaxing to come to this inn after the fun but stressful experience of a wedding! The room was beautiful, the bed incredibly comfortable, and the shower and tub were great.
The area is very peaceful, so it was the perfect place to unwind after a hectic week, while still offering the fun of Newport when we wanted to go out.
We also ate in their restaurant, and it was very expensive but the food and service were very good. The view is lovely, and having a drink on the lawn is a lovely experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SchoolWren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

This was a very special part of our trip, our stay at Castle Hill. The beach rooms are wonderful, close to the water, big & comfortable beds, fireplace in room and large room. They have a great coffee maker, made the best coffee with flavor pods, a treat. The staff was casual and attentive. Don't miss the afternoon tea, a nice treat. Also, don't miss the short and beautiful walk to the lighthouse. Our stay was during a rainstorm and it was beautiful even then. We stayed at The Chandler on Day 2 (twice the cost of Castle Hill) and half the pleasure. Choose Castle Hill!
Da

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank covertCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

My husband and I had our wedding here on 8/27 and we cannot say enough about Castle Hill. Over the past year, we've visited several times (sometimes grabbing some drinks in the bar and others for a sit down meal). The food was always top notch and the wine selection is just incredible. The combo of the fine service, the spectacular food, and the views truly make Castle Hill a Special place. Yes, it is pricey, but you get what you pay for and for the appropriate occassion it's well worth the splurge. I must say that from the valet, the hostess, the bartenders, to the servers, everyone was professional and great to deal with.

Regarding our wedding, Marie was a true professional from start to finish. She and her team were very responsive and accomodating. Our guests loved the wedding and we've received many compliments on the outstanding service, setting, and cuisine. It was important to us to have the setting, service and of course food and Castle Hill produced the best.

We stayed the night in the Chalet suite and the rooms were beautiful; great linens, great bathrooms and the fireplace to couple with it. In the future we'd love to stay in the beach cottage; they are further away from the inn and have some privacy but are still a short walk or drive to the main inn when you need anything.

We're lucky that living in Boston, CH is a short 1 hour drive; we definitely plan on making some weekend trips to Newport as we love this place.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationgirlboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville
Level Contributor
101 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

My husband and I stayed here for two days and are glad we did. The good news is that the setting is magnificent, Newport is a fun place to hang out and the restaurant is top-notch. Bad news is that it seems like they may be doing some cost-cutting on the innkeeping side, which is really too bad because it does interfere with an otherwise spectacular inn. The beach cottages are lovely but far from the main house. It would be expected to have some refreshments in the room especially since there is a fridge in the cottage. But alas, only two lonely bottles of water, no snacks at all. The housekeeping was sloppy, with a broken wineglass left in the room, bathrobes not hung up and a very embarrassing turn-down service at 6pm (a bit early). We were in the shower getting ready for dinner and did not hear the knock. You can imagine the rest.
Good news is that the restaurant seemed to be managed very well. We had the 8-course tasting menu and although I have some serious food allergies, they accomodated me very well. I highly recommend both our server Carl and ordering the wine tasting in addition to the food tasting. Carl was very generous both with the selection of the wines and also with the amount poured. Most times I have had wine pariings, they have been a disappointment, even at a restarant like Alinea. This one was perfect with stellar choices that paired beautifully with a lovely meal.
In short, if they would stock the cottages with food and drink like most Relais and Chateau properties and properly train the housekeeping staff, it would be a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaKnoxville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
3.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
3.1 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
2.9 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
2.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
3.0 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#7 of 21 in Newport
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Inn

Property: Castle Hill Inn
Address: 590 Ocean Ave, Newport, RI 02840-6518
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#8 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dynamic and breathtaking, Castle Hill Inn promises an exclusive, luxury experience for each guest who visits. The property's 40 acres offer everything from panoramic water views, and rustic hiking trails to private beaches and hidden rocky coves. In summer, guests come to unwind and enjoy the Newport social scene that gathers on the Lawn, which slopes from an elegantly restored 19th-century mansion out to Narragansett Bay. During cooler months, Castle Hill becomes more of a private retreat, perfect for escapes from city life but still close to the amenities of downtown Newport. Year round, the property also boasts world-class dining that showcases the best of Rhode Island's seasonal bounty, Castle Hill's extraordinary setting only becomes more beautiful with each turn of season, and we do our best to match its brilliance with unmatched service for our guests. A Relais & Chateaux member and recipient of Forbes Travel Guide Four Star Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Hotel Newport
Castle Hill Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing