We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay in Newport”
Review of Cliffside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cliffside Inn
Ranked #2 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newtown, CT
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Place to Stay in Newport”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

My husband and I just returned from a getaway to Newport. The owner, Bill, is terrific! His wife was away, so we didn't get to meet her. They redecorated the whole Inn recently, and it is beautiful! Lots of Victorian charm with modern amenities. Only steps from the Cliff Walk which was great! We stayed in the Tower Suite which is very unique. Has it's own separate entrance. A luxurious bathroom with fluffy towels and robes is on the first floor - with a huge whirlpool tub and a separate shower. Felt like I was in a spa! Upstairs is a lovely bedroom with views of the water. The window side of the room is octagonal with a gas fireplace and a built-in window seat that is up two steps where you can relax and read a book or gaze out at the view. The ceiling is open all the way up to the top of the tower with small windows in the top bringing in lots of natural light. We had great breakfasts of orange french toast and ricotta egg wraps. Afternoon tea one afternoon with lots of home baked treats and a wine and cheese party the next evening! Delicious cookies at bedtime! Bill is very hospitable and knowledgable about the area with great recommendations for dining and sightseeing. His staff was wonderful and accomodated our every request. One recommendation from Bill was Anthony's Seafood in Middletown-- it is terrific for very fresh seafood in a relaxed, casual setting. Absolutely loved the Portugese Fish Chowder! Yum!! We have stayed at quite a few B&Bs and this one is at the top of our list! Definitely number one! We hope to go back in the Fall!

Room Tip: Tower Suite has a phenominal view and is very private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CasRei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Well, I hope you come back soon because I am sorry I was out of town and not able to meet you. I just love that view from the Tower Suite - particularly when the fire pit is on. The Ricotta Scrambled wrap is my favorite breakfast! Simple, yet delicious. So glad you enjoyed your stay and I do hope you'll be back soon.

Best,
Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,050
    26
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
72
870
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beacon, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This was the first romantic weekend away for me and my boyfriend and it was a truly wonderful experience. Bill showed us to our room and we were welcomed with champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, and soft music playing in the background.

The Inn is beautiful with old class charm and modern amenities. We stayed in the Tower Suite and I would highly recommend it. It is adjacent to the main house but with more privacy and a view to die for. Bill and Nancy were very helpful in letting us know what activities to enjoy in the town as well as some great suggestions for dining. I don't think I'll ever stay at a traditional hotel again, and certainly not when in Newport. As a previous reviewer states, there is a reason why Cliffside Inn is rated number one.

Room Tip: The Tower Suite is quiet with a private entrance adjacent to the main house. It overlooks the fire p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
We are thrilled you enjoyed the Garden Suite and thank you for that wonderful review. You really encapsulated the mission we strive for at the Cliffside Inn. Nancy is sorry that she missed other New Jerseyans and hopes that you will come up again soon. We really do appreciate your comments and the time you took to post them.

All the best,
Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My husband and I just returned from a weekend get away. Bill and his staff were fantastic hosts! We usually stay at hotels, so this was somewhat new to us. The rooms were immaculate with so many nice, little touches-beautiful towels, fireplace in each room, homemade cookies each night. My husbands breakfast of eggs over crab cakes with hollandaise sauce was his favorite (especially with Bill's homemade "rub" for the breakfast sausage) Fantastic place...can't wait to go back in the warmer weather and sit in the yard with the beautiful fire pit!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRS5421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
We are glad that your weekend getaway with us was so enjoyable, and that you decided to try staying at an inn, as an alternative to a hotel for your Newport experience. Thank you for posting the thoughtful comments about your Cliffside Inn stay.

Our "Eggs Newport"...a Cliffside Inn variation on Eggs Benedict (homemade crab cakes instead of ham) is a guest favorite - I'm glad that they were a hit. We had the official re-lighting of the firepit on March 17th since winter seemed to have vanished and the weather is beginning to feel more summer-like every day...(we'll probably get a blizzard next week after that comment!).

Thank you again for the feedback - it means a lot to all of us here at Cliffside to know that our guests are enjoying their time with us. We look forward to your next visit.

All the best.

Bill, Nancy (back home now) and the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forked River, New Jersey, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We recently stayed two nights at the Cliffside Inn in Newport and really enjoyed it for being our first time visiting there. Aside from a great location being steps away from the cliffwalk, a beach, the mansions and bellevue ave, the hospitality we received from the minute we walked in to the minute we left was what impacted us the most. We received warm greetings each day, and coffee/tea made fresh whenever requested. The breakfast each day was professional, well presented and best of all tasted wonderful. The 5pm wine tasting was great - a nice quiet sit down with hors devours served where the owner was happy to not only answer any questions, but went above and beyond in getting to know each person there. The room was also amazing - what was offered on the website and presented there was exactly what was waiting for us, which was really nice. There was really nothing that we could complain about in all aspects of the trip. We recommend this place VERY highly for anyone, and any age for that matter, who desires a calm, relaxing vacation at a place where you feel like you are being treated like you are the only people there. GREAT place, we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My fiance and I stayed at the Cliffside Inn the evening he proposed to me. When we arrived at the Inn, we were greeted by the owner, Bill, who seemed as excited as I was. After a big hug, Bill walked us to our room where we enjoyed a chilled bottle of Moet and chocolate covered strawberries. After showing us how to use the aroma-therapy steam shower (which was incredible!), Bill booked us a reservation at 22 Bowen (on a Saturday night at 7:30pm). When we arrived back at the room, we opened the door to see rose petals strewn over the bed and some delicious nighttime treats. I cannot recommend this inn enough - what a perfect mix of old Newport, romance and 5 star treatment. I have stayed in beautiful hotels in Italy, Paris and New York and the treatment we received in Newport, Rhode Island was incomparable. It is impossible to stay a night here and not feel at home.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JordanBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
What a nice review...thank you. With all the advance planning we did, in preparation for the surprise engagement, we felt like we were family! Yes, we were very excited for you both, and happy to have had you as our guests for your engagement weekend. It is moments like these that Nancy and I...and our whole staff...look forward to.

Our best wishes to you both and I know we will be seeing you again soon.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The decor is perfect and it isn't just for show -- it's for you to use and enjoy! Bill and the staff make you feel like you live in this gracious mansion -- it was hard to leave. The breakfast is fabulous, the tea really includes scones and clotted cream, the wine and hors d'oeuvres are delicious and the bedtime cookies are worth running up the stairs for. I highly recommend this inn to make you feel truly part of Newport.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BetsyRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
...Gracious and Welcoming, a nice way to describe the Newport experience and the atmosphere we try to create here at the Inn. We enjoyed having you stay with us, and I am glad you liked the St George's Suite. If you do decide to just "move in", let us know and we'll make room! If you bring your sailboat down for a cruise this summer, I'd love to come aboard check her out.

Take care, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards from all of us.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndonville, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Celebrated our dear friend's 50th birthday with a weekend at the Cliffside Inn for six. Beautiful on the outside and even more lovely on the inside. The moment you step in the double doors, the elegance envelopes in you in the warmest of embraces. Each room has it's own character of charm and polish, complete with quiet welcome. The staff is wonderfully friendly and available. You have the feeling of being supremely pampered by your hosts, yet can easily sit and chat with owner Bill, innkeeper Alexa, and chef Laurie in the kitchen over tea. I certainly did! Breakfast and afternoon tea are rich with delicious food highlighted in the company of other guests, their open friendliness and ease of conversation. Yes, that's the ocean you hear just outside your door, steps from the Cliff Walk. The Cliffside Inn experience is completely and utterly delightful.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Hello Elizabeth - Thank you so much for your comments...you've described the inn and your time with us the way we hope our guests will remember their visit. All of the staff enjoyed hosting the 50th birthday celebration/reunion weekend - it made us smile to see you all having so much fun together. Lori asked me to tell you that she particularly enjoyed the early AM chats with you in the kitchen!

We opened the Cowtipper Wine you brought for us...straight from the vineyards of Vermont...around the firepit on St Patrick's Day. It was a nice way to end a long day on an unseasonably warm evening.

Thank you again for staying with us and for taking the time to share your thoughts about the Inn with others.

All the best,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
630 reviews
0.9 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
583 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#7 of 21 in Newport
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Property: Cliffside Inn
Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing