We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A night in Newport”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ivy Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ivy Lodge
Ranked #12 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pavia, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A night in Newport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Extremely friendly staff, beautiful house and nice surroundings!
Unfortunately, we stayed there only 1 night, but we enjoyed it very much. The Ivy Lodge is located near the main mansions, but quite away from town, hence you might need to get the car to reach the main restaurants. The only mistake we made was to follow the advice of the staff regarding where to have dinner.. Breakfast was awesome!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHIARA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    62
    5
    10
    12
See reviews for
67
355
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I was traveling solo as a last minute trip away from it all. A friend recommended Newport. After doing about a day of research, I came across the Ive Lodge. Its new owners Don and Jackie were attentive, hospitable, and very helpful! Breakfast was wonderful, the room clean and lucky for me, the other guests were so friendly and engaging! The property and home itself was serene and gorgeous. Im looking so forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Recently stayed at the Ivy Lodge and found it enjoyable. Clean, comfortable room and bath, fresh fruit and granola offered with the delicious breakfast and gracious hosts. The location was close to the many attractions Newport offers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ocean966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paramus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I had always wanted to visit Newport. I found the Ivy Lodge by accident online. I was lucky to get a room for my husband and I since other places I found were all ready booked up. I was very pleased with how beautiful this old Victorian home is. Don and Jackie are the new owners of this B&B. They are very laid back and make you feel the same. The breakfasts are delicious and served at a long table that looks like Henry the V111 could have eaten there. Our room was very clean and I would recommend anyone to stay there. I also really loved the proximity to the mansions which is why we were visiting there. In off breakfast hours, there if fruit, chips and energy bars that are left out so generously for the taking. The décor is beautiful inside and out. Don was very helpful showing us the places not to miss in the area and the best beach to go to.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Our family, including our three teens, stayed at the Ivy Lodge for three nights last week. Our kids stayed in the Satterlee Suite which allowed our son to have his own little room away from our girls, and we had the Savannah Room directly above our kids. This lodge is a beautiful old mansion in it's own right. It is decorated with period antiques and is really something special. The location cannot be beat. It is a nice walk to many of the mansions, the Cliff Walk, and the downtown area. The Innkeepers were lovely; very helpful, and friendly. Breakfast was delicious each morning, and they offered snacks, tea, and coffee throughout the day. The rooms were very clean and well appointed. Another reviewer had noted a lack of wifi, but that issue has been remedied. We had wifi in each room. This place is so quiet, we thought we were the only ones in the b&b until we went down for breakfast and saw other guests. If we are ever back in Newport, we will stay at this charming place again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveljunkies87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangkok
Level Contributor
192 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We recently stayed at Ivy Lodge and very happy that we did. Don and his charming wife are new to the hospitality industry but seem very well suited. The room we occupied was most charming and quiet,the whole house is a gem of craftsmanship . The location for visiting the incredible mansions of Bellvue Avenue could not be better. My caveat is the communal breakfast table this might not suit that many people especially those on a romantic weekend. I was also disappointed that there was no choice for the hot breakfast a choice of savoury or sweet would be a good idea(this did happen on one morning but that was a fluke !)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manchesterianBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Ivy Lodge was a splurge for us before a long weekend on Block Island. This was our first American B&B. The house itself is stunning and imposing from the yard, the foyer is amazing with the woodwork and the rooms are classic B&B with plush bedding and rich finishes. The assistant innkeeper checked us in and gave us a brief tour - the rest of the guests were quiet and turned in early. The inn is close to the Cliff Walk and about a 20 minute walk from the downtown area of Newport. We came home and enjoyed a bottle of wine on the porch before going to bed. Available to the guests are tea/coffee and light snacks throughout the day. Our room was very comfortable; the bathroom was clean and bright. Breakfast in the morning was absolutely delicious - a plated French toast with granola and fruit available. The Ivy Lodge itself is a little cost-prohibitive for a lengthy stay, but for a night or two its well worth the price for the luxury.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,927 reviews
0.9 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.6 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#7 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Lodge

Property: Ivy Lodge
Address: 12 Clay St, Newport, RI 02840-6902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ivy Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Newport's enchanted Gilded Age at historic Ivy Lodge. Located in Newport, Rhode Island's mansion district off famed Bellevue Avenue, The Ivy Lodge is just a short stroll to the mansions, downtown Newport, The Cliff Walk and the beaches. Period antiques and victorian accents throughout its rooms complete the newly-renovated home and gardens. The richly-detailed oak walls and fireplace hearths provide the quintessential Newport backdrop for a memorable experience in the City by the Sea. Explore our inn and discover Newport the way it was meant to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ivy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing