We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars is not enough!”
Review of Cliffside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliffside Inn
Ranked #1 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here last week as part of a very astute group of people that know what makes an inn work well. The Cliffside is not only gorgeous, it is run perfectly.
The room was very well equipped and maintained; the turndown with home baked cookies a nice touch.
Breakfast was delicious, elegant and plentiful.
The staff were friendly, efficient and knowledgable about Newport (our first visit).
Thank you Nancy and Bill for a delightful stay. We shall return!

Room Tip: I have stayed in many a hotel around the world - I have never had a shower like this in the room! d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eiran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

This is quite a review coming from such an accomplished traveler like yourself. Thank you. The shower in the St. George's Suite is really something spectacular. We are so glad you enjoyed it. Looking forward to having you back in the future.

Best,
Nancy and Bill (and Koty)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

605 - 611 of 1,113 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

Just spent two heavenly nights at this wonderful inn. It is fantastic on every level. A perfect place for that well deserved relaxing & romantic escape. Lots to do nearby. Get yourself here - you'll be glad you did. Thank you Bill & Nancy for everything! We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMLM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Leslie and Brian,

We are so glad that you were able to squeeze and extra night in with us during your Rhode Island tour. I'm sure it was great to see your family, but it is always nice to have some alone time first. We thoroughly enjoyed having you both here and getting to know you better. We are looking forward to seeing you again in April.

Fondly,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The house has been restored with much care, consideration and taste. The beds and linens are incredibly luxurious and comfortable, there's a fireplace in every room, a wine and cheese reception upon arrival, a delicious breakfast in the morning, a free book to all guests about the painter who lived in the house, friendly and generous owners . . . what's not to love? And if that weren't enough, Bill offered to upgrade us at no additional cost.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Crystal,

We are do glad that you came back to visit us and that you brought your parents with you. It was wonderful to meet them and we are glad we were able to upgrade you to adjoining rooms. You all seem to have such a great time here and we are so happy that it was a perfect stay.

Looking forward to the next visit.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My best friend and I stayed one night in late October 2013. The room was beautiful and our hosts were very friendly & helpful. My best friend has both gluten and dairy allergies and they were extremely accommodating. At the cocktail hour the day we arrived, they made separate canapes specifically for him. At the breakfast the next morning, they made him gluten free muffins and a separate entree, so that he could have a proper breakfast before we headed out for the day. Both of our meals were delicious. The homemade granola was amazing and they provided me with the recipe :) We enjoyed visiting the mansions nearby and doing part of the Cliffwalk (note that some of it is still closed off due to damage from Hurricane Sandy). We would have liked to have stayed longer & if we hadn't had reservations in Cape Cod the following night, we certainly would have. The next time we are anywhere nearby, we will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sun Room on the 2nd floor and found that we did not hear any noise at all from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for choosing the Cliffside Inn for your "big" birthday celebration. It was lovely to have the two of you, even if only for one night. We are so happy that you both enjoyed the food. We can't accommodate everything, but we try to make folks with dietary restrictions feel as special as all the other guests!

We do hope you'll come for a longer stay if you are back in the New England area.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed at this Inn four years ago. While the location was wonderful and the building absolutely beautiful, we were disappointed with the quality of maintenance of the place. It showed that the Innkeeper of that time didn't care much.
Having read that the Cliffside Inn had been sold we wanted to go back, as the location has no match, being only 2 minutes walk from the famous Cliff Walk. And we loved the house.
As soon as we entered the house we said: Wow!!! It looked like another place! Everything was perfect, decorated with the best taste you can expect and our room had all the amenities you can expect, and even much more, as the steam shower! Everything was updated and looked absolutely great.
The breakfast was amazing, we will longly remember the homemade chocolate scones!
If you go in the area, do a favor to yourself: stay at this Inn.

Roberta and Claudio

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sun room, which was Amazing. But the Innkeepers were so kind to show us also other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lat48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Roberta and Claudio,

It was such a pleasure having you here with us and we are thrilled that you like the renovations. I think you were here shortly before we purchased the inn, and yes, she did need quite a bit of love. But with her good bones and great location it was a labor of love to give her the facelift she deserved.

We are glad you enjoyed the steam shower. The Sun Room is the only one that has that feature and I agree that it is spectacular.

I know it is hard to get away from Maine, but we hope it won't be another 4 years until we see you again.

Warmly,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Cliffside Inn last week for a quick getaway. It was way too brief and we will definitely return for a longer stay to really take advantage of all the inn has to offer. We stayed in one of their suites with bedroom upstairs and beautiful, luxurious Jacuzzi tub and spacious shower below. Both levels featured a gas fireplace and there was a cute little nook off the Jacuzzi room to read and relax. If the weather had been warmer, we would have enjoyed the little outdoor sitting area as well. The owners, who were readily available and we enjoyed chatting with, have decorated the rooms beautifully - we understand the inn was recently renovated and the new design has been well thought out. Not only are the furnishings and décor beautiful, but they have managed to think of every detail to ensure guests' visits are comfortable. To us, little details make all the difference in the world - a black "makeup" washcloth so I don't feel extreme guilt when using a white face cloth, high end personal amenities, comfortable robes, tasty breakfasts with a nice buffet selection, soft, luxurious sheets...all these things add so much value and are the reasons we will not hesitate to return again and again.

Room Tip: Love the upstairs/downstairs suite, but based on what we saw of the inn, I'm sure you can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChathamFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for all of your wonderful comments about the inn. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the Garden Suite. It is one of the most romantic rooms at the Cliffside Inn. We were so happy you could get a night away from the kids to relax, but we do hope you'll be able to stay for a longer period next time - and bring more pictures.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Our weekend in Newport began with a less than relaxing Friday afternoon drive across three states. Upon arriving at the Cliffside Inn, we were greeted by a spectacular view of the property, complete with autumn decorations of mums and pumpkins. Our welcome was made more special when we entered the inn and were greeted by two staff members who made us feel right at home. We were escorted to the Beatrice room which was just spectacular, from the beautiful decor to the gas fireplace and the marble bath. The room also comes with an intriguing story, but you'll have to visit the inn to appreciate it. Nancy and Bill have created a wonderful retreat in the beautiful seaside town of Newport. We will return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RIchC29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Ah Friday traffic, almost never a good time - but we are so glad we were able to help you slip into relaxation once you arrived. Thank you for choosing the Cliffside Inn for your special birthday celebration and for the wonderful comments about our staff. We do hope you will make it back soon - with less traffic.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
705 reviews
0.9 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
614 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#8 of 21 in Newport
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: £166 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing