We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another perfect stay at Cliffside.”
Review of Cliffside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cliffside Inn
Ranked #2 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lansdale, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another perfect stay at Cliffside.”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

This is the second time that my fiance and I have stayed at the Cliffside, and it was just as memorable as when I proposed to her the last time. The inn is gorgeous, our room was immaculate, and the breakfasts were fantastic. We always love seeing Nancy, Bill, and especially Dakota, but the whole staff is fantastic. Thanks again guys and we'll see you in 2013!

Room Tip: Several great rooms depending on what you're looking for. The view of the harbor from the Tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Koty has been missing you for sure! But I'm sure the kitties were happy to have you back. It was great to see you again and have the opportunity to spend some time outside of the inn with you. Next time we will definitely have dinner together.

Hope you had a great holiday and a happy 2013!

Nancy and Bill (and Dakota)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,028
    26
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
71
852
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

My husband and I just returned from an overnight getaway to Newport and the Cliffside Inn. This was our second trip to the Inn (we visited for two nights in September) and it never disappoints. We stayed in the Grosvenor Suite, last visit in the Tower Suite, and both rooms are meticulously appointed and immaculate, as is the rest of the inn and grounds. The breakfast is outstanding and plentiful and the afternoon tea or evening cocktail reception is second to none. I must adhere to a gluten free diet which Bill and Nancy have accommodated beyond anything I could have expected and done so gladly. (This has not always been my experience at other inns.) They are great people and they and their staff go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and memorable from check-in to check-out.
Thanks for making our getaway great! We look forward to seeing you again!

Room Tip: We had the opportunity to see many of the rooms and all are beautiful and as pictured on their websi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AIB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 30 December 2012
It was great having you both back with us. And we are thrilled that you introduced your friends to the Cliffside Inn as well. We are always happy to accommodate dietary needs. We want your stay to be the best it can be! I'm glad we hit that mark for you.

Wishing you both a very happy new year and we look forward to seeing you in 2013!
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Spent a lovely Memorial Day weekend at the Cliffside. Owners were wonderful and hospitable. Our room was lovely, the breakfasts were out of this world. The location is right next to the Cliff Walk and a reasonable walk into downtown Newport. Relaxing is the keyword. No pressure. Nice porch to sit and read. We did the Mansions and the Town, lots of fun. Don't miss this Inn, it is amazing.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HENAM73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
We are flattered that your memories of the Cliffside Inn were so good that you decided to review us seven months after your stay. Memorial Day weekend was a great weekend in Newport!
Hopefully, we will see you back here this year too.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington or Cambridge
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

First of all, we were greeted by very warm and friendly Nancy, who showed us our room with the gas fireplace and steam shower. The location of this enchanting inn is just a few houses away from the famous cliff walk, which we took advantage of on the sunnier days. We stayed in the Sun room and loved the window seats and large windows. Our first night we enjoyed a really superb "wine and cheese" hour with delicious homemade munchies hot from their kitchen. We sat in front of the fire and read the day's paper in their festive common room decorated for the holidays. The following day they put out tea and coffee and more delicious snacks. Bill and Nancy are very accommodating, friendly, and put you at ease. I felt like I was visiting a friend's relatives. All the staff are very nice. Oh, the breakfasts! Definitely the best I've ever had at a B&B. Loved this place!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claudine53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
Thank you for your kinds words and lovely review. Everyone who stays in the Sun Room just love the steam shower, but I think it is especially great during the cold weather! We are happy that you enjoyed it. It was great getting to know you during the evening receptions. Hopefully, you will find some time to come back and visit soon.

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kingston, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2012

I have been in the hospitality business for more than 30 years and have to say this has been one of the best experiences I have had. The inn has been lovingly restored with beautiful common areas and rooms that have every amenity anyone could ask for. We wanted to get away to be able to relax before the chaos of the holiday season descended upon us. Cliffside Inn helped us achieve this goal. There was nothing more we could have asked for. If you are going to be visiting Newport I would highly recommend this exceptional inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Susan,

Thank you so much for your great review. We hope you both had a good (relaxed) holiday and happy birthdays! We look forward to having you back the next time you need to recharge your batteries!

All the Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Cliffside Inn is by far the the best B&B I have experienced in all my travels. The owners and staff are all wonderful people that provide excellent service and great food! My wife and I have stayed in the Sun Room twice, (where there is a great steam shower that plays music from your iPhone or iPod), and plan on coming back many more times in the future. The location of the inn is about a mile from the main attractions of Newport, but if the weather is pleasant it is only about a 20 minute walk to everything. Also, the inn is located right near the Cliffside Walk, which provides stunning views of the ocean, and direct access to walk to the Breakers mansion and Bellevue Avenue (where all the other mansions and Tennis Hall of Fame are). We highly recommend staying at the Cliffside Inn if you are planning a trip to Newport. It will definitely be one of the highlights of your visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmara8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Thank you for that great review. It was great having you back with us so soon. We're going to have to have you break out into another room at some point! But I can understand your affinity for the steam shower in the Sun Room. It is especially nice this time of year.

We look forward to your next visit.

Happy New Year,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Cliffside Inn is the best. From the moment of our arrival we were greeted by friendly staff who assisted us at check-in & anything else we wanted. We stayed for one night in the Tower Suite, which luckily had a one night availability. Our room was impeccably clean & comfortable with a great view of the ocean. The bathroom on the first floor, the bedroom on the second. At first we were concerned that would be problematic, but it was no problem at all! The bathroom was luxurious, great shower & tub. The bed was super comfortable. Nancy & Bill & the staff could not have been more accommodating. Breakfast was delicious, fresh & homemade. We enjoyed meeting other travelers. The inn is in an excellent location. All in all a fantastic getaway. We are eager to return. Nancy & Bill have created a wonderful atmosphere in a beautiful bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
We are so glad you were able to get away for a night and come to the Cliffside. The Tower Suite is one of our guests favorites so I am glad you were able to find an open night. Our staff takes a lot of pride in their work and we really appreciate you noticing it.

Hope you have a happy holiday,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.8 mi away
Francis Malbone House Inn
0.6 mi away
Hydrangea House Inn
Hydrangea House Inn
#4 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Property: Cliffside Inn
Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing