We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cliffside Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Attwater(Newport)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gilded(Newport)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Viking(Newport)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grace Vanderbilt(Newport)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,157)
Filter reviews
1,157 results
Traveller rating
1,120
27
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,120
27
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden suitethe clifffire pitfrench press coffeeatlantic suiteturner suitewine receptionwindow seatwine hourmy husband and iother guestssun roomfrench pressedb bpressed coffeetower roombeatrice turner
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
601 - 606 of 1,157 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014

After spending the Christmas holiday with our family and friends, we like to close out the year with a New Year's Eve getaway to one of our favorite places, The Cliffside Inn in Newport, Rhode Island. Bill and Nancy are wonderful hosts who go to great lengths to ensure that your stay is a wonderful experience for you. The entire inn is warm and inviting, no matter which room or part of the house you happen to be in. The guest rooms and suites are well appointed with your comfort in mind, including comfortable beds, and linens, and soothing music playing in your room. The breakfasts are absolutely delicious and prepared to your liking, providing you a perfect way to start the day. If you prefer, feel free to just have a cup or two of freshly pressed coffee while you read the paper in front of the fire. Looking to venture out and explore the area or go on an excursion? Cliff Walk is right at the end of the street. If you are not sure on where to go or what to do, Bill and Nancy are always available to provide information on local activities, restaurants, shopping, nearby attractions, etc. And after returning to the inn from a full day of fun or shopping, what better way to wind down the afternoon than with a glass of wine in front of the fireplace in the main parlor. At the end of the day, when you are ready to go to sleep, there's that finishing touch of seeing cookies on the nightstand and the bed turned down. The staff are all courteous and professional and as committed as the owners to making your stay a great experience. We are looking forward to our next stay here.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Mike,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We feel very blessed to have such wonderful guests. We really enjoy having you stay with us and hope you will come back again this December.

Hope that BMW is driving well in this snowy winter!

Warmly,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed in the Carriage House this time and it was wonderful. Loved the bathroom with whirlpool tub, dual sinks and shower with rain head. We ordered a bottle of wine after the afternoon tea and Tamara was nice enough to bring it to our room with two glasses when she did the turn down service. Turn down service is such a nice touch...the cookies are delicious. Despite the rain we took a walk out to the fire pit which was still lit and could imagine ourselves relaxing there in better weather. Nancy and Bill are wonderful. Plenty of suggestions for dinner and breakfast was delicious. We will be returning as fast as we can!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank labradors0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

So glad you were able to get a break from the kindergarteners and come visit us again. It was wonderful to have you back. How funny that there were two guests from Hingham here at the same time.

There are still lots of rooms for you to try and we look forward to having you back soon. Hopefully, before next year's winter break.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in the Garden Suite on 2/17. All we have to say is WOW! Every detail is done to perfection in the entire place. We loved the 2 floor aspect of our room, the heated bathroom floor and towel rack and the oversized whirlpool tub. A fireplace on EACH floor added an impeccable touch. Both Nancy and Bill were wonderful hostesses. Nancy reviewed a map of Newport with us in detail upon arrival. Bill created an outstanding array of breakfast items...and both seemed to really enjoy conversing with their guests during breakfast. Cliff Walk access is also about 75 yards away...and although it was a little snowy and icy....it was a great view and walk of the RI coastline. The Cliffside Inn is an outstanding B&B that we will be sure to frequent again in the near future.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Slagana610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. We really do like chatting with our guests and getting to know them. We have great guests and that makes our jobs wonderful. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed the Garden Suite. I just wish you could have stayed with us longer. Maybe next time?

Warmly,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had a great weekend at the Cliffside Inn. Everyone was very welcoming and friendly. Our room was excellent. We had a huge walk-in shower with 2 very nice rain heads, plus a small sitting room with a fireplace. We paid a little more for the suite was it worth it. Since there was quite a bit of snow and ice on the Cliff Walk we didn't go very far but the B&B is very close. They gave us a map and pointed out all the highlights, since it was our first time in Newport, this was very helpful.

The breakfast were very good always had options just in case you didn't want the main dish. They also hosted a cheese/wine happy hour which was very nice. Good wine and nice selection of food.

The owner, Bill, was out cleaning cars off the morning after we got 4+ inches of snow. We would definitely go back and would recommend it. Plus it is a very easy 1+ hour drive from Boston, very nice for a weekend or evening away.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

The shower in the St. George's Suite is really amazing. I always feel like I should host a party in there. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and the suite.

Only a short ride from Boston, so hopefully that means we will see you again soon. The ice is already off the Cliff Walk!

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We were pleasantly surprised at how beautiful and well kept this B & B was...well worth the price. The room was beautiful, more than accommodating, and immaculate! The food was fantastic and the staff was caring, friendly, and very helpful! It's only a few steps from the cliff walk and minutes from great restaurants and shopping. Perhaps the best part of the Cliffside Inn are the inn keepers. They were so kind and obliging. We had a "semi" family emergency and weren't sure if we were going to be able to make it there for our planned stay. They were so understanding. Fortunately, we were able to come and I'm so glad we were! Hopefully we will be coming back soon!!

Room Tip: The Cliff Suite we stayed in was detached from the main house, but not only had a bedroom and large bathroom with a jacuzzi, but a separate living room AND a separate library with a fireplace. I would strongly recommend this room! Beautiful!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyMom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

We are so glad that everything worked out with your daughter and that you were able to have a nice relaxing stay with us. It was really a pleasure getting to know both of you and we enjoyed watching you have such a good time in Newport - even with the snowy weather.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate it.

Fondly,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews