We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hydrangea House Inn
Nearby Hotels
Newport Bay Club & Hotel(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$372
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$435
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$564
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$394
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$394
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Viking(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$375
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$337
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Attwater(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$338
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$605
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chanler at Cliff Walk(Newport)
US$623
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$408
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
504 results
Traveller rating
457
38
5
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
457
38
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschesterfield suitesteam showerwine and cheesewinter gardenhomemade yogurtmy husband and ifrittersveranda roomcookiesother guestseach morningbeautiful dining roomback porchwonderful hostsbed and breakfastwithin walking distanceowners and staff
Filter
Updating list...
475 - 480 of 504 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2007

What a beautiful bed and breakfast. Grant and Dennis, the hosts, and Jamie, the housekeeper, were terrific. We were made to feel very welcome. We were given an upqgrade upon our arrival as not all the rooms were filled. We had a French country room that showed Dennis and Grant's attention to detail. Afternoon wine and cheese were a pleasant time to plan the evening's dinner. After dinner we arrived back at the inn to find cookies outside our door. The amenities in the room were exceptional. We would love to return again if our travels take us to New England.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank SilkyCard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2007

What a nice surprise upon arrival at the lovely Hydrangea House to learn from owners Grant and Dennis that we had received a complimentary upgrade to a magnificent suite - the "Carrie in Paris" room! We've never stayed in a room like this before - beautiful decor (reds, golds, and blues), gorgeous furniture, and luxurious amenities: jacuzzi facing flat-screen TV, huge rain shower, super-comfy bed, fine bed linens, absorbent Turkish towels, complimentary Poland Springs water, and delicious chocolates. Truly a room fit for royalty! Everyone who works at Hydrangea House is so very sweet - they provided excellent service and great recommendations for things to do and places to eat while in Newport. While on the pretty property at Hydrangea House, we experienced terrific wine and nibble hours, complete with fruit (fresh and dried), cheese, crackers, hummus, and taboule. We also had delicious gourmet breakfasts served at the formal dining room table, including fruit, scones, yogurt, granola, tarragon eggs served in puff pastry, grand marnier-dipped french toast, bacon, juice, coffee, and tea. Before bed every night, we received turn-down service and OUTSTANDING, perfectly fresh (just made - still goo-ey!) chocolate chip cookies! Wish I had one of those cookies right now! Outside of Hydrangea House, we experienced Newport fully and loved it. Ate lunch outside at the International Tennis Hall of Fame (assistant innkeeper Stanley's recommendation) - great setting and really good food! Walked from Hydrangea House on Belleview Ave past gorgeous mansions to Cliff Walk - a path overlooking the ocean that is not to be missed! From Cliff Walk we walked down the "40 steps" for a closer view of the sea, and we accessed 2 mansions - the Breakers and Rosecliff which both provide guided tours. Drove along Ocean Drive at sunset - very beautiful! For dinner, we tried Salvations Cafe (Stanley's recommendation) - great pad thai and desserts in a funky colorful atmosphere. The next day, we ate at The Mooring, overlooking the harbor for lunch - clam chowder and beer-battered fish and chips - YUM! Dinner that evening was at Tucker's Bistro (Stanley's recommendation) - romantic setting, very intimate, and the food here was AMAZING! Best chicken we ever ate, excellent halibut, too. Both were served over polenta, and the taste was undescribably fabulous! Because we stayed at Hydrangea House, we were given complimentary homemade Bailey's after dinner at Tucker's - it was so creamy and fresh - a perfect ending to the meal. After dinner, it was a delight to return to Hydrangea House - our room was kept immaculate throughout our stay and it was just so welcoming. We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NjJerzeeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2007

This is truly an upscale, beautiful b&b. Breakfast was excellent, each room is prettier than the next. My husband and I stayed in the Winter Garden Suite. Absolutely loved the two person jacuzzi tub as well as the two person marble shower. It was HUGE! Bed was ultra comfortable and the roof top balcony that led out from our room was very sweet. Dennis and Jamie were very nice and super helpful. We will definitely be back and will probably book the Carrie in Paris suite as I fell in love with the "feel" of it. I did get to peak in the Hydrangea, Chesterfield, Carrie (of course) and the Garden Gate Suites, all were very beautiful and charming. The location is also a perk being on one of the main strips. Definitely a wonderful stay with NO complaints. Loved the Hydrangea House!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Holly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2007

In a town full of B&Bs, Hydrangea House really stands out. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. We didn't meet the inkeepers and understand one was laid-up with a broken hand or wrist or something while we were there in mid/late June, but the staff was fantastic. We received a warm welcome/orientation, assistance with our luggage, help with restaurant reservations. Our suite (Dudley Newton) had a marble bath with a steam shower for two. Just outside was a great upper-level porch for reading right out the door. Bed was comfortable, toiletries were high-end and there were two small flat-screen TVs. In the living room was a large soaking tub. Bizarre placement, but nice feature! Late afternoon wine and cheese, breakfast and evening cookies were also first-rate.

One tip: Castle Hill Inn is a beautiful setting, but the restaurant has deteriorated. We've been traveling to Newport for 10 years, with and without kids, and eaten there a half dozen times over the years. It has hit rock bottom (i hope). We ate there this trip for our 10-year anniversary. We sat down 90 minutes after our reservation. There was no apology and no token gesture, like buying us a drink. The hostess just snidely said "we're very busy tonight and you are welcome to cancel your reservation." Where else were we going to go on a Friday night with no reservation?? Food was good, but not great and definitely not worth the wait. We enjoyed subsequent meals at Mama Luisa's and Tucker's. Much better!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank euronovice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2007

We just returned from our three night stay at the Hydrangea House. This was our third stay at this inn; and it gets better with each time we visit Newport.

The innkeepers graciously appointed us to the Chesterfield suite to make our stay more comfortable. The room is magnificent, and is by far our favorite so far. I personally, had the best sleep in months. The bed and linens are extremely cozy. The square footage in the room made for an "at home" feel. The shower and the jacuzzi tub for two was fantastic.

Luckily the weather was wonderful and made our stay even better. This bed & breakfast is in an ideal location. It's in walking distance to just about everything in Newport. Why you will love this inn: convienient parking behind the inn, beautiful accomodations, delicious gourmet breakfasts, lovely staff with five star hospitality, great dinner recommendations, & individual in-room private baths.

I HIGHLY recommend this bed & breakfast. It is worth the dollar spent and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gorjus121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews