We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the truly great B&B's in America!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cliffside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cliffside Inn
Ranked #2 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of the truly great B&B's in America!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is a wonderful getaway if you are traveling to the Jamestown/Newport area. The Cliffside Inn is right on the historic Cliff Walk and full of history, beautiful artwork by Beatrice Turner, and wonderfully appointed. We stayed in the Tower Suite which has it's own entrance, and a flight of stairs to the bed, the bathroom is on the ground floor. It was like staying in a lighthouse. Great window bench seat to look out to the ocean or just read a book. The food was excellent including breakfast and a happy hour everyday. All the staff was friendly and always willing to share advice on attractions, restaurants, and must see sights. If you are going to go Newport Mansion touring like we did, plan on 3-4 mansions a day. You won't be able to get in much more than that and do the mansion any justice. Take your time! Bill & Nancy, owners of the Cliffside Inn, will be waiting for you when you return with wine and Hors d'oeuvres for a nice little happy hour before you head out to dinner.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twogr8danes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you so much. It is wonderful guests like you that make us strive to always be the best we can be! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay (and the Tower Suite). I'm glad you were able to enjoy the nice July weather too! I'm sure it is much different than Kansas.

Thanks again for all of your kind words. It means a lot to us and the staff.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,015
    26
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
71
841
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fleming Island, Florida
Level Contributor
123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here July 1st thru the 7th. We stayed in the Grosvenor Suite on the 2nd floor. The suite has an abundance of room with a huge bathroom. Nancy and Bill are wonderful folks and are delightful to know. They both are most hospitable,and will go the extra mile to make your stay there an enjoyable one. The staff at Cliffside are all very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are just great, and we looked forward to each one. They are gourmet breakfasts with plenty of offerings. Each evening, there is a reception with wine and non-alcoholic drinks and hors d' oeuvres. Nancy and Bill have a wealth of local knowledge that we relied upon for restaurant recommendations, and local attractions. The Inn is just a block from Cliff Walk, and my wife and I walked along it every morning before breakfast. To see The Breakers in the early morning is a sight to behold. We both highly recommend Cliffside Inn to anyone staying in Newport. It is in a quieter part of town just far enough away from the traffic and tourists of the Thames street area. We enjoyed going back to Cliffside in the afternoon to unwind from the Thames street and Bellevue Ave. attractions.

Room Tip: I would recommend a suite if your stay will be longer than 2 nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
It took me a few days to stop looking for you on the porch at breakfast! It was so lovely to have you both here. You were definitely some of the most active guests we've ever had and it was wonderful to watch you explore the City by the Sea!

We really appreciate your kind words and hope if your travels bring you back up north, we will see you again.

Warmly,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Innkeepers Nancy and Bill and their staff did an unbelievable job of making our stay one we will never forget. Cozy, intimate and romantic with a delicious breakfast the Inn we enjoyed the setting on the Cliff but close enough to town for a nice easy walk. My fear of divulging just how great our stay was is fear of not being able to book a room the next time we decide to go!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We really enjoyed having the two of you here and were so glad that we could host your relaxing get away. The Beatrice Room is the perfect setting for that. I'm glad that we were able to book restaurants that would allow to bring your special bottles of wine with you too.

We are looking forward to a return visit from you both.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

My wife and I decided to vacation to the New England area to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. Rather than stay in Boston the entire stay, we decided to look for something out of a movie or magazine setting. Fortunately, we hit a home run with our decision to stay at Cliffside Inn 2 nights. We stayed in the cottage that is separated from the main building. It was absolutely gorgeous. Bill and Nancy were absolutely perfect hosts, taking time to visit with guests and ensuring we had everything we needed. The breakfasts were fantastic, something that you would expect to get in an upscale restaurant. We will be coming back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn4714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
One of the best things about the innkeeping business is getting to celebrate with people. Thank you for allowing us to be part of your 40th wedding anniversary celebration. That is really a remarkable thing and you two are a fantastic couple.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed the Carriage House. It is such a unique room.

I hope the rest of your anniversary trip went well. We do hope you'll make it back up to the northeast soon. It's too hot in Texas this time of year!

All the best,
Nancy and Bill (and Koty)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This was our first visit to Cliffside and we will definitely be back. Perfect location just off the Cliff Walk. Bill and Nancy were terrific hosts; very friendly but not intrusive. Breakfast every morning was a hot entree, along with a buffet of muffins, yogurt with fresh granola, fresh fruit and juices. We ate our breakfast on the front porch, which was a wonderful way to start the day. My husband and I stayed in the Tower Suite, which was very clean, comfortable and spacious. The bedroom is on the upper level, with a large window seat overlooking the water, and the bathroom is on the lower level. There was even a small refrigerator, which was not listed on the website and was a welcome surprise. I would recommend that if you plan to stay in the Tower Suite, you may want to pack a sleep mask as it was quite sunny in the room in the morning. Loved the room and would choose to stay in the same one again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TraciMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you so much for choosing the Cliffside Inn for your 20th wedding anniversary celebration. It was so wonderful to have you both here. We enjoyed seeing how much you loved Newport and all it has to offer.

Wishing you many more happy anniversaries and hoping to see you again soon.

Warmly,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

This was our third time at the Cliffside and our fourth visit to Newport. The Cliffside is perfect for us. Comfortable and elegant, with a location great for walking the cliff walk during the day time and close enough to walk into town for dinner at night.
The hosts are helpful and friendly without being intrusive. We look forward to visiting again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sjkyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
How wonderful it was to have the two of you back with us again! I can't believe you met Bill's cousin in Slovakia. What a small world.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate it, and your repeat business.

Looking forward to your next stay.
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We truly enjoyed our stay at this B&B, great celebration for us on our 40th Wedding Anniversary! Excellent staff that saw to our wants and needs. Highly recommend this location to anyone as this inn made for a great stay in Newport.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
As I said in my personal note to you, we are so thrilled that you chose the Cliffside Inn for your 40th wedding anniversary. You two must have been married in the cradle! We had such a wonderful time sharing your special trip with you. I hope the rest of it went as well as your time in Newport. We wish you many, many more happy years together.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
3.2 mi away
OceanCliff Hotel
OceanCliff Hotel
#17 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Property: Cliffside Inn
Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing