We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ivy Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Attwater(Newport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Viking(Newport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Gilded(Newport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveller rating
437
66
7
11
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
437
66
7
11
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturret roommansion districtthe cliffb bmy husband and iother guestsbreakfast was delicioushomemade granolagas fireplacebed and breakfastnewport mansionswithin walking distancewhirlpool tubthird floorshort walkeach morninggilded age
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
480 - 485 of 533 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2009

From the moment we arrived at the Ivy Lodge we knew our stay was going to be terrific. We were warmly welcomed by Innkeeper ~Dianne. Dianne took time to give us information about the Inn as well as the area of Newport; showed us to our room and we were on our way to a great weekend!
Each morning we were invited to a delicious breakfast with many choices including a wonderful entree created and cooked by Dianne. As well there was great coffee, juices, and conversation with Innkeeper Darryl and many of the people staying at the Inn. Dianne’s homemade cereal is wonderful so be sure to try some.
Our room was the Library room and it was very clean with all the comforts of home.
The location of the Ivy Lodge is perfect you can walk or ride if you prefer; to visit the many great sites in Newport. The Cliff walk is our favorite; it is in walking distance from the Lodge.
We would like to thank Darryl and Diane for a great stay; we can not wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LMM09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

From first entering the Ivy lodge, until we departed, it was a great experience. Located a short distance from cliff walk and in a nice quiet area of town, it was a very pleasant stay. The staff was very helpfull in pointing out areas of interest and providing dining recommendations. The breakfast was spendid. We would stay there again if visiting Newport

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelersB-Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2009

This was our first trip to Newport and we loved it. The location of this B & B was perfect, close to the cliffs and a nice ten minute walk to town. We have stayed at several B&Bs throughout the country and unfortunately, Daryl and Darleen are alittle too rigid to be in this industry. We traveled with another couple who had a few "run-ins" with them. They were given a little attitude about wanting their a/c to be on to cool down the room while they went to dinner. When you are paying a considerable amount of money for a room, an hour of the air running shouldn't be an issue. Also, morning breakfast is quite an interesting experience. There is one long, large dining table so be prepared if you are not interested in small talk with other inn goers. It is also not taken kindly when you would like to make a special request (like any simple dietary restrictions). The food was great but if you didn't like what was being served that day, you were out of luck. When we were there, we returned from dinner to find the innkeepers in a heated battle with another couple (that did destroy one of their rooms). The police were called and the couple was escorted out of the inn... but it definitely made for an uncomfortable experience (but great breakfast gossip the next morning). I am sure that there are many other accomodations in the area that may make for a more pampered experience. We are not that hard to please when on vacation, but we felt that there may have been too many "rules" to feel 100% comfortable here.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NYTravelers12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2009

This was my boyfriend and my first trip to the beautiful city of newport. This place is just amazing, and the male owner is very helpful and friendly, he will talk you for as long as you like for whatever questions you have and will answer you honestly. I stayed in the Pine room (by request) is just like the La Chambre jun room but has a two person tub, i think it might be the same price) for 3 nights. This is a pretty but small room with nice feel. The bed i think was a queen which i wold have liked a king but that just personal preference. There is a shared refridge for left overs downstairs. In the morning you wake up and go downstairs to a dining room and they offer you a sweet or savory dish (different every day) We meet a few nice people and swapped stories. The inn its self is 3 stories high and we were on the 3rd story, but dont worry they have AC so you wont die in the summer. the owners have a small cottage right behind the inn but are at the inn the magority of the time. Its a little more expensive them some of the inns but its so lovely and charming its also in good walking distance of the mansions, we walked to downtown every day its not very long at all, and considering parking you want to walk. We also felt veery safe walking home at night from some of the pubs downtown. its only about a 15 mins walk. hope this help!

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jefisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2008

The perfect Inn to stay for our 10th Wedding Anniversary. My husband outdid himself for booking us into the fabulous salubrious Ivy Lodge as a surprise getaway. Our stay in the Satterlee Family Suite was memorable, the Inn offering a cosy and warm atmosphere, delectable breakfasts with extremely hospitable hosts in Darlene and Daryl. We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend here and felt very welcome including our 9 year old daughter. A truly memorable anniversary. Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank geribarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews