We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ivy Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Attwater(Newport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Viking(Newport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Gilded(Newport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveller rating
437
66
7
11
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
437
66
7
11
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturret roommansion districtthe cliffb bmy husband and iother guestsbreakfast was delicioushomemade granolagas fireplacebed and breakfastnewport mansionswithin walking distancewhirlpool tubthird floorshort walkeach morninggilded age
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 533 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We spent a night at this location. We can't wait to go back. It is a very nice old mansion 15 minutes walks from downtown. The host is very kind and very nice. They just bought the property but already know everything about Newport. He was able to tell us everything we needed for our stay in the city. The breakfast was nice too. You eat in the dining room where you share a huggge table with all the other guests making a nice start in the morning while discovering the other guests. Only issue, despite what is written on their website, the wifi is NOT available in the rooms. So you have to go in the lobby to check your email and stuff (we had the Magnolia Room).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricMToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivykeeper, Owner at Ivy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for your thoughtful review. We appreciate constructive feedback, and take it very seriously. It is the best way for us to get better, and improve the Inn. While we thought the WIFI upgrades made in May (cable speed and Router) resulted in strong WIFI throughout the Inn, it is clear now that it did not.

The Ivy Lodge is always looking to improve the guest experience, and we understand the importance of strong WIFI in each room. Your review led us to purchase a NEWGEAR WIFI range extender. The WIFI is now good throughout the Inn, and in particular the Magnolia room.

Thank you for helping us to get better.

Best Don and Jacqui Jursek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A few blocks off one of the main roads in Newport, the Ivy Lodge is a perfect retreat. From the lodge, it is a short walk to several top restaurants, and to the nearby mansions. The lodge owners have discount mansion tour tickets which is helpful. We walked the full distance to both the Breakers and Marblehead. The Elms is only two blocks away and has a great story. Don’t miss the Elms gardens and fountains around back by the carriage house. We recommend taking some craft beer or fine wine to enjoy while relaxing on the lodge’s large wraparound porch. The Ivy has beautiful landscaping and is full of singing birds playing in the birdbath. Our room was beautiful and very comfortable. The only area of improvement is to offer a few bikes for guests to borrow, but not having this perk wouldn’t keep us from returning. Be sure to experience walking through the front gate hedge.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our 3-night stay at the Ivy Lodge last week. The room was clean and comfortable. The location was excellent - within walking distance of restaurants and the Cliff Walk. The breakfasts were delicious! We were very impressed overall. Thanks Don!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronena914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We spent 2 nights at The Ivy Lodge June 6 to 8 and we like it very much. The outlook of the property is very appealing too. Our family of 4 stayed at the Satterlee Suite and it was really cosy and nice. I also enjoyed sitting in the terrace area on the rocking chair. The owner Don and Jackie were really helpful and we enjoyed every moment of our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank May912013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Owners Don & Jackie have done a terrific job restoring and maintaining this delightful place, just steps from the Breakers, Chateau sur Mer, Rosecliff and other mansions which you mustn't miss. See Gilded Age capitalism at its most excessive. Our family of 4 stayed in the 2-room Satterlee Suite, with a trundle-bed pull-out for the kids. The place is full of antiques. Nice hot breakfast served until 11 (they should add wine-and-cheese at happy hour). Warning about that: this town has Blue Laws, and you can't purchase liquor or wine Sundays after 6. Don kindly shared with us 2 bottles from his stash.

Room Tip: If there's more than 2 of you, splurge on a suite.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lalhasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews