We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous locations, lovely home, attentive inkeepers.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ivy Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ivy Lodge
Ranked #11 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
minneapolis
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous locations, lovely home, attentive inkeepers.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

This setting is right off of Bellvue and situated in and around the lovely historical society mansions. You can walk to the Cliff Walk and the breakers. The inn is lovely, well-kept and the innkeepers are great. They gave great recommendations for Newport restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank consultme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    62
    5
    10
    12
See reviews for
66
354
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

It was our first B&B experience and I don't think we'll ever stay at a hotel again. The Ivy Lodge was charming and beautiful and our hosts were helpful and attentive. We were impressed with our breakfast, which could have easily been mistaken for a master chefs. I would go back for the homemade granola alone. A must-stay!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheer24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

The visit for two days was wonderful in spite of unseasonably cool wet weather. The Innkeepers idea of serving breakfast at a long table so the visitors interact socially was enjoyable. The breakfast special was different each day and all we very delicious. If we were to return to Newport we would again stay at the Ivy Lodge

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sailorVeroBeach_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

Ivy Lodge is a beautiful house. We spent one night there - should have stayed 2. Everyone was friendly. They were also very accomodating. We loved our room although we weren't there much. And we were able to easily walk to all the mansions and do the cliff walk from there. We'll definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theresak50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2009

It truly is a beautiful place.
We have a 14 month old baby so we stayed on the first floor(only room on the first floor). The bathroom was silghtly run down but big and spacious with a large tub and a separate shower.
Everything in the house was beautiful and nicely kept.
Breakfast was amazing and they were accomodating.

Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mkim1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2009

The innkeepers strive to make a stay at their Inn like you are visiting a rich uncle and they totally succeed. It's not your home but it's warm, inviting and comfortable and makes you feel like you are with family.

My boyfriend and I spent 3 days and 2 nights at the Ivy Lodge and hope we have the time and money to go back someday. We've made many day trips to Newport so we are familiar with the area. The Lodge is tucked one street back from Bellevue which made it a perfect location to get away but still be right in the middle of everything.

The breakfasts were out of this world and the coffee/tea bar with baked goodies gave our afternoons that little something extra. The Innkeepers Daryl and Darlene are great at their jobs and take a genuine interest in their guests. If you go, make sure you leave plenty of time to linger at the breakfast table in the morning. The conversation is always lively and you may pick up tips on what to do with your day from the innkeepers or the other guests.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharp70joc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Walton Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2009

It was the stairs that drew us to select the Ivy Lodge. On our way to a wedding in CT, we stayed here one night to check it out for future vacations in Newport. Compared with the B&B we stayed at in CT for the same price, The Ivy Lodge was simply awesome. We are veteran B&B'ers and prefer properties where the innkeepers live on site. Daryl and Darlene should become poster people for innkeepers. Friendly, fastidious, and fascinating, they made our overnight site survey visit a wonderful experience. We will definitely return for a longer stay!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
0.9 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.9 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Lodge

Property: Ivy Lodge
Address: 12 Clay St, Newport, RI 02840-6902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ivy Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Newport's enchanted Gilded Age at historic Ivy Lodge. Located in Newport, Rhode Island's mansion district off famed Bellevue Avenue, The Ivy Lodge is just a short stroll to the mansions, downtown Newport, The Cliff Walk and the beaches. Period antiques and victorian accents throughout its rooms complete the newly-renovated home and gardens. The richly-detailed oak walls and fireplace hearths provide the quintessential Newport backdrop for a memorable experience in the City by the Sea. Explore our inn and discover Newport the way it was meant to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ivy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing