We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of Europe in Newport”
Review of America's Cup Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
America's Cup Inn
Ranked #29 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We had a very nice stay at this hotel. The breakfast that was served was not your typical continental breakfast but was cheese, cold cuts, eggs, etc. The staff couldn't have been nicer. The inn is located on a side street right in downtown Newport. Our room was nicely appointed and very comfortable. It seemed a little pricey but the Newport International bout show was being held during our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

This Inn is well located on a small side street just off a larger road that has lots of shops. It's a short walk from the docks and fine restaurants, so you don't need to drive and pay again for parking. They serve a very nice breakfast in 2 comfortable rooms and the inn has a European feel to it. Cookies, cakes, tea and coffee are served in the late afternoon there as well. The sleeping rooms are not up to date but clean and comfortable. Rooms can be small but a mini suite/kitchenette is also available. The staff is very pleasant and welcoming. Parking is just across the road but the cost will seem high to some at $24 per day. You can buy stamps for the car park ticket at a lower rate of $18 per day at the hotel front desk. The parking lot system seems odd but the hotel staff can explain how it works.

Room Tip: We weren't pleased with a small room and got an upgrade to one with a kitchenette at no extra ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackX729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The shower has good water pressure, and the break fast looks good. But looks can be deceiving and water pressure is supplied by the town.

There is nothing really wrong with this hotel. It is massively overpriced, even by Newport summer tourist standards.

The room was large, the carpet dirty. The hall carpet was also dirty; there was a piece of plastic in the hall and a piece of toilet paper on the stairs when we checked in and it was still there when we checked out 3 days later.

Regarding the breakfast spread, it is a wide assortment of fruits, juices, bread, cold cuts, and cold eggs. Well actually, most things were about room temperature, It appears that they put stuff out on display at the start and just leave it there. Cold/room temperature omelets were not very appealing, And the same ones were there 2 hours later. How long can you leave food that should be served hot or cold at room temperature?

We mentioned where we were staying to a server at a local restaurant, he said everyone refers to the America's Cup Inn as the "Hotel of Last Resort" or "Sucker Central". He said everyone knows it is overpriced and that it is frequently the only hotel in Newport with Vacancy even on the busiest days of the year.

The hotel has no read "ZERO" parking. They do offer a discount at the public parking lot across the street. The normal in season parking price is $25/day and the hotel only charges $18 / day; with unlimited in / out. Unfortunately since it is a public lot, they do not "hold" places. So we when we took advantage of the In / Out; we were told there was no room in the lot when we returned. Leaving us to find street parking or use another fee lot.

If you have low expectations or a "money is no object" attitude, the America's Cup Inn will be fine. Save the noise, lack of views, and uncertain parking. If you expect value for your money look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Very few rooms have a view. just the ones on the front of the property. I do not know if a reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LastSecondTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My wife and I decided to stay here at the last minute before heading off to The Cape the next day. We found the hotel, our room, and staff all to be quite charming. It is obviously a historic building, and we really enjoyed that aspect of the property. The location couldn't be better.

They were kind enough to recommend a great bike ride through scenic newport, and the european style continental breakfast was amazing.

Overall the entire stay reminded me of a very cute hotel we stayed at in Paris last year. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vorzyzko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is an over priced hotel, gouging, noisy (on the street) 4 th rate hotel who capitalizes on Newport, RI and soaks people in season. The ac in the room are old and noisy, shower leaked and couldn't be fixed until Monday, we were there on the weekend.

Room Tip: Since this is 1 ft from the sidewalk, 6 ft from Harley's and trucks, no room is a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donnyhornung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is not a high end luxury hotel, but it is a clean, eclectic, comfortable, family owned business. It has it's charms and the location can't be beat. The included breakfast is good and the staff its accommodating. I would recommend it for anyone that's conscious of their budget and seeking value and comfort over luxury.

Room Tip: No elevator so if stairs are a problem let them know ahead of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I don't get to stay at a lot of Bed and Breakfast Inns, so I was completely charmed and delighted here. I stayed here with a friend for a couple nights in August and I enjoyed it very much. The buffet breakfast served had something for everyone and everything was very tasty and nicely displayed. This inn was perfectly located if you want to be close to the stores, the boats, the water ... you can just walk everywhere. The people at the desk where all extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were (again) charming and clean. After reading another review about this inn that claimed it was "musty" smelling, I disagree. It was all very comfortable. Trying to think of something that may be a little negative, I would say there should be more light in the bathroom, and the TVs could be a little bigger. But all in all, I enjoyed this inn very much and would stay here again and hope to do so!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CyndyAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.3 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
2,056 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#8 of 21 in Newport
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Yankee Peddler Inn
Yankee Peddler Inn
#28 of 95 in Newport
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melville House
Melville House
#62 of 95 in Newport
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelham Court Hotel
Pelham Court Hotel
#25 of 95 in Newport
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to America's Cup Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Cup Inn

Address: 6 Mary St, Cnr Thames and Mary Street, Newport, RI 02840-3028
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: £67 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — America's Cup Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your America's Cup Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Cup Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing