We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappoints”
Review of Cliffside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cliffside Inn
Ranked #2 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Never disappoints”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have stayed at the Cliffside Inn about 4 times. They have been through a few owners since our first visit. I have to say that this was the first time that we ever had the pleasure to actually meet and interact with the owners. Bill and Nancy go out of their way to make you feel right at home. The Inn still looks as good as it did 20 years ago. Actually better. Bill and Nancy have made some very nice additions, like the wrap around porch and wonderful air conditioners. We were able to have a lovely breakfast on the porch. (the only thing I would add are some comfortable chairs or rockers on the porch for those that want to curl up for awhile with a good book) The rooms are beautiful. Great showers. Nancy and Bill were very helpful in suggesting great local restaurants and attractions. You have the Cliff Walk just a few steps away. B&B is the way to go in Newport. And Cliffside never disappoints.

Room Tip: We originally were in Adele room but because of air conditioning problems ended up in Grosvenor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darkstar54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us. We had so much fun getting to know you and your friends. What a great group of people. We are really glad that you came back to the Cliffside again and that you "approve" of all the changes that we've made to the inn. She is a beautiful place.

Things are kicking into full swing with summer now. You almost wouldn't recognize the town from just a few weeks ago when you were here.

Hopefully, we will see you again soon.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,041
    26
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
71
862
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newington, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was our second visit to the Cliffside Inn. We spent a night a year ago and decided to come back to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. The Inn itself is fantastic! It is impeccably maintained and the room we stayed in was spacious yet cozy. The staff from the owners, the innkeepers, and the cleaning staff were all very friendly and welcoming.

My husband and I highly recommend that if a couple is looking for a relaxing, romantic getaway in Newport, look no further than the Cliffside Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
It was so wonderful to have you back at the Cliffside Inn. We are honored that you chose us for your 10th anniversary celebration. I hope that you will be making this an annual event!

We appreciate you taking the time to review us. It means so much to us and the staff that you had a great stay.

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

When we decided that we wanted to stay at a Bed and Breakfast during our trip to Newport we had no idea that, in choosing the Cliffside Inn, we would be turning our weekend getaway into an an amazingly romantic mini vacation. From the moment Inn Keeper Nancy checked us in, we knew we were in for something special. The room was absolutely gorgeous with a beautiful view of the garden. The wine reception was spectacular, and this is where we truly met Nancy and Bill. Two of the most generous, kind and sociable Inn Keepers we have ever met. They gave us some great advice on where to go and what sights to see while in the quaint little harbor town. The next morning continued with a fabulous breakfast, and then off to see some of the historic manisions Newport is famous for. The Cliffside Inn is by far the most beautiful B&B we have ever stayed at, with the best staff to top it all off. Highly highly recommend to anyone wanting the best of everything in Newport.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankN312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
It was so lovely having the two of you here with us. What a wonderful weekend you chose for your stay. We are so glad that you enjoyed the Sun Room. I just love the steam shower in that room.

Thank you for all of your wonderful comments. I hope you will bring your girlfriend back for the next special event!

Best,
Nancy, Bill and Koty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Staying here is perfect for experiencing this side of Newport. It is on the famous walk, minutes from the beach and itself a very important artifact from the Gilded Age with an original and fascinating story to tell. The ambiance is note perfect, the hospitality from staff and owners adequate, breakfast and evening drinks delicious. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Marie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Newport does have a fantastic history, doesn't it? We are so glad that you enjoyed the town and your experience at the Cliffside Inn. It was wonderful to meet you and your mother and hope she's enjoying her time here from Australia. We hope if you get to Newport again, you will stay with us.

Warmly,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Nancy and Bill are wonderful hosts! We were soo pleasantly surprised on how beautiful, charming and peaceful the Inn is. Nancy and Bill and all who we met at the Inn were friendly, kind and very respectful. We enjoyed our stay soo much, that we extended for one additional night! Definately a place we will return to next month. The room was clean, comfortable, relaxing and absolutely decorated beautifully. The welcome wine on day one with relaxing music and candles in the room was such a nice welcoming and calming touch. The evening turn down service was just as wonderful. The breakfast each morning was a great treat and so tasty (better than any restaurant). Everything was just SUPER! Thank you Cliffside Inn for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Minibells1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
It was so wonderful to have the three of you here. Mini bells is a delight and everyone is looking forward to having her (and both of you) back next month. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time in the Seaview Suite - you are going to love the Atlantic Suite too.

See you in a few weeks. Koty will have his summer cut by then - you won't recognize him.

Warmly,
Nancy, Bill and Koty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My husband and spend a few days in Newport mid-May 2014, we had diner at the Cliffside Inn one night, the view is just breahttaking, the food was excellent, and the service hight class. Looking and listening at the ocean waves breaking on the rock below while having a nice glass of wine, is a memory for ever, was really hard to get up and leave. The mansion is from the early 1900, beautifull, beautifull.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. While the Cliffside Inn does have wonderful epicurean delights, unfortunately, we do not have a restaurant. I wonder if you might be thinking of the Chanler or Ocean Cliff. Both are beautiful spots to go for dinner. We would love to have you stay with us the next time you are in Newport!

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We were completely impressed yet comfortable at the Cliffside Inn. The personal interest in the guests and the quality of the accommodations made it a wonderful stay. The way that this Inn is run just makes being there a unique pleasure. Each thing you notice during your stay makes you smile and say "this is the way it should be!".

Room Tip: The Loft is a luxurious treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and for spending your anniversary at the Cliffside Inn. I agree with you about the Loft, it is really a wonderful room; so cozy yet luxurious. We are so glad you enjoyed your time in Newport. It is starting to get busy here now and summer is surely on its way.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
597 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
392 reviews
0.8 mi away
Francis Malbone House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Property: Cliffside Inn
Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing