We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great deal for what you get.”
Review of Pineapple Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pineapple Inn
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Boston, ma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great deal for what you get.”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Not sure what people are expecting for the price.

The room looked like they got a makeover from last year.
Even the exterior looks pretty cleaned up.

The beds were more comfortable, the desk clerk said they got new furniture and stuff.

My girlfriend and I are pleased with my stay for what I paid for.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Supramann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    27
    30
    10
    46
See reviews for
16
46
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Well, it was cheap. I read the reviews, and I agree with them. If you must stay in the area and you can't afford $200/night, this may be your option.

Then again, there's a Motel6 just up the street that MAY be cleaner (although it looked just as dodgy from the outside...

Seriously, a good scrubbing and this place would have a pretty cool retro-vibe. But dirt is dirt.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank modeknit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newport hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
nj
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Checkin was great. Got in by 12:00. Room was a bit musty but I brought lysol with me and cleared the air. Room was a bit worn but for the price is was just fine. Bus to downtown was right across the street so you didn't have to fight the traffic or find parking. I would book here again since you spend so little time in the room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kswny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Arrived broken glass on door and bugs in sink and on coffee pot. Went to front office woman was very nice said I will have someone there right away. We explained have not put nothing in room yet, was late for an event we were going to. Upon return they took the glass down off the door. Went into the washroom bugs dead in sink. The coffee pot outside had i do not know what all over it, they were kind tho they did not clean it but moved it to the corner of sink lol and put packages of coffee..We were not drinking it to save our lives and wanted one so bad lol. My mom yells to me look at this bathroom its filthy shower curtain, bathtub i would not even think of stepping in it with sneakers. I wanted to find something positive I drew the curtains notice slider doors are bolted in so you can not open?? and curtains had huge water stains with mold. I sat there an apologize to mom this was suspose to be a gift to her a few days in newport. I also asked management when booked conditions of rooms looked great on internet, and also told them my mom just retired from enviormental management no games notice price was so cheaper that weekend than other rooms other places. Other places from 250 and up here 130 with taxes. Mom inspected for bed bugs lol blanket big burn marks from cigarettes put the pretty bedspreads back up these were like new. We did not unpack slept with clothes (old ones) housecoats over on bedspread out at 7a.m. to get out of there. Out in parking lot broken bottles near tires of her car and others. Went to front office to talk to someone noone was there that could speak english we gave them keys and out of there. Home threw clothes away and housecoats long showers and out to breakfast. No more newport for us that was enough of experience for us. We have traveled everywhere and I am sure other places are beautiful but if they the building inspectors and whoever lets this go out for rentals is beyond disbelief. 130.00 is alot for this to happen to people today. The rest of the family when they checked our room were laughing in hysterics they bolted to the cape cod and got nice places with ammenties included and lots of activities to do! Its a shame Newport is a great place the prices others were asking outrageous and then we go to the pineapple inne and look what happen to us Never Never again!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank victory76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We booked last minute to be in Newport for a Saturday night. I booked on a Wednesday and booked the Pineapple Inn on line. It was "last minute" the only other places available were for 3-400 dollars / night. On Thursday I read the reviews and saw the one about "blood on the pillow case" I tried to back out, but Priceline and the motel required a three day notice. Priceline told me to call the motel and see if they would be willing to let me cancel. I spoke with a nice Indian gentleman (sorry forgot his name) and told him my concerns about the cleanliness. I was assured that if the room was not to my liking he would refund my money. We had a non-smoking room and although the place is "dated" the linens and room were clean. No smells, no gross findings. I was not even concerned about the bedspread, but we do turn them down. For the price and friendliness of the employees, I would recommend the Pineapple Inn

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JGH61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
348 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Agree with the last review, this place simply needs a bulldozer. We ended up here, because when we tried to make reservations other places they claimed they were booked due to the Andre Agassi induction into the Tennis Hall of Fame.
We should have just waited, I have no doubt rooms miraculously became available.
Our room stank, the sheets were torn to shreds, the blankets had cigarette burns and gross red stains.
The tub had a constant drip, and was full of stains.
Best of all were the very suspicious activities going on in the other rooms. Lots of cars and people stopping by for a few minutes then leaving. Hmmmm
All in all as relaxing as a stay at the Bates Motel!
The ONLY redeeming factor, was the woman at the front, she was actually very nice. She can do better.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WinfieldRDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orleans, Indiana
Level Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Princess cruises sent us here to wait on a cruise ship that we had missed in New York because of a canceled flight out of Indianapolis. The first port of call was Newport, so they sent us there to spend the night and catch the ship the next morning. This place was horrible. It was filthy, rundown and disgusting. The room smelled moldy and bad, and the sheets were threadbare and dingy. Not that that mattered, because my body wasn't even touching those sheets. We both slept with our clothes on and hovered over the toilet when we had to go. The bathroom was so bad, we waited until we made it to the ship to even shower, brush our teeth and clean up. The only thing that would help this place would be a bulldozer.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bandguy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
2.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
2.1 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
596 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
2.1 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pineapple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pineapple Inn

Property: Pineapple Inn
Address: 372 Coddington Hwy, off Rt. 114, Newport, RI 02840
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pineapple Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Pineapple Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pineapple Hotel Newport
Pineapple Motel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing