We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Stop for My Seafood Tour”
Review of Cliffside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cliffside Inn
Ranked #2 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Perfect Stop for My Seafood Tour”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We just came home from our two night stay at the Cliffside Inn. It was the final stop of our east coast seafood tour. Previous stops were Halifax, Bar Harbor, Boston and finally Newport RI. I told my husband I saved the best for last, and boy did I tell the truth. We stayed in the Blue room as per Bill's recommendation when I made the reservation. It was the perfect room for us. Beautifully decorated, bright and sunny. The bathroom had glass transom windows added to keep the tiny bathroom lit with natural sunlight. The room had luxurious towels, linens and bathrobes. My husband had thrown his back out from the previous hotel's bed and we weren't sure how he would hold up in our stop in Newport. The bed in the Blue room he said was the most comfortable of the trip.

The results from the major renovation the inn has gone through are the impeccable. The meticulous attention to detail makes this inn really shine. The fresh flowers everywhere, the heritage door hardware, the light fixtures, are absolutely stunning.

The innkeepers, Bill and Nancy are very warm and welcoming as are their staff. This is the first B&B that serves a wine and munchies at 5 pm that we have ever stayed at. Once again, a small touch that really adds a lot. The homemade breakfast, served with love, tastes especially good. Bill is even more than willing to share his recipes so I'll be able to make a little bit of Cliffside at home.

When my husband declined the turn down service our final night, he then realized it meant he wouldn't be getting the nighttime cookies. He immediately chased out the door and down the stairs to claim his. Once he got them, his night was complete.

These are just a few points that make this inn so wonderful. We look forward to visiting them again. Thank you Bill and Nancy (and Alexa) for your hospitality. B&N (from Toronto)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stockmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
I am so glad we made it on the Seafood tour! I do love the Blue Room too. That little window seat just makes the room so cozy. Thanks for all of your kind words, they really mean a lot to us. We are glad B's back held up so that you could enjoy more of Newport than just the great seafood (and Cliffside Fondele cookies!). We look forward to having you back soon.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,028
    26
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
71
852
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Staying at the Cliffside Inn is a dream trip for a perfect holiday. The property is sophisticated and carefully maintained, with full attention for the details. The Owners could not be more friendly than what they were with us, taking care and helping in all matters where we required their support. And Newport is a unique place that must be known.

Room Tip: We stayed at Beatrice's room, the former Owner of the house full of unusual life histories that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flcazev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Well, being named Beatrice what could be more appropriate than staying in another Beatrice's former home! It was a pleasure having you both here and sharing Newport with you. The winter months are much slower but have a special charm and we are thrilled that you enjoyed yourselves.

Obrigado,

Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
233 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My husband, daughter and I recently had the pleasure to visit this Inn for her best friends wedding. The wedding party had taken over the entire house. We had the adjacent cottage rooms a few steps away from the main house. The new owners have outdone themselves in checking every box for this place. Our room was very nicely decorated with huge jetted bath, plus shower. Skylights are everywhere. There is also a fireplace in bath that has dual views into sitting room.
We had wonderful happy hour and great breakfast! I printed that off the website! This is in a great location..just a few steps to Cliff Walk. I would happily stay here again at anytime. Great place!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melanieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Wow - what a weekend that was. It was such a pleasure for us to host all of you and see all the friends and relatives connecting. Ashley is sending us some of the pictures she took and I can't wait to see them. She is so creative.

I'm not sure how often you get East from Michigan, but we would love to have you stay with us again.

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed in the Garden suite and it was amazing. We had two fireplaces, a jacuzzi tub, a private library and a private patio with waterfall (no I'm not making this up). The attention to detail was impressive with double and triple crown mouldings in the room, as well as lovely original watercolor paitings. A wine reception at 5 had so many delectable appetizers, we didn't even go to dinner after. Breakfast on the porch of orange french toast with sausage and French press coffee plus fresh fruit and muffins was a delight. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: Garden Suite had its own private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlottepotvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
We are so glad that you were feeling better and able to stay with us. It was great to see you enjoying all Newport has to offer - and wanting to stay an extra night! The Garden Suite is quite special, but you should come and see some of the other rooms on your next trip.

Best regards,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sykesville
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We had always hesitated to stay at a Bed & Breakfast but our stay at the Cliffside Inn was nothing short of wonderful. The access to Newport, the Cliff Walk, the Mansions, the beach, and of course the lobster, and seclusion was everything we wanted on our anniversary get away. The hospitality provided by the owners of the Cliffside Inn and the extremely comfortable rooms made our celebration just perfect!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
A 43rd Anniversary is quite a feat so we are honored that you chose the Cliffside Inn, not just for your anniversary but for your first B&B experience. It was such a pleasure having you both here and help celebrate this milestone. I hope you return for many future celebrations.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

The Cliffside Inn was the perfect location for us. We wanted to be close to the beach and it is literally a 10 minute walk. We even had glimpses of ocean views from our Atlantic Suite room in the cottage which was beautiful. As for beaches, Easton Beach is not the nicest, but soft sand and the sound of the ocean breeze did the trick for us. (We were told that you could pay per day to go to Gooseberry Beach Club, but we never made it there). The Cliffside Inn is just steps away from The Cliff Walk, which is a breathtaking 3 mile trail and a great way to get in a little exercise. It is easy to walk to The Breakers so take a self guided tour there to learn some history of the area. The service was wonderful and all the food at The Cliffside Inn was delicious. Each morning was a different dish…ricotta egg wraps, blueberry pancakes, berry waffles… we never left hungry! And the cocktail hour nightly from 4:30 – 5:30 is a nice touch. Different appetizers every night. While the inn is a bit pricy, we felt it was worth every penny. Our room had great wooden walls and a number of skylights that had shades for the evening. The only complaint I had was that there were 2 flat screen 18” televisions. I would have preferred 1 larger TV but in the end, we really didn’t watch much anyway. Restaurants I would recommend for lunch include The Black Pearl or 22 Bowens down by The Wharf area or O’Briens on Thames Street .These all have outdoor seating. For dinner we loved Bouchard. The food there was amazing and a nice quiet atmosphere. We went sailing on the Aquidneck one night. This particular boat does not offer a historical narrative, but overall any sunset cruise is worth taking to take in the great views of Newport. Overall Bill and Nancy at The Cliffside Inn are very welcoming and will help make your stay everything you want it to be!

Room Tip: The adjoining cottage is a lovely option with 3 larger rooms closer to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tebNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
We are so happy you came to the Cliffside for Father's Day and your babymoon! We hope we will see pictures soon. We are thrilled that you were able to take advantage of all that the Cliffside and Newport have to offer. Thank you for staying with us.

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I stayed here three times over the last several years but didn't register with tripadvisor till today. I travel 200 days a year and stay at properties all over the world. For a B & B its facilities are amazing and the Innkeeper's hospitality is second to none. Every other place I travel I sample the various hotels in the city but in Newport I never manage to stay anywhere else! A wonderful stay even for the most jaded and experienced of traveler.

Room Tip: Steam shower is the heat
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you for that really incredible review. Knowing how much you are on the road, it is a great honor that you choose to stay with us when you get a chance to relax. We look forward to hosting you again soon. Travel safely.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.8 mi away
Francis Malbone House Inn
0.6 mi away
Hydrangea House Inn
Hydrangea House Inn
#4 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Property: Cliffside Inn
Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing