We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Nice Inn”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of America's Cup Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
America's Cup Inn
Ranked #24 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Very Nice Inn”
Reviewed 13 November 2009

I stayed here for two nights while my husband was in between regattas in the area. We had a room on the second floor. The check in process was very easy. You can park in the lots across the street and the hotel can provide a validation.

The room, while nothing fancy, was nicely appointed. Being right on the street level, we had to keep the curtains shut for privacy, but that wasn't a huge deal. The location is great, right by the many shopping and restaurant choices in Newport. The innkeepers are friendly and helpful. Each morning there was a nice buffet breakfast with many choices.

I would stay here again, but with the many small-hotel/inn choices in Newport, I might also explore.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salex19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    77
    31
    18
    11
See reviews for
46
99
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Couldn't ask for more. I go to Newport once or twice per year, staying at different hotels and by far my experience at America's Cup Inn was the best. The staff were very friendly, always covering all our needs. The breakfast was really good, variety of food, something for everybody and the room is so cozy. The lady in charge of it is very kind and sweet.
The Inn is beautiful, clean, our room had a nice scent, very welcoming aroma. Nice view of Thames Street the place to be, right in the center of everything, can't ask for a better location. Really we felt like we own the place or a friend invited us to stay at their home. I will for now on go back to the Inn everytime I go to Newport. :)

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebmnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Stayed one night on our way through Newport. The location is great - can walk to everything (shopping, bars, good restaurants). The place is older....If that is a turn off, stay elsewhere.
They said they served breakfast, but we got nothing......
They comped our parking in lieu of the breakfast though.
No overnight attendant - so we were virtually alone on our stay. Only guests in the hotel. Odd.
Again, the location makes it great.....

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We stayed in the hotel for one night only for the 4th of July weekend. I read the reviews, and people say it is outdated, but I liked the style. Yeah, it does remind you of grandma's house, but I loved it. Very "new englandy". Kind of old mansion style. The hotel is right next to the visitor's center and close to all the action which was ideal for us as we traveled without a car and just took a bus from Boston. The rooms were clean, no tv - but who needs a tv in Newport? The coolest thing - the best brunch buffet I've ever seen.
There is a J.Crew store very close by that has a parking lot for 10 bucks for all day.

We took a trip to the Second beach, for $1.50 - there are flex buses leaving every two hours from the visitor center two min away from the hotel. You can also take a trolley to the Cliff Walk and mansions.

I think the hotel was expensive but so is everything in Newport. I enjoyed the stay and would come back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dincola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

I had passed this place several times during trips to Newport. I gravitated towards it this time because it does have a great location. First off, it is outdated. The carpets are dirty, the furniture is old. Second, I was mislead about parking. I was told there was parking at a lot across the street. I asked how difficult it would be to get a space, because this is downtown Newport afterall. I was told it was never a problem. It is. When we went to park, there were no spaces and after waiting more than 15 minutes to see if one opened up, we had to find parking further away. Third, the person who I was told was the owner could not have been more unwelcoming. When I left, he never asked if I enjoyed my stay nothing. He didn't even say good morning when I came down the stairs. He just looked at me and didn't say anything until I told him I was checking out. Additionally, it was very noisy. I understand the outside noise because it is downtown. The issue is the noise coming from other rooms. Lastly, I felt safety was an issue. No one is there after 1:30am and there is no indication of who you should call if you have a problem.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MBTravels73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2009

I stayed here for a romantic weekend with my husband. We chose this hotel because of its location.

The decor in the rooms is quite dated and is overdue for an update. It kind of reminds me of staying at my Grandmother's house. The walls, lamps, curtains and even the trash can were covered in an ivy pattern. There was no TV, which I didn't mind. Our bed was large and comfortable. The room was stuffy but had a somewhat noisy air conditioner which made the room more comfortable. We appreciated the free wireless internet.

The hotel puts on a fantastic breakfast, however breakfast doesn't begin until 8AM. Since I woke up very early I wandered down to the Starbucks down the street to grab a coffee and a newspaper to keep my busy until breakfast started. It was worth the wait!

Overall, a lovely hotel. We would stay here again if we return to Newport.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slosydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2009

We could not have been more pleased with our stay at the America's Cup Inn (ACI). The Inn is centrally located not even 1 block off of the center of Thames St and is literally in the middle of the strip of restaurants and shops. The rooms were impeccable, well decorated and cozy. Our room did not have a tv which may be problematic if you are traveling with children but we didn't miss it you do, however, get free wifi. The staff was warm, accommodating, and friendly and the breakfast had options to please everyone. I highly recommend this Inn to anyone who wants to have a genuine Newport experience and we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mindex05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.1 mi away
Pilgrim House Inn
Pilgrim House Inn
#27 of 95 in Newport
100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#13 of 95 in Newport
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melville House
Melville House
#71 of 95 in Newport
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
#6 of 95 in Newport
363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burbankrose
Burbankrose
#34 of 95 in Newport
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to America's Cup Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Cup Inn

Property: America's Cup Inn
Address: 6 Mary Street, Cnr Thames and Mary Street, Newport, RI 02840
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — America's Cup Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your America's Cup Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Cup Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing