We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend at the Cliffside”
Review of Cliffside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cliffside Inn
Ranked #2 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lyndonville, Vermont
2 reviews
“Weekend at the Cliffside”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Celebrated our dear friend's 50th birthday with a weekend at the Cliffside Inn for six. Beautiful on the outside and even more lovely on the inside. The moment you step in the double doors, the elegance envelopes in you in the warmest of embraces. Each room has it's own character of charm and polish, complete with quiet welcome. The staff is wonderfully friendly and available. You have the feeling of being supremely pampered by your hosts, yet can easily sit and chat with owner Bill, innkeeper Alexa, and chef Laurie in the kitchen over tea. I certainly did! Breakfast and afternoon tea are rich with delicious food highlighted in the company of other guests, their open friendliness and ease of conversation. Yes, that's the ocean you hear just outside your door, steps from the Cliff Walk. The Cliffside Inn experience is completely and utterly delightful.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Hello Elizabeth - Thank you so much for your comments...you've described the inn and your time with us the way we hope our guests will remember their visit. All of the staff enjoyed hosting the 50th birthday celebration/reunion weekend - it made us smile to see you all having so much fun together. Lori asked me to tell you that she particularly enjoyed the early AM chats with you in the kitchen!

We opened the Cowtipper Wine you brought for us...straight from the vineyards of Vermont...around the firepit on St Patrick's Day. It was a nice way to end a long day on an unseasonably warm evening.

Thank you again for staying with us and for taking the time to share your thoughts about the Inn with others.

All the best,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,030
    26
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
71
853
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Whether it is the décor of the rooms or the quality of the cotton sheets on your bed;
Whether it is the atmosphere in the house or the delicious breakfast and afternoon tea;
Whether it is the implacable service of the staff or the cordial, accommodating, and welcoming manners of the owners …. All, on the scale of one to ten-ten.
We had a great experience and are definitely coming back.

Room Tip: Every room is unique and has a special charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Wow...a 10 out of 10, thank you Peter and Anat! We enjoyed having you stay with us at the Inn, and sharing stories about historic home restorations. It is definitely a labor of love.

The staff works hard to make sure that all of our guests have a memorable experience at the Inn and in Newport. Nancy and I share all of the feedback and reviews, from our guests, with the entire staff...so thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your time at Cliffside. I recall yo talking about a return visit in the fall...we look forward to seeing you then.

All the best,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manheim, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2012

What a wonderful "girls" weekend we had at the Cliffside Inn. We celebrated our friends 50th Birthday!!!! The Cliffside Inn was absolutely MAGNIFICENT!!! The rooms were beautiful, the food was delicious and the staff catered to our every need. Thank you Bill and the staff of Cliffside Inn for a wonderful weekend.

Room Tip: The rooms are exactly as depicted on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
I am thinking back on your visit...and trying to decide whether you had more fun with the 50th birthday celebration with the "girls", or was it us having more fun watching you enjoy yourselves! What a great reunion you had.

Thank you all for chosing the Cliffside Inn for your celebration, and for your thoughtful review of your stay with us. We are all enjoying the gift bag of Vermont treats that you brought for the staff...that was very kind of you.

Take care, and we hope to see you again.

Best,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I stayed at the Inn for 2 nights and returned home yesterday. I am planning my next stay in the Fall. The Adeles Room is beautiful,quiet and comfortable. The bathroom has a claw tub. The staff is awesome. The delicious gourmet food and wine are out of this world. We were well taken care of by at Cliffside Inn. The Owners Bill and Nancy and their staff are always friendly, knowledgeble and VERY attentive to our needs. Hi Alexa and Cody!!!

You can see the sea from the wrap around porch of the Inn. The walk to the Cliff Walk is 2 minutes away and behold the most amazing view of the water and the most beautiful sunset. Someone was surfing the waves on Saturday evening. We have so many pictures and memories of our romantic time at Cliffside and Newport. We didnt sight see this trip because We were satisfied with the amenities at the Inn.

Room Tip: View the Cliffside Inn website and select 1 of the 16 rooms and suites. Each room has its own charac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you both from all of the staff at Cliffside Inn..and from Koty too. We really enjoyed having you stay with us, and seeing you enjoy your time here. We hope to see you again...maybe this fall.

All the best.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitinsville, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My daughter and I had a wonderful mother/daughter weekend at the Cliffside Inn. The owners and the staff did everything possible to make sure our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. The breakfasts were gourmet with many choices of foods and beverages. Our room was the St. George's and I would definitely stay in this room again with the 2 skylights, comfortable bedroom, separate reading room with fireplace, huge bathroom, and ocean view. The inn's location was perfect since we could easily walk to the beach, the Cliff Walk, and Newport's shops and wharf area. We had a perfect weekend to be there since it was Winter Festival week in Newport. I will definitely try to come back here!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Thank you for staying at the Cliffside Inn and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure for all of us to have you here to enjoy your your mother/daughter weekend together in Newport. We do hope you will come back for another visit. Thank you again for your support.

All the best.

Bill & Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I have stayed at several Inns over the past few years, all which have been nice. The Sea view
is spectacular. Let me first begin by complimenting the owners and their staff. They could not have been nicer or more accommodating. From the moment my wife and I checked in, until the time we left, everything about our stay was perfect. We found our experience to be peaceful
and relaxing. Breakfast was wonderful, afternoon snacks were delicious and the other guests staying at the INN were most friendly. let me also mention the owner's dog Cody who was also very friendly. I would strongly recommend The Cliffside Inn. I am already planning my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingman747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
We like it when our guests have "Two Evenings in Paradise" at the Cliffside Inn, and we appreciate your recommendation - thank you! We'll give Koty a back scratch for you. We hope to see you again soon.

All the best.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband and I just returned from a night in the Garden Suite at the Cliffside Inn. We were blown away by our room. We had a separate entrance, heated floors downstairs, heated towels, two fireplaces, a library nook, two tvs, our own patio (which we didn't use but could see it being a great place to relax in warmer weather). Turn down service was a special treat, our shades were drawn, ice provided and wonderful cookies! We attended the wine and app reception which was a great way to meet the other guests and sit by the fire. Bill and Nancy (great owners) went around and chatted with all the guests. Breakfast was wonderful. Orange french toast but you could get eggs made to your liking if you didn't like the breakfast "special". Also, muffins, bread, cereal, fresh fruit, granola etc. Another touch we have never seen before is being provided with our own french press for fresh coffee. Being dog lovers we also loved that there was a resident dog, Cody, a sheltie, who was very sweet. All the employees were friendly, everything was clean and the main inn was beautiful. We go to Newport often and this will be our new go to place to stay!! Thank you for a wonderful and relaxing getaway!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank labradors0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thank you for staying with us, and for your great feedback. It means a lot to Nancy and me, and the whole staff, to hear back from our guests that they had a memorable visit to the Inn and to Newport. We really appreciate your encouragement.

We're looking forward to your next visit.

Our best to you both.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.8 mi away
Francis Malbone House Inn
0.6 mi away
Hydrangea House Inn
Hydrangea House Inn
#4 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Property: Cliffside Inn
Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing