We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location and Friendly Staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victorian Ladies Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victorian Ladies Inn
Ranked #22 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sandown, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Location and Friendly Staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed with my boyfriend and appreciated the friendly staff welcome and morning greeting. It is a nice location between walkable areas of 1st beach and downtown. It's easy to navigate to to stay out of traffic. Room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runaway_42470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    60
    13
    5
    7
See reviews for
21
170
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this B&B with my wife during our honeymoon. The room was nice and clean and a decent size.

In the afternoon tea and biscuits were put out which was nice. The breakfast was very good and was nice to have a choice off the menu.

The only drawback was it lacked the friendly atmosphere that we'd come to expect from other places we've been in New England/

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was a wedding gift from someone in our wedding party - for our 1 year Anniversary. Despite some confusion regarding the reservation (our friend made the reservation a year in advance and didn't send us the confirmation, so not the fault of the Inn) everything was lovely!
They don't do the gardens enough justice!! My husband is a plant nerd and this was so perfect for him - along with a lovely koi pond. The gardens made it a perfect location to get away from the hustle and bustle of downtown and enjoy a glass of wine. The Inn was close enough to literally everything, we were able to walk everywhere really easily and the inn keepers were helpful when our feet were tired and we needed to call a cab. Breakfast was very good and super convenient. The rooms were clean and everything was provided for us.

Room Tip: Leopold was lovely - but shares the second floor with another room where you can here comings and go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chesa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed three nights and found our room to be specious, clean and, most importantly, the bed was really comfortable. Breakfast was very tasty, particularly the Eggs Newport, with coffee plentiful and hot. Our hosts, Harry and Cindy were gracious and friendly, and gave us wonderful suggestions of places to go and restaurants to try. Their tips made our trip that much more special, and helped us move beyond the touristy to see some of the out of the way places of Newport.

Room Tip: Pauline is a wonderful room for two. It's big enough so that you don't feel like you are on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed for three nights in mid-May. The property was just as the photos online and was very comfortable with a great location just near Belleview Avenue. The delicious breakfast was very good, particularly the crab cakes but painfully slow service more than once was disappointing and not up to the standard the inn seemed to have set itself.

Our breakfast was swiftly served by the sole staff member on day one. On days two and three there were three people on duty and yet poached eggs took 20 minutes to arrive on both occasions and two of the staff seemed to be doing very little useful work other than wandering around empty-handed chatting aimlessly! We had to ask for our order to be taken after sitting with menus for quite some time, then nothing arrived after a lengthy wait so we reminded them that we had actually ordered a hot breakfast, and we had to ask for coffee refills. We ended up having wasted over an hour waiting for and then eating breakfast on both days before we could head out site-seeing.

I don't expect or indeed want a rushed, business-style, grab-it-and-go breakfast on holiday/vacation, but with three staff and only about 12 guests there seems no excuse for not having the order taken within a couple of minutes, food cooked to order and served promptly and as a result, a lovely, relaxing breakfast. Really disappointing considering the otherwise excellent reviews for this property.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank History-Boy-Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South bound brook
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were here for the chowder cook-off and stayed only 1 night at the B&B. we stayed in the Edward room. The room was clean and spacious. The bed very comfortable. The only "complaint" that we had was that the window air conditioning unit needed to be clean. Easy fix. The bathroom was spotless. The gardens are beautiful. A wonderful place to relax and enjoy a drink. The breakfast was amazing. I was shocked at how great the breakfast was with so much food and so many choices. The location is perfect. Right up the hill from the beach and right down the hill to Thames. The staff was super friendly but not fake/overly friendly. Had some good conversations with them. We highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ncshop72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

The Victorian Ladies Inn staff was wonderfully friendly. Breakfast of porched eggs and crab cake was just excellent. We had it two days in a row. Tea time, cookies, and crumb cake made the afternoon. Location is quite good as well.

The place is very quaint, but it is afterall an old place that is as well maintained as possible by the owners, but the room we stayed in for two nights, Caroline Room, had window shutters that don't work and room was very bright the minute the day light appeared which was tough for west coast guests. The room was small and stuffy but opening the window resulted in echoes of street noise. The toilet seat would not stay up in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a lower floor if possible as staircases are very tight and there are no elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Visitor1284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.5 mi away
Ivy Lodge
Ivy Lodge
#11 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adele Turner Inn
Adele Turner Inn
#28 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#5 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#12 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.6 mi away
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
#6 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.7 mi away
Artful Lodger Inn
Artful Lodger Inn
#20 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Ladies Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Ladies Inn

Property: Victorian Ladies Inn
Address: 63 Memorial Blvd., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Victorian Ladies Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Ladies Inn, a traditional new England Bed and Breakfast is comprised of three buildings in a small compound, cojoined by gardens with bridges and ponds. We are members of the Diamond Collection and chosen among the best inns in New England. We are within walking distance of the sea, the cliff walk, the mansions, and downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Victorian Ladies Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian Ladies Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing