We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly little hotel with nice big rooms”
Review of Yankee Peddler Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yankee Peddler Inn
Ranked #29 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly little hotel with nice big rooms”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This hotel is in what seems to be an old converted house, it has a good amount of character and big spacious rooms. It's situated quite close to everything that is going on down on the water front and the staff were very informative about the area on our arrival. We felt welcome and well looked after

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Theo L:

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your positive impressions!

Yes, the Yankee Peddler is an historic home. It was built in the 1830s for a Boston mariner and naval officer named Nathaniel Amory. One of its later owners was George Douglas Brewerton, a Newport native who became a noted painter in the Hudson River School. We have a reproduction of one of his paintings (a seascape) hanging in the downstairs hall — did you notice it while you were here?

Today, of course, what matters most is that we are a comfortable "home" for visitors like you who enjoy staying in the heart of historic Newport! As you said, the inn has good-sized rooms (20 in all) and is very well-located — it's an easy walk to many restaurants, shops, Bellevue Avenue and Newport Harbor. Free parking, wifi and continental breakfast make staying at the Yankee Peddler even more convenient. We aim to provide the best in casual hospitality and local knowledge, too!

Again, thanks for your help in spreading the word ... we hope someday you will join us again!

Laura Coggeshall, Manager, and the team at the Yankee Peddler Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    80
    35
    13
    14
See reviews for
36
115
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

The Yankee Peddler Inn is a great stop for Newport. It has a fantastic location, close to the wharfs, and fantastic service, very helpful and friendly. A major drawback was the noisy rooms. You could hear everything going on elsewhere on your floor, and the air conditioner was noisy. Other than that, the Yankee Peddler is a great place to stop by.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jaxter4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear jaxter4,

Thank you for sharing your impressions. We are so glad you enjoyed our walkable location and friendly service in central, historic Newport. Apologies that you found the air-conditioner a bit loud. We are just so grateful to HAVE air-conditioning, as this summer has brought several unusual stretches of hot weather.

I hope you will come visit us again! If so, please call or email directly, so we can place you in the best specific room for your preferences.

Best wishes,
Laura Coggeshall, Inn Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We planned a trip to Newport two days in advance on the July 4th weekend, so almost everything was booked. We got the last room at this B & B and at $350.00 a night for a two queen sized bed suite at the last minute in a good location....I think that was fair. There is nothing fancy or glamorous about this place, but it is clean, quiet, safe, and in a very good location. It is only a 5 minute walk to the central areas of shopping and eating on Thames, off of a quiet street. No loud party noises like hotels nearer to Thames. Newport gets pretty crazy Saturday night on Thames, so it ended up being a good choice. Even though we did not have a water view, it did not matter, since for that you simply walk up and down Thames or do the Cliff Walk or take a great sail around the bay like we did on the Aquidneck. It was fun and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buckeyelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear buckeyelove,

I'm glad we were able to accommodate you over the Fourth of July weekend! We have a variety of sleeping arrangements that include one or two beds — it sounds like the two-queen suite was perfect for your needs.

As you said, the Yankee Peddler offers a very central and wonderfully walkable location. With free parking and continental breakfast, too, we really are a fair value for downtown Newport. And don't forget the third-story deck! We may not be on the water, but we can SEE the sparkling harbor over the rooftops of historic Newport. It's just a few blocks away.

We sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to host you again.

Best wishes,

Laura Coggeshall, Manager, and the Yankee Peddler team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at the inn for two nights, and we were very disappointed when we drove up to the building. We had chosen this place because we had wanted to be in town, rather than the hotel we were offered to stay at for a friend's wedding. We regretted our decision. From the outside, it needs some TLC, and parking requires the staff to move around cars to fit everyone into the small lot. When we walked up to our room on the third floor, we were seriously underwhelmed. Our bed didn't even have a headboard! Everything looked old and run down; the television was maybe 10 inches and about 20 years old. The window air conditioner kept falling apart while we were there, and the bathroom was very tight. Breakfast...well the room is cute in the basement, but the food was mediocre and again not worth the money. We would NEVER stay here again. For the money, we could find many much nicer places to stay in Newport.

Room Tip: The rooms on the main floor are better...we saw one open, but do not stay on the 2nd or 3rd floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Kim B,

It is so hard for us to hear these words. Honestly, if we had known you were unhappy with your room on the third floor, we would have done our best to offer you a different room, wherever we had availability.

We have three room types at the Yankee Peddler Inn: standard, superior, and carriage house. Standard rooms are our best value in the main house, and they are a GOOD value for downtown Newport. This is the room type you chose when you made your reservation. In fact, many guests truly enjoy the third-floor rooms, because they are adjacent to our rooftop deck.

As for parking, yes, our lot is small ... but free parking is a rarity in downtown Newport, and we are pleased to provide it for all guests. As for TVs, yes, ours are of the older variety. All guestrooms will have flat-screen units in the near future. Despite your impressions, we are making constant improvements here at the Yankee Peddler! This year, our breakfast room received a significant face-lift (we're glad you found it cute) and all our hardwood floors were refinished.

Again, I wish we had known of your disappointment while you were here, as we would have done everything we could to make you happy. That is our goal, each and every day: to make our guests happy.

All best wishes,
Laura Coggeshall, Inn Manager, and the Yankee Peddler team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights with our daughters ages 9 and 10 and felt that for the money it was a great deal. The accommodations were super clean and the linens on the beds are very nice. The decor could use some updating but it wasn't a deal breaker. The beds were very nice in our room and the bath room was spotless as was the entire room. The only negatives are the window ac units which didn't cool that well and the tv which was a dog and certainly needed replacing. The breakfast offered did not appeal to us but for those wanting a light meal it was sufficient. Staff is super friendly and willing to assist with reservations and any needs within their ability. Parking could be a problem if they were at full capacity but I think that is true of Newport in general. If they could update some features within the rooms ( decor) they would have a great place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonardtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Fl
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My wife and I spent two days at this establishment and we were satisfied with our visit. While I would not categorize this place as memorable, when you factor in the cost versus the service, breakfast, and atmosphere, we feel that we got the most bang for the bucks we spent. Staff was very friendly and helpful, we met some really nice guests, and we were close to everything. So if you want a nice place at a fair price, this is your place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CommishPalmCoast_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The experience was fantastic, service was great, and everyone was incredibly helpful. I couldn't have been happier with the Peddler Inn. The location was perfect, close to restaurants and shopping and a short drive from the mansions.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleks D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
America's Cup Inn
America's Cup Inn
#24 of 95 in Newport
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jailhouse Inn
Jailhouse Inn
#19 of 95 in Newport
284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burbankrose
Burbankrose
#33 of 95 in Newport
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melville House
Melville House
#65 of 95 in Newport
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#13 of 95 in Newport
493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
#5 of 95 in Newport
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yankee Peddler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yankee Peddler Inn

Property: Yankee Peddler Inn
Address: 113 Touro St, Newport, RI 02840-2968
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Yankee Peddler Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy, casual, authentic inn offering 20 guestrooms in the heart of Newport's "Historic Hill" neighborhood. Excellent location three blocks from the waterfront, wharves and Bellevue Avenue. Easy walk to restaurants, shops and downtown historic attractions. Parking, continental breakfast and wifi included -- and guests love the rooftop deck! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Yankee Peddler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Peddler Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing