We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hydrangea House Inn
Ranked #3 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

My husband and I had the most wonderful time at the Hydrangea House Inn this past June. Dennis and Grant are the most accomodating innkeepers ever! We loved everything about them and this beautiful place.

Room Tip: We stayed in the French Country room and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    36
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
407
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

What a great B&B experiance, clean rooms, great staff and sweet breakfast, had 3 nights here and loved it, we had a smallish room but only slept there so it was fine. Great location with shops and food places nearbye. We will be back again, thanks guys,
Cheers
Bozzies

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suzimark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plains, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

The Hydrangea House is the perfect blend of character and charm with all of the modern amenities. Dennis, Grant and all the staff are the perfect hosts. They seem to appear when you need them and disappear when you want to be alone. This was our first visit but it won't be our last.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissEllenS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This Inn is just lovely. It is within easy walking distance to the main shopping district, yet is quietly removed so that you feel like you are coming home at the end of the day. It was a particularly hot and humid weekend, yet the A/C ran quietly and comfortably in our rooms. We booked the last two rooms available - the biggest and the smallest. The biggest was huge, so if traveling with others, it is a comfortable room to hang out with other people. The smallest room has a warning sign on the website, but it wasn't as small as we anticipated. It was just fine. I usually find something "funky" with B&Bs like poor water pressure, creaky beds, old uncomfortable chairs, small bathroom vanities, musty smells, etc., but both rooms had comfortable beds and bedding, up to date bathrooms, good lounge chairs, nice towels and products, etc. So an A+ for comfort and decor.

The staff was most helpful with booking restaurants in advance, making suggestions and helping us plan our days around mansion tours. There is ample parking in the back and the staff carried our things up and down the three stories to my room, so there is never a lack of help when you need it. The Inn is just big enough that you can do your own thing or be social with other guests, if that is what you want. Breakfast is at one, big dining room table, so do expect to chat with others if you choose to sit down to breakfast. I took a plate up to my room once, which they were just fine with, so the option is yours.

I would not bring young children here. It wouldn't work for you and it wouldn't work for the guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbeyrle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012 via mobile

The Hydrangea House combines the perfect mixture of B&B charm and 5 star hotel cleanliness, service, and comfort. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Newport.

We arrived late morning and were greeted by innkeepers/owners Dennis and Grant. It literally felt like we were being welcomed into their home. They were happy to hold our bags until our room was ready and even offered us the chance to grab food from the dry cereal/pastry/fruit breakfast buffet before we headed out for they day. There is a hot meal served every morning. We had two delicious egg dishes and french toast! And, the place settings each morning are superb!)

Our room (veranda room) was a perfect size off the back of the house with a private porch (two sitting chairs) and lovely bathroom/shower stall. Towels were replaced morning and evening, which is a welcomed treat. The bed is pulled taught every day, and chocolate chip cookies are left on the bed after it is turned down. (The first night, the cookies had nuts. We asked the nuts be left out the next day -- due to allergies -- and one of the staff members was only happy to oblige. Thanks Stoyan!) The wine and cheese spread in the afternoon is every bit as delightful as the other reviewers suggest.

The location is perfect. We walked everywhere: Thames, downtown, the beach, and even to the Breakers.

Dennis and Grant, as well as the staff, are eager to accommodate the requests of every guest and very informative of the shops, activities, vendors etc. You can tell take pride in their work and love what they do. They added tremendously to our stay. I am already trying to plan my return!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTMEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Jefferson Station, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

my wife and i spent 6 glorious nights in this inn. warm hospitality. great creative breakfasts. room impeccable. we will be back. it is far and away the nicest bed and breakfast i have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Hydrangea House exceeded all of our expectations. Grant and Dennis and the entire staff were friendly, helpful and fun. They answered our many questions about Newport and pointed us in all the right directions. Breakfast was fantastic, with different and unusual dishes each morning -- especially the french toast! Wine and cheese in the afternoon was a nice touch. Room was comfy and well-kept. Of course, Rosie was adorable. Would pick Hydrangea House again in a second.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDXGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,014 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#6 of 21 in Newport
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hydrangea House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hydrangea House Inn

Property: Hydrangea House Inn
Address: 16 Bellevue Ave, Newport, RI 02840-3206
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hydrangea House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter a world of grace, elegance and style where the intimate charm of Hydrangea House is complemented by its prestigious Bellevue Avenue address where once lived the Vanderbilts, the Astors and the Dukes. Each room's decor is designed around a specific fabric used in the room with luscious colors that were chosen to complement it distinct ambiance. Located in Newport's Old Quarter, guests will find restaurants, shopping and recreational opportunities within footsteps of the inn’s front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your Hydrangea House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydrangea House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing