We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway!”
Review of Cliffside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliffside Inn
Ranked #2 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coraopolis, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great getaway!”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

My wife and I just spent two nights at the Cliffside and loved it! Met alot of the guests and we agreed to meet again "same time next year"! We highly recommend it, Bill & Nancy are wonderful, and the food, atmosphere and other guests are fantastic! To really enjoy drinks and dinner in town I recommend calling "Cozy Cab" and ask for Keith......a great inexpensive way to enjoy the town, drinks and dinner with no fear of a DUI....

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
It was so great having you here. I am sorry the trip was delayed but so glad you finally made it. What a wonderful group of guests we had in that weekend and I really do hope we will see you "same time next year". It can become a restuarant week tradition.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,049
    26
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
72
869
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We just spent one night at the Cliffside Inn, but enjoyed it tremendously. The owners are so welcoming that sometimes I forgot I was staying at an Inn and not visiting family. We loved the afternoon wine social because we got to meet the other guests. I can't imagine staying at any other place in Newport. I am very fussy with my 5 star ratings, but had no problem giving this Inn one. Can't imagine anyone could complain.

Went to Bouchard for dinner (#1 Tripadvisor). We tried to reserve ahead but could not a reservation. The Innkeepers got us one at last minute because the restaurant called them with openings. How great is that?

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newtonmatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Wow...thank you for posting your thoughtful comments about your stay at Cliffside. We appreciate the accolades from a top contributor to Trip Advisor. We have found that our evening wine and hors d'oeuvres reception is a great way to bring guests together - it is one the favorite parts of our day. We look forward to your next visit with us. Best wishes for the holidays.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Cliffside Inn was the perfect way to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday! This was our first trip to Newport and we enjoyed every part of the weekend. The Inn is beautiful. We stayed in The Loft. We were super impressed by the cleanliness of the suite and ammenities available. The bathroom is gorgeous. The spa tub is huge, and the rain shower was refreshing. Bill and Nancy could not have been any more accommodating. They not only supplied a bountiful breakfast, but also an afternoon tea, a cocktail reception, cookies on our bedside table at turndown, and endless tips on where to go and how to get there. They made us feel like we were truly guests in their home. The other Inn guests could not have been friendlier. The Inn chef did a fabulous job making delicious meals and treats! You will not be disappointed with your choice to stay at the Cliffside Inn!

Room Tip: My sister and brother-in-law stayed in one of the cottage suites. It was huge with a bedroom, bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kandis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
That was a fun weekend and birthday celebration. We are happy you chose the Cliffside Inn for your first visit to Newport and for Jon's birhday milestone. Thank you for telling others about your visit to Cliffside. We hope you had an enjoyable Thanksgiving, and wish you the best for the upcoming holidays. Nancy and I hope to see you again for your next visit to Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My wife, daughter and son-in-law and I stayed here on 31 October and 1 November 2012. We had originally intended to stay for only 1 night but our reception was so warm and friendly that we extended our stay to 2 nights. Our first impressions were obtained when we phoned to make the booking and spoke to Bill. So friendly. We arrived mid-afternoon and Bill greeted us and made us feel most welcome. He took time to explain the local sights, including recommending a few of the Mansions and Cliffside walk. he alos explained that thye would be serving tea from 16.30. We arrived back after our walk to find the most delicious spread of goodies awaiting us in the dining room - a most welcome refreshment after our walk. Bill and Nancy took time to talk to us while we were having tea. The rooms we had were wonderful. Clean, beautifully appointed and amazing bathrooms. The beds were comfortable, ensuring we got a great night's sleep. Breakfast on both mornings included a "special", as well as their fantastic home made Granola. on our second night, the tea was replaced by a wine and canapes spread. Again, a wonderful opportunity of chatting to Bill and Nancy. Overall, it was a wonderful stay - sadly only 2 days.

Room Tip: Ask fro one of the sea facing rooms. Although the sea is not right in front of the hotel, the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dallas_taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
We were so thrilled that you decided to spend the extra day with us. It was wonderful to have the four of you here and to get to know you. It was great to watch you connect with the other guests as well. Hope your travels back to the UK went well.

Cheers,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

What a beautiful bed & breakfast! My husband and I recently stayed three nights in the Carriage Room and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. The location is perfect -- just steps from the beginning of the Cliff Walk. Breakfasts were bountiful and delicious, Bill and Nancy were friendly and helpful hosts. All the other reviews have said it all really -- you can't go wrong booking a room here and I would go back in a minute.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Socalesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
From one Newport to another, thank you. It was a pleasure having you here and getting to know you and helping you find your way around this Newport! We hope you'll make it back to this coast again soon.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Cliffside Inn for one night (unfortunately only one!) and had an amazing time. The place was cosy and gorgeous and the owners very welcoming. Bill gave us plenty of tips about the area which we really appreciated. The proximity to the cliff walk was wonderful and breakfast on the balcony was beautiful. I'm really glad that we chose to stay at Cliffside and would highly recommend it to anyone thinking of going to Newport.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
We are so glad that your travels brought you to the Cliffside Inn. . . even for just one night. It was great to have you here. Hope you are enjoying your sail bag!

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, KS
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2012 via mobile

We went with friends to the Cliffside and had a wonderful time. Delicious breakfasts, attentive hosts, fun wine hour. Did I mention fun wine hour? The appetizers were fixed in-house and were awesome. Bedrooms with gas fireplaces and furnishings to fit the time period of the Cliffside. Highly reccomend.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ngcnewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Yes, we love our wine hour. But it is truly the guests who make the experience special. It was wonderful to have you here and have you at the wine hour. Hopefully, you will make another appearance soon.

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,992 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
628 reviews
0.9 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
580 reviews
0.8 mi away
Francis Malbone House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Property: Cliffside Inn
Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing