We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Anniversary Getaway”
Review of Cliffside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliffside Inn
Ranked #2 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I cant imagine a better place to stay in Newport. From the time we arrived to the time we (regretfully) departed, we were positively stunned by the friendliness and great service at the Cliff-side. I recommend the "Sun Room" with its bay window views of Easton Bay, relaxing steam shower, and cozy fireplace. It was our first anniversary, and the rose petals on the bed were a nice touch! They even made all our dinner reservations and made lots of helpful recommendations. The breakfast was a treat, as well. We cant wait to return.

Room Tip: We recommend the Sun Room, but haven't tried any others
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

We are so glad you chose the Cliffside Inn for your first anniversary celebration! It was wonderful to have you here. All of the guests really enjoyed talking with you and we did as well. I agree, the Sun room is quite special and I just love that steam shower.

The flowers have finally started peeking through in Newport and I think the winter is finally over. Hope all is well in South Carolina.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,104)
There are newer reviews for Cliffside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 1,105 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Cliffside with Nancy and Bill for just one night. I wish it had been a week.

We stayed in the Grosvenor Room.
It's a beautiful, big room with a King bed and a bathroom I could live in. It has double sink, a double tub and a separate shower with a rain head.

I believe it was all new in 2010. Whenever it was, it's gorgeous!

They also have French press coffee that just made my husband's day.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kimmeekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Kim,

You are right! We bought the inn in 2010 and did a full restoration and remodel. We are glad you included us on your tour of New England inns. It was great getting to meet you both and hearing all about your experiences in general and on this trip. Seven kids - that's a handful.

We'll definitely look you up when we are in New Hampshire next.

Warmly,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The accolades earned by this inn are well deserved, and I want to add my own. My wife and I were looking for a romantic weekend retreat from our two boys – our first real getaway in 4 years, so we decided on Newport and Cliffside Inn. Excellent choices on both accounts! The reviews we read about the property made the choice easy, and they were spot on. What really impressed us was the care and attention shown by every staff member we encountered. It was clear that that everyone wanted to make sure that we were enjoying our stay at the inn, and our visit to Newport. You could also tell that the owners (Bill and Nancy) and Tamara and Debbie were really "tuned in" to their guests. We noticed that as they talked with guests, they seemed to offer up different suggestions about things to do in Newport for different people. We talked at breakfast, and compared notes, with the others at our table about their knack for listening and then making suggestions. We stayed in the Loft, a delightful room on the 3rd floor with wood beamed ceilings, a super-comfortable bed, skylights from which we could see the stars at night, and a gorgeous spa bathroom with a large whirlpool bath. The breakfasts were sumptuous and the wine tasting in the evening was a nice way to end the day’s activities in Newport before going out to dinner. Don’t miss out – this is a wonderful place!

Room Tip: Loved the Loft and its beautiful spa bathroom
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingwithDandS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

We are so glad that you chose the Cliffside Inn for your getaway. You kids sound great, but it was clear you needed some time alone and we are so happy that you had a wonderful and relaxing weekend. Thank you so much for all of your kind words. Obviously, we can't always get it right but we are really glad that you noticed the efforts we take to make each guests the best it can be.

Next time you need a break, we will find you more exciting things to do in Newport.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed in the tower suite for 2 nights after our wedding and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The 2 floor suite was immaculate and the jet tub was a perfect way to relax after our amazing wedding the night before. As this was our first trip to Newport we spent the day exploring and looked forward to coming back to the turndown service that included homemade cookies. The breakfast was fresh, made to order and absolutely delicious. We will be returning to Newport to finish our Mansion tour and plan to stay at The Cliffside inn again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. Congratulations again! What an exciting time in both of your lives. It sounds like it was a great wedding and you both seem so happy.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile


This was our 5th visit to Newport, but our first stay at the Cliffside Inn. Friends of ours had raved about their visit, so we decided to break our tradition with another property in town and give Cliffside a try. We love the location, and I think we have found our new home in Newport! When you stay at a 5 star B&B you expect excellence, and Cliffside certainly had everything, and more, than we expected. There was something else about our stay here that just made it feel special. It is hard to put your finger on it – it’s just a feeling you get when everything has been so well thought out, and there are pleasant surprises at every turn, and it all feels very natural. We stayed in the Carriage House, a detached building with a private entrance. After getting a tour of the inn and a description of the day’s activities, we were escorted to our room. We just smiled to each other as we walked in; the four poster bed (very comfortable sleep), the fireplace, the classical music playing, the sliding barn door to the enormous bathroom, the cathedral ceiling and an antique ceiling fan, soothing colors, comfortable furnishings, the bay window looking to the ocean by day and the fire pit by night – nicely done! I don’t want to make this sound like an Academy Awards speech, but thanks to everyone who made this our best stay in Newport -Tamara, Nancy, Jackie, Debby, Bill (the owner), “T” and Nichole. We have already booked our next visit this fall.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DutchessCooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Well, we can't wait for the Duke and the Dutchess to return. It was so wonderful having you here. Your love for each other made the whole staff smile. It is just a fabulous feeling to know we made you stay so great.

Looking forward to having you back with us this summer - it will be Cliffside Inn, the Sequel!

Warmly,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

You really have to try the Cliffside Inn if you are going to Newport. We read all the reviews for the top inns before making our choice to stay here for our mini-moon. From the moment we arrived, everything just felt right. The inn is beautiful and the attention to detail is apparent everywhere you look. We were welcomed like returning friends, by Tamara who escorted us and our bags to the Beatrice Room and gave us a brief description of all of the amenities in our room so that we would get the most out of it. When we came back downstairs an hour later, we were just in time for a delightful gathering of guests for a wine and delectable hors d’oeuvres reception hosted by Bill and Nancy, the owners. Everyone was so comfortable and there were conversations, as among old friends, taking place everywhere. Nancy and Debbie were helping guests select restaurants for dinner and Bill was answering questions about the history of the home. When we returned from dinner, our room as turned down, with a hand-painted tablet on the dresser congratulating us on our marriage. There were rose pedals on the bed, soft music playing and their decadent Fondelé cookies bedside (ask for the recipe). The breakfasts each day were plentiful, varied and beautifully presented. My husband avoids gluten so Chef Jackie prepared gluten-free muffins and a gluten-free version of the day’s breakfast special. The inn is super clean, (more like immaculate), and the staff is attentive, friendly and well informed. Our only regret is that we hadn’t arranged to take a little more time off from work to extend our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandytravels101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We really enjoyed having you both here for your mini-moon. It was great hanging out at the fire pit with you and the other guests as well. You had one of the funniest wedding cup stories we've ever had. Debbie will never be able to tell the story the same again.

Looking forward to many more visits.

Warmly,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The reason why my husband and I picked this bed & breakfast was due to the overwhelming number of "excellent" reviews on trip advisor. Everything positive you read about this place is true. My husband and I have been to several b&bs, but Cliffside Inn has by far been the best experience we've had. The owners were nothing but inviting, personable, helpful, accommodating and great people to be around. The room we stayed in was unbelievable. Pure bliss. The location is perfect. Although we went in the winter, we walked into town each day and walked right down the hill to the cliff walk. The breakfast was absolutely delicious. Everything about this bed and breakfast was truly amazing! We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

How delightful it was for us to read your review a few months after your stay with us. Winter is indeed a unique time in Newport - but I don't think the town has a bad season, there is always something special and spectacular to do, see or eat.

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully, you will return soon in the warmer weather. The rest of the Cliff Walk is set to reopen on June 13th and I know you will enjoy completing it.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
671 reviews
0.9 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
600 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#7 of 21 in Newport
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: £199 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing