We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Beautiful B and B”
Review of Cliffside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliffside Inn
Ranked #2 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Warm and Beautiful B and B”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Cliffside Inn for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. From the moment we arrived we felt very welcomed. Debbie immediately asked us our dinner plans for our stay, offering suggestions if needed, and showing us on a map where we had already reserved. She personally walked us to the Cliff Suite in the Seaview Cottage where we stayed and showed us how everything worked.The suite was made up of three rooms plus a large bathroom with a jacuzzi tub. The location adjacent to the Cliff Walk was stunning. Every evening at 5 the owners Bill and Nancy host a happy hour with wine and delicious homemade snacks. They were there to chat and offer any advice about things to do in Newport. The morning breakfasts on the patio were delicious with fruit, muffins and eggs prepared in various ways. Truly an exceptional place to stay and we definitely plan to return.

Room Tip: The cottage is across the lawn from the main guest house so although you are a little removed, you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klk523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
We are so glad you chose the Cliffside Inn for your anniversary get away. It was great to have you here and we are so happy that you enjoyed the Cliff Suite. It was also great to get to know you during the wine hour. We do hope that you will plan a return trip soon.

Warmly,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,049
    26
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
72
869
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We spent a two nights break at Cliffside Inn and we confirm all positive reports. Nancy and Bill and the entire staff took care of us: Bill helped me to take a very heavy luggage up to the top of the stairs. We stayed in St. George's suite and our room was perfect with a remarkable marble bathroom.
For sure we will recommend Cliffside Inn to any of our friends planning to go to Newport.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paolo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Paolo - it was so lovely to have you and Claudia stay with us. We really love having overseas visitors and you two were so delightful. I hope that you will return to Newport to stay with us again soon.

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Our stay at the cliffside inn was perfect. The location is excellent with a neighborhood feel and just steps to the cliff walk. The breakfasts are amazing. We stayed in the Sun Room and it was perfect. The steam shower with aromatherapy was to die for. Bill made some great recommendations for exploring Newport. We will definitely stay here again when we come back!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alee514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
We are always thrilled to hear that we've exceeded our reputation. We truly enjoyed having you with us. People often wonder about the steam shower in the summer, but I think it is great any time of year. That aroma therapy is just so dang relaxing.

We look forward to a future visit.

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow MA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Our August vacation at the Cliffside was our 3rd vacation there this year. The primary reason we go to the Cliffside is we are able to bring out little dog Mini-Bells. The third time around it felt like we were visiting family. Bill, Nancy, Tamara and Debbie (and the rest of the staff) were so welcoming - what a great bunch of people who obviously love what they do and do it so well! The accommodations have been perfect every time and the breakfast (oh the breakfast), let me say - heavenly! We are hoping to go back one more time in October for a night or two. Excellent job and kudos to the Cliffside Inn. See you again soon!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulStic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
You know we love that little dog like she was our own. . . and you and Linda too! It is always a pleasure to have the three of you here with us. I hope you can work things out for October. It is a great time of year in Newport. Great weather and everything is still open.

Warmly,
Nancy, Bill and Koty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My husband and I had a fabulous time at the Cliffside Inn this past weekend in the St. George room. The minute you enter the Inn you feel comfortable and relaxed. The staff and owners of the Inn were very friendly, attentive and very helpful with suggestions and recommendations on where to eat or what to do. The location was absolutely perfect for what we were looking to do. My husband and I enjoyed the beautiful and scenic cliff walk while looking at all of the gorgeous mansions. We were provided beach chairs and towels to enjoy the beach that was within walking distance from the hotel. We also were able to walk down to the Longwharf area to shop and eat dinner.

Overall, it was a beautiful place, in a perfect location, run by a great group of people, in a beautiful beach town, that offers numerous fun things to do and see.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor in the St. George. It had skylights, a gorgeous two person shower, a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juno44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
How great is was to have you both here! I'm glad you had a little down time before your husband arrived. Although I thought you might wear a hole in that Cliff Walk! It was lovely getting to know you both and watching you enjoy your time in Newport.

I hope that you will make it back to the Cliffside for a future visit. Thank you so very much for your lovely review.

All the best,
Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Cliffside Inn was the perfect spot for a long overdue reunion with my sister! We stayed in the guest house, where there was a pullout bed in the separate sitting room. There was a beautiful two-way fireplace that the sitting room shared with the HUGE bathroom! Oh that bathroom! There was a shower, a HUGE jetted tub, and a LOT of square footage! And Bill and Nancy had filled the rooms with fresh flowers from the lovely gardens! They were the perfect hosts, and Bill was the breakfast cook one morning! We dined on the MAHOGANY wrap-around porch. The delicious food was accompanied by our own pot of French press coffee. We had a special tour of several of the guest rooms, and I cannot wait to return for a romantic weekend in the Inn proper, with my husband!

Room Tip: Bill and Nancy are known for their attention to detail and would be more than willing to help you se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We are looking forward to having you and your husband with us for a future visit. We are so glad that you enjoyed the Atlantic Suite. It is really lovely and I love the big picture window and the large bathroom too.

Thank you so much for the very kind review and bring your husband back soon . . . or come back with your lovely sister again.

Warmly,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Our recent stay at the Cliffside Inn was fabulous! When we walked into the Inn, we felt like we were walking into someone's home; very warm and inviting! The staff was very attentive and personally walked us to our accommodations. We stayed in the Cliff Suite in the Seaview Cottage. The room, actually three-room suite which included a very large bathroom was stunning! The decor and attention to detail was amazing! We very much enjoyed the happy hour which included fine wine and snacks. The cookies left in our suite that evening was such a special extra touch! We did not expect the large morning breakfast, which this particular morning included homemade frittata's, fresh fruit, danish, and more, including delicious french pressed coffee! After breakfast we took a nice walk on the Cliffwalk...just seconds from the Inn. Nancy and Bill are very hands-on Innkeepers and such a pleasure to be around! You can tell they love what they do and it shows in every aspect of the Inn! Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer, but we will next time! Thank you for such a lovely stay at one of the finest B&B's we've had the pleasure to visit!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo Ann Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We had such a great time having the three of you here. Sharing a glass of wine on the porch with you was like being with old friends. We could have chatted all night . . . and we almost did!

Please plan on a longer stay the next time. There are so many things in Newport that I think you will really enjoy.

Hope to see you again soon.
Nancy, Bill and Koty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,992 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
628 reviews
0.9 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
580 reviews
0.8 mi away
Francis Malbone House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Property: Cliffside Inn
Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing