We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant experience!”
Review of Ivy Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ivy Lodge
Ranked #12 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manhattan, New York, United States
2 reviews
“A very pleasant experience!”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

My wife and I were on our honeymoon and picked the Ivy Lodge on kind of a whim. We were pleased from the first to our last day. Darlene and Daryl were very pleasant and informed us as to the many sites and restaurants we could enjoy. The room we had wasn't our original choice from photos we viewed but it was quite clean and cozy. The support staff was very hospitable and breakfast was a joyous surprise every morning. The location is great as it was near the mansions, cliff walk and eateries. Overall we highly recommend the Ivy Lodge and already have to friends here in NY. Daryl and Darlene have become our new friends of Newport and we look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    62
    6
    10
    12
See reviews for
67
360
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We didn't realize it was Jazz Festival weekend when we requested a room- fairly full, so we ended up in one of the un-photographed rooms on the third floor- I suspect it was originally servants' quarters, but it's been added to, and the Jacuzzi was lovely. (Had a fireplace, too, but was out of season for using it.) Great location, great breakfasts, lovely hosts. Definitely recommend this B&B. Label your wine though, if you use the common refrigerator- someone drank ours.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor isn't advertised, costs less, is only slightly smaller. Definitely worth booking e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcdinpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We chose this property based on the rave reviews and had such high hopes. However, with the exception of the lovely exterior presentation of the B&B we were SO disappointed from start to finish. Our room was tiny and hot~~a long way from perfect; our en-suite bathroom was moldy; breakfast was adequate but limited and nothing special and our hosts were self absorbed and unaccommodating.
For us, we feel we got Motel 6 accommodations for a 4-star hotel price.
Fortunately Newport, RI is a wonderful place and we are returning soon, though next time we will choose one of the many other B & B's.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Deeg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Stayed only one night but enjoyed our stay. Room was perfect. We got some great advise from Darlene on places to visit and a fantastic place for dinner. Ivy Lodge is in a great location close to the mansions and cliff walk. Enjoyed a delicious breakfast. It really turned out to be a wonderful place to stay. Got a super deal with their last minute specials.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberlin, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Ivy Lodge is a beautiful B&B in a great location. The staff is very helpful and the breakfasts are good. Off-season and during the week rates are good deals. Weekend rates are fair but on the higher end of the B&B market.

Room Tip: When calling, ask about available less expensive rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2011

My husband and I wanted to do something special and different for our first anniversary. Rather than deal with the headaches of travel (flights, accomodations, car rental, etc.), we decided to stay local but still somehow have the feeling of getting away. We live about an hour away from the Ivy Lodge so this was perfect.

We chose the Trunk Room because of its unique characteristics compared to the other rooms. It was bright, beautiful and so comfortable. We felt relaxed the minute we stepped into that room. As a surprise my husband ordered a dish of chocolate covered strawberries which was waiting for us in the room. They offer some very nice add-ons to make your stay even more special.

Our hosts Darlene and Daryl were very gracious and were more than willing to talk to us and answering any questions we had, and even offered to make reservations at any of the local restaurants. The staff were friendly and nice and had a never-ending supply of smiles for the guests.

One thing that pleasantly surprised us was the breakfasts. To us, we would consider their breakfasts gourmet. It was different every day and was absolutely delicious. We expected bagels, pastries, cereal and coffee but instead got all that, fresh fruit, yogurt and a unique fresh, hot meal. On our second day we couldn't wait to get downstairs to see what Daryl was cooking up for us!

I would highly recommend the Ivy Lodge. The sitting rooms were beautiful. There's a wraparound porch and a baby grand piano too, which you are welcome to play. Our hosts were so nice and helpful and were sincerely anxious to help in any way. We liked that the Thames Street area was within walking distance, but if you don't feel like walking, the drive is just a few minutes long. The Cliff Walk wa practically in their back yard and is a very quick walk from the B&B. But the Ivy Lodge is so pretty and comfortable, I had a very difficult time leaving each day to experience what Newport had to offer!

All in all, the Ivy Lodge has made our first anniversary very special and unforgettable. I'm so glad we chose the Ivy Lodge, and I made sure to tell everyone I know to consider it if they plan a stay in Newport.

Room Tip: Every room has a different theme. I strongly suggest you look at all of them on their website to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j-brinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

My husband and I recently spend 3 nights at the Ivy Lodge in the Trunk Room. It was one of the most comfortable, relaxing stays we've ever had in either a hotel or an inn. The room was more than adequate for our needs, and absolutely immaculate. The Lodge itself is brimming with modern renovations that in no way sacrifice any of its Victorian charm. Daryl, our host, was so friendly and helpful during our stay, that he seemed more like a family member than an innkeeper. The breakfasts were absolutely wonderful, and Daryl went out of his way to provide for my gluten free dietary requirements. We loved everything about the Ivy Lodge and will definitely go back again. I even enjoyed my conversations with the other guests, who were among the most congenial I have ever encountered on a vacation. Whenever we return to Newport, the Ivy Lodge will be the place for us!!!

Room Tip: There are 3 floors to Ivy Lodge, so if you have trouble with stairs, choose a room on the first or s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dreamwave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
597 reviews
0.9 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.6 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
390 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Lodge

Property: Ivy Lodge
Address: 12 Clay St, Newport, RI 02840-6902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ivy Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Newport's enchanted Gilded Age at historic Ivy Lodge. Located in Newport, Rhode Island's mansion district off famed Bellevue Avenue, The Ivy Lodge is just a short stroll to the mansions, downtown Newport, The Cliff Walk and the beaches. Period antiques and victorian accents throughout its rooms complete the newly-renovated home and gardens. The richly-detailed oak walls and fireplace hearths provide the quintessential Newport backdrop for a memorable experience in the City by the Sea. Explore our inn and discover Newport the way it was meant to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ivy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing