We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B Experience”
Review of Cliffside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliffside Inn
Ranked #2 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
nj
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B Experience”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at the Cliffside Inn for my 40th birthday, and we had a wonderful time. The inn is beautifully appointed in every aspect. It's extremely clean and well-maintained, with noticeable attention to detail. The owners, Bill and Nancy, are warm and friendly hosts, who are there to help you with plans and questions about Newport. The wine hour is a great opportunity to chat with other guests, and enjoy some wine and snacks before dinner. Breakfast is exceptional, and the chef, Jackie, serves amazing, delicious twists on old favorites. The granola is soooo good! We ate breakfast outside on the porch both mornings, which was a treat. We stayed in the Tower Suite which has a great view and a separate entrance from the main house. The bathroom is on the first floor, and winding stairs take you to the bedroom with sitting area. There is no shortage of extra touches such as cookies at turndown and a "Happy 40th Birthday sign on our bed!" The Inn is walking distance to the Cliff Walk, the mansions, and a "good walk" to downtown Newport. The Cliffside Inn is a great choice for a weekend in Newport! Thanks again, Bill and Nancy and your fabulous staff!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
We are thrilled that you had a great 40th birthday weekend at the Cliffside Inn. It was our pleasure having you here and we had a great time celebrating with you. We are so glad that you enjoyed the breakfasts. There won't be too many days left on the porch this season.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill (and Koty)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,050
    26
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
72
870
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mahwah, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at the Cliffside Inn. The home was beautifully decorated. It kept with the age of the home, but had all the modern day luxuries. Nancy and Bill were a delight !!! They went the extra mile on everything. After learning I had a gluten issue, they made sure I had a gluten free breakfast every morning and snacks in the afternoon with wine. The whole staff was incredible. Last night there they coved our bed with rose pedals with a sign wishing us a happy anniversary. They made my 25th wedding anniversary one to never forget. We fell in love with Newport, but more so with the Cliffside Inn. Thank you Nancy and Bill. Love Anthony and Lori Mergola

Room Tip: Stay in a suit
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Anthony and Lori,

Thank you for choosing the Cliffside Inn for your 25th wedding anniversary. It was great to have you here and we appreciate how much you enjoyed the inn. Thank you for bringing your friends by with you. It would be great to have all four of you here at some point.

We are looking forward to Lori and the girls coming back too.

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We loved staying at the Cliffside Inn. The staff was great and very knowledgeable about the area and nearby activities. We enjoyed walking down and along the cliffs...beautiful scenery!

The Inn was beautifully renovated and we enjoyed our time at the Inn talking to the owners and other guests during breakfast and evening appetizers and wine. The outdoor fire pit was really nice to sit around after dinner.

We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Manager at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
We are so glad that you chose the Cliffside Inn for your stay in Newport. As former Atlantans, it is always great to get to meet new people from that area. It was a pleasure talking with both of you at the wine reception and to watch you interact with the other guests.

October is the perfect fire pit weather and we were glad we had the chance to spend a few minutes out there with you too.

We hope you'll make it back up north soon.

Best,
Nancy, Bill and Koty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schwenksville, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at the Inn. Our room was well appointed, comfortable and very clean. The bathroom with steam shower was very relaxing and the bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfasts were wonderful...and thankfully not too healthy. The wine hour in the late afternoon was a nice transition to evenings in Newport. Bill, Nancy, Tamara and all the staff were wonderful... always attentive and never intrusive. A beautiful Inn with wonderful innkeepers. Thanks.

Debbyden

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
We are so glad that your son chose the Cliffside for your get away gift. It was such a pleasure having you here with us. We really appreciate all the wonderful comments about the inn. I told you how much I love the Sun Room too. That steam shower is just phenomenal.

We are thrilled you had a terrific time and hope we will see you again soon.

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

1st rate all the way around, it's so nice to get what you expect and deal with warm, charming professionals.

While passing thru Newport, stayed 2 nights for our wedding anniversary, stayed in 'The Loft.' A little small, but we knew it would be going in because it was on the top floor, and it didn't matter because the quality was there and we're suckers for skylights. Comfortable furnishings, great bedding, huge whirlpool tub, super-clean, outstanding location just a block from The Cliffwalk,' excellent breakfast, run by some really nice people who get that it's a hospitality industry.

Yes, it's a little pricey overall, but not for the Newport area and the value is there. It may be years before we get back to Newport again, but I wouldn't even think of staying elsewhere unless The Cliffside was booked solid (and even then, I'd still try to negotiate a sofa...)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KuwaitiBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
We enjoyed having you stay with us at Cliffside for your 12th wedding anniversary. We hope you enjoyed the fall colors while you traveled through New England. Thank you for posting your review and the pictures which nicely capture the coziness of the room and the and warmth of the skylights in the Loft. We hope you never have to negotiate a sofa, but we do hope you'll be back soon.

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We were very disappointed with the inn. Breakfast was terrible. There was some granola on the counter, yogurt, muffins and a fruit salad.....nothing like the delicious breakfast feast presented in the photos on the website. We were offered eggs and toast. At $459 per night it would have been nice to have freshly squeezed juice but this was also not available.
After sightseeing all morning, we returned to the room to rest at 1:00 pm. The room was still not cleaned and the beds were not made.
The suite was very nice, but no real water view. You could see a bit of water but through trees and other houses in front. It eas completely obstructed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miami G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Nancy and I are so committed to giving our guests a wonderful experience while visiting Newport, that we would typically take a review like this very personally…what went wrong?…what could we have done differently to make this guest happy? In this case, we feel like we should just take a deep breath and let it go. Occasionally you encounter an individual that you know, right away, is just going to be unhappy – and you let us know that when you first arrived. For the overwhelming majority of our guests, the Cliffside Inn has been a wonderful experience. I won’t put words in their mouths… guests have been thoughtful enough to post their memorable experiences at Cliffside right here on TripAdvisor.

I do want to clarify, for others, a few of the comments you made in your description of our breakfast at Cliffside: what you referred to as “toast and eggs” as our breakfast offering to you on the first day was, in fact, your choice of: Apple Cinnamon French Toast with a Homemade Praline Syrup or Eggs Benedict. We prepare special breakfast entrées each morning; a sweet or a savory special, and our guests always have the option of eggs prepared anyway they like them. For your second morning, after you published your review, you ordered our special selection for that morning, a fresh Crab and Swiss Omelet, with Applewood Smoked Bacon from a local farm.

The rather mundane sounding “granola on the counter, yogurt, muffins and a fruit salad” you described is a buffet with our homemade granola, a selection of muffins and scones baked at the inn each morning by our chef, an assortment of fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, and fresh juices – the first course of our delicious breakfast.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to New England and had a safe trip back to Argentina.

Best regards,
Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed here for one night - our final accommodation of our USA touring holiday. There is no question that the Cliffside Inn is a fabulous place to stay. We stayed in the Sun Room on the first floor with luxurious furnishings, no bath tub but large shower and view across the bay.
We were warmly welcomed on arrival and introduced to the owner and given some good advice on how to get the best out of our short stay which was very useful.
We didn't have time to attend the wine social at 5pm but it looked excellent, but we made up for it at breakfast the following morning enjoying the homemade scones, muffins and entree dish of eggs Benedict. My husband isn't keen on this dish but there was no hesitation in offering him eggs cooked any other style which he appreciated. On the downside our tea and coffee were served luke warm which was disappointing given the high standards the inn clearly has.
The cost for our one nights stay was us$ 438 with taxes - our most expensive accommodation outside of NYC. Did we get good value for that cost?, well I am not totally convinced on that aspect so my recommendation would be providing you are happy with the cost go an enjoy an excellent inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your New England tour, and we do appreciate the feedback from such a seasoned traveler. The Sun Room is also one of my favorites, very cozy, lots of light, views of the ocean and a wonderful steam spa. We are happy that you considered your visit to Cliffside a fabulous way to end your holiday. Fall weekends are some of Newport's busiest times and rates can be a little bit higher than on weekdays and other parts of the year, but we are glad that you considered your brief visit with us to be a "definitely excellent" experience.

Our best to you both,
Bill & Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
630 reviews
0.9 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
583 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#7 of 21 in Newport
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Property: Cliffside Inn
Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing