We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Cliffside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cliffside Inn
Ranked #2 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed one night recently at the inn and had a wonderful time. The inn is very welcoming and Nancy and Bill are great hosts. The house was recently renovated and the rooms are decorated very nice. The breakfast and french pressed coffee was a treat, along with the wine reception. Great location, hope to come back.

Room Tip: The blue room was very nice. The bay window, fireplace, comfy bed and linens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sh0reman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
We're glad you enjoyed your visit to Newport and the Cliffside Inn. The Blue room is one of our favorites as well...it has a very relaxing, cozy feel. Thank you as well for the great breakfast comments...particularly about the French press coffee. We have a wonderful local coffee roaster, near the inn, that blends and roasts for us.

Nancy and I enjoyed having you as guests and hope to see you again soon. All the best.

Bill & Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,041
    26
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
71
862
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Anyone going to the Cliffside Inn for any reason, business or pleasure will not be disappointed. The rooms were beautifully decorated and immaculate. The breakfast was better than any five star hotel and the afternoon tea from 5-6:00 PM (which was much more than just tea) was a wonderful way to meet and talk to other guests staying at the Inn. Nancy and Bill were wonderful hosts. They were very helpful with all sorts of information regarding Newport. We have stayed in many places in Newport including other B & B's but surely will go back to Cliffside for our next visit.

Linda & Jerry Hastava

Room Tip: We were on the top floor facing the cliff walk and the morning sunrise was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thak you, Linda and Jerry, for staying with us and for the very thoughtful review of your Cliffside Inn experience. We really appreciate the feedback, and knowing that we helped make this a great weekend for you in Newport. We do hope you will come back and see us again soon.

All our best to you both,

Bill & Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2012

It was our 1st trip up to RI and our 1st experience in a Bed&Breakfast: it was the best getaway we ever had.
Nancy, Bill and the staff are wonderful: they are helpful without being pushy, they take care of you without being intrusive. The great location of the Cliffside Inn adds a perfect touch to the experience: a few yards from the Cliffwalk that we enjoyed for hours.
The rooms are clean, quiet and greatly decorated. The tea-time and breakfast are excellent and all the restaurant recommendations they gave us were exactly what we needed.
We will come back without hesitation! Thank you again for the great time we had!

Room Tip: We were in the Adele room and enjoyed the relaxing bathtub. I could come back to try each one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you Catherine for staying at the Cliffside Inn as your first B&B experience. Nancy and I really enjoy the business, and had a great time restoring the inn. It's pretty nice to be able to do all of this in a destination as nice as Newport.

It is very rewarding for both of us...and all of the staff at the inn, to get this kind of feedback from our guests. We will have your next room ready for you as soon as you can get away again.

All our best to you both.

Bill & Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Granby, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

As we pulled in and looked at the storybook looking Inn, we knew we were in for a treat. The Inn is a picture perfect building inside and out. The Inn Keepers Bill and Nancy were very charming and accommodating as they checked us in and showed us to our room (The Garden Suite). We made good use of the two gas fireplaces, jacuzzi, and comfy queen bed. A private entrance into our room was a nice touch as was the cool spiral staircase that connected our upstairs bedroom to the downstairs library, jacuzzi room, and bathroom. All in new condition and very clean. Off of the downstairs is a private patio with a waterfall which was winterized (it's February) but must be sweet during the warmer seasons. We didn't take advantage of the courtyard but it too was so nicely done. Stonewalls and walkways with a large fire pit in the center of it could prove to be great fun. We found the location of the Inn was what we were looking for. Nice quiet neighborhood. From our room it was maybe 100 yards to the Cliff Walk where we walked for hours taking in awesome views of the beach, ocean, cliff sides, and mansions. When it was time to head down to the Newport Harbor area it was like a three minute drive. And with the incredible breakfast the feed you at the Inn, only adds to the excellence of the experience. Thank you Bill and Nancy for a wonderful time. We'll be back to visit you again! A special thanks to my girlfriend Debbie who put this surprise together. It was an incredible weekend together that I'll cherish for ever! ♥

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Suite and I highly recommend it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Paul - We enjoyed having you and Debbie stay at Cliffside for your get-away weekend to Newport. It means a lot to all of us at the inn to know that you both had such an enjoyable time. We also appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts about the Cliffside experience and Newport. Our best to you both and we look forward to your next visit.

Bill & Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Bays, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We have stayed at Cliffside several times but this was the first time with Nancy & Bill.
Better than ever !!!!!!!!! Rooms redone to the '9's' - grounds Beautifully redone - Inn looks like it was built yesterday.
Bill & Nancy ( and the staff ) really made us like 'VERY" Welcome Guests.
'WILL BE BACK" ( 'WHO SAID THAT')
Richard & Linda S - Hampton Bays, NY
PS: the Breakfasts are incredible ( Bill is a great 'chef' )

Room Tip: go on the great web site - pick a room / cannot go wrong - try another room on your next trip - we h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Richard and Linda,

Hope you are enjoying that Cliffside wine opener! We are so glad you like the renovations, and are looking forward to having you back for the 8th room soon. It was great talking with you at the wine reception.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We had a great time at the Inn! Perfect hosts, great room(Beatrice), perfect location, and excellent food. Just a great weekend getaway, stay longer if you can do it! The French press coffee was amazing.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triptaker46052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
It was lovely having you here for a little post Valentine's Day get away. Don't forget to sign in and get your Select Registry Rewards! We look forward to having you back with us soon.

Best regards,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed there for Valentine's Day, it was a wonderful experience, the suite was very romantic. It is located just a short distance to the cliff walk. The owners were very nice, excellent service.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edlisa2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you so much for your review and for choosing the Cliffside Inn. We are very glad that you liked the Garden Suite and hope that you will come back and try one of the 15 other unique and wonderful rooms we have here.

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,973 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
598 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
392 reviews
0.8 mi away
Francis Malbone House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Property: Cliffside Inn
Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing