We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, efficient staff go above and beyond”
Review of Harborside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harborside Inn
Ranked #19 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2012

This 15 room inn is in the perfect location .... Park your car ( free parking, a rare commodity, comes with your reservation) and stroll the streets. Everything a tourist might want to see is within a 10 minute walk. A trolley ( $6.00 for a full day pass) can take you everywhere else! Rooms are spacious, water views are restful, and the staff is amazing. The inn is next door to a busy restaurant but we just sat on the balcony and enjoyed their music ... Could be a problem if you need to put kids to bed. This is not a five star resort, but the location, amenities like included breakfast, mid day cookies etc and the incredible staff, make this a place worth visiting!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gumby72012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in June 2012. The room was very nice and the service was excellent. However, for the price I would have expected maid service that actually made our bed and placed towels in our room nicely - not in a pile on the floor. The breakfast service was very poor. But it''s a great location and we had a balcony with a harbor view and you can't beat that. Also, free parking which is awesome in newport. Would stay there again. I have stayed in other cities and gotten much fancier accommodations for 350-450 per night but it is to be expected in Newport. There is a good sized restaurant on the water side of this hotel, it stays open late with loud music so if that bothers you, ask to stay in a room away from there. It didn't bother us.

Room Tip: Choose room #16
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RikkilynCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Recently stayed here for a night & it was great, wonderful location. Room was lovely & comfortable with great views. Our son loved the loft. Staff were very helpful, would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here for a couple of days in April and it had the potential to be amazing. The location, available parking, and amenities were the things that drew us in. We booked a waterview suite with a loft and were told we had the room with the best view of the harbor. The hotel was clean, the room was spacious, the views were great, my daughter loved the loft area, and the location was fantastic. The staff was also very nice and helpful. The big negative here is that the hotel is in need of some serious TLC. I'm going to list positives below and the negatives that marred them.

1) The room overall: The sheets in the loft were stained and seemed dirty, we had to replace them immediately. Some of the light switches don't seem to operate any lights. Walls were thin and could clearly hear conversations in the room next door (unsure if the person was just loud or not though). We could also hear the music coming from the hotel next door so it was a little noisy.
2) The balcony: the two chairs were both ripped making seating uncomfortable.
3) The view from the windows: The windows were incredibly hard to operate and mostly stuck and one that we could only open 2 inches wouldn't stay open.
4) The loft: Skylights had horrible metal blinds that were bent and seemed to be broken. The ship ladder to the loft is nearly vertical so it is a little more difficult to navigate.
5) Breakfast: Decent selection but toasters were terrible.

Bottom line is that none of these were dealbreakers and we had a pleasant stay.

Tip: Use the toaster on the left, the one on the right is terrible.

Room Tip: Use the toaster on the left, the one on the right is terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 8pixel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We spent 2 days at the Harborside. The location is excellent. close to resturants and shopping. Parking is provided, a plus in Newport. The staff goes out of the way to help, very proactive in anticipating needs - volunteering wine glasses - opening wine bottles- supplying water. The accomodations are average and the walls are not very sound insulating. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank umberto7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We booked a last minute trip to Newport and chose Harborside Inn because of its location. You can’t beat the location (and you have parking!) and the staff was extremely nice. The downside was that the inn was as basic as can be and we had the nicest room besides a suite. The room was barely decorated and lacked any character. The TV didn’t work and when we explained this to the front desk we were told there was a trick to turning it on that we weren’t doing correctly. There shouldn’t be any “tricks” to making things work. Overall, we had a great experience in Newport and would possibly stay here again, but I wouldn’t pay premium rates during high season.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor to avoid noise above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdancej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I was visiting the URI campus with my daughter and decided to spend a night in Newport. We have been going to Newport in the summer for a few years now and always stay at the sister inn Yankee Peddler. Being that it was winter and Peddler was closed, we decided to try the Harborside. We loved it! Our room was spacious and clean and the bed was very comfortable. The room where you have breakfast looks out over the harbor and food was good. The location is prime, right in the middle of town. You can just park your car and walk to many shops and restaurants. Jane and Meg are so sweet and helpful. I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank serenitygirlNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
2,067 reviews
0.0 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
690 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
#11 of 21 in Newport
289 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Address: 1 Christies Landing, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: £102 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Harborside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal waterfront location in downtown Newport, RI. Fifteen rooms and lofted suites with private balconies overlooking the water or historic cityscape. Parking, continental breakfast and wifi incuded. Friendly service, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing