We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Inn for a special milestone!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hydrangea House Inn
Ranked #3 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mass.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Romantic Inn for a special milestone!”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My husband & I recently stayed 3 nights at the Hydrangea House Inn on Bellevue Ave. in Newport RI. It was our 34th wedding anniversary and this inn had everything we wanted for such a special milestone. I found their website by searching the TripAdvisor site and am happy to report that it depicts & describes accurately the accommodations and atmosphere.

We stayed in the Carrie Paris room which was just fantastic. The room has six large windows with ornately colored drapes that let the sunshine through. The inn is meticulously maintained, very clean with interesting art and period pieces all through the house. The queen sized bed was very comfortable, there was a Jacuzzi/spa tub in the room which was great for soaking after long days of walking & touring and a gas fireplace that was very romantic. The rainshower shower head in the walk-in marble tiled shower was a real treat with plenty of room for two!
There was a convivial atmosphere at breakfast and at the wine & cheese reception that’s held each evening. This was the time to talk with other guests in comfortable and relaxed surroundings. It was fun to share itineraries with others, to hear recommendations of places to eat, side tours and out of the way places.
Grant & Dennis, the owners and on-premise innkeepers are exceptional hosts. It is quite obvious they take pride in their Inn that they’ve owned for 24 years. Breakfast is served in such an elegant setting. Each day we were served a specialty of the Inn. The tarragon scrambled eggs served in puff pastry were yum, yum! Ask Grant or Dennis for the secret ingredient! We had raspberry fritters with Vermont maple syrup, homemade breakfast sausage meatballs, raisin scones, jams, teas and special blend coffee - what a great way to start the day. There was a different China place setting each day and for those few hours that weekend I could see myself as part of the Vanderbilt Family during the Gilded Age!

I don’t want to forget to mention Lisa, of the housekeeping staff. She kept our room spotless, supplied fresh bottles of water, clean, fluffy towels, plumped our pillows and completed the day with turn down service at 8pm and left us fresh baked chocolate chip cookies to enjoy.

It seems to me that the Hydrangea House Inn is very deserving of the awards they proudly display. This property is a member of the Select Registry of distinguished Inns of North America, a AAA Diamond Award Recipient and I understand it has been highly ranked by members of TripAdvisor. I highly recommend a visit to this wonderful B & B.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    36
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
407
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

My wife and I had a lovely time at this B&B! Hydrangea House is centrally located right in the middle of Newport, close to the waterfront area and a short walk to some of the mansions on Bellevue Avenue. The Inn Keepers are super friendly and made some of the most amazing breakfasts that we have had at a B&B. Also a lovely part of the weekend was when they served wine and cheese daily at around 4pm so that the folks staying there could discuss the day and share recommendations for dinner and things to do. We would definitely recommend this B&B to any of our friends and family.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Verandah Room with its' own entrance, fireplace, and steam shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toolman-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We recently went to Newport to get away for a couple of days and stayed at the Hydrangea House Inn. Our room was wonderful - relaxing tub, huge shower, fireplace, very comfortable bed! Breakfast was delicious. Afternoon wine and cheese was perfect to relax and visit, and the warm homemade chocolate chip cookies at night were a perfect end to the day. The owners were able to make suggestions for activities and places to dine and just a wonderful resource. The ambiance was so relaxing and welcoming! We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Newport. The B&B is also in a great location and you can walk to the mansions, cliff walk, downtown, shopping... everything you need is right there.

Room Tip: Check out the pictures of the rooms on their website!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swampscott, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We hadn't been away for a very long time and were in need of a get away. The Hydrangea House Inn couldn't have been more prefect. The Hydrangea room (not to push a theme) was amazing, the tub, the fireplace, the Incredible bed was so comfortable. The massage that was arranged for in the room was so relaxing, and the restaurant recommendations were to die for. Never have I had better food. Dennis and Rosie were such warm hosts!

Room Tip: Our room was sort of the penthouse had skylights and lots of light, but also was to control the amou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bevevandken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Ladies and Gents,

I've been all around the world, several times and it's always comforting to know that when I touch down in RI for a few nights I can always have an amazing time, nice conversation, great food and a lush room.

The hosts are wonderful and certainly know the area and can help you find anything your looking for, like the best lobster in the area or a special place to have a romantic dinner.

All in all - A++!

Room Tip: The suites are worth the little upgrade cost, that's just my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wiredboy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killingworth, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Hydrangea House Inn provides a luxurious, comfortable, and peaceful enviornment. Just returned from my third stay at the inn and I am already thinking about when to return. We Stayed in the Chesterfield Suite this visit and the room was so romantic and comfortable it was hard to leave. The steam shower is the perfect way to end the day at the Hydrangea.. The gourmet breakfast is always delectable. Grant and Dennis make us feel like family and always go above and beyond to make our stay memorable. Great location and you could walk to all restaurants and shops. As far as I am concerned this is the only place to stay in Newport.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Haven, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The Hydrangea House has been a family favorite among my parents, aunts & uncles and cousins for years, yet our first visit was over the long President's Day weekend and it was nothing short of spectacular. Walking down Bellevue Ave upon arrival and seeing the inviting purple color and the view of the dining room was just gorgeous! We checked in with one of the innkeepers/proprietors, Dennis, and were given keys to one of the Hydrangea's tastefully decorated, plush rooms, the Winter Garden Suite. Immediately, we rushed to get a glimpse of the luxurious marble steam shower and the two person jacuzzi tub; perfection! Everything about the suite was fabulous from the antique brass bed (which was ultra-comfy) to the wicker furniture arranged in front of the gas fireplace. The attention to detail at the Hydrangea House was impresssive; heated towel racks, homemade cookies brought to our door in the evenings, the spread of gourmet cheeses and wine in the afternoon and of course, a scrumptious breakfast (Grant's "Hydrangea House eggs" were amazing!) My boyfriend and I both felt a sense of comfort and home while staying at this bed and breakfast and will definitely be visiting regularly from now on. I would recommend the Hydrangea House to anyone who is looking for that extra attention that is impossible to find at a larger hotel chain and also for anyone that is in need of pure relaxation and rejuvenation. Dennis and Grant- thank you both for being so welcoming and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

~Andrea & Sean, CT~

Room Tip: Winter Garden suite has an outdoor balcony and is located on the third floor. It has the amazing st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angeitalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,013 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#7 of 21 in Newport
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hydrangea House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hydrangea House Inn

Property: Hydrangea House Inn
Address: 16 Bellevue Ave, Newport, RI 02840-3206
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hydrangea House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter a world of grace, elegance and style where the intimate charm of Hydrangea House is complemented by its prestigious Bellevue Avenue address where once lived the Vanderbilts, the Astors and the Dukes. Each room's decor is designed around a specific fabric used in the room with luscious colors that were chosen to complement it distinct ambiance. Located in Newport's Old Quarter, guests will find restaurants, shopping and recreational opportunities within footsteps of the inn’s front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your Hydrangea House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydrangea House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing