We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hydrangea House Inn
Ranked #3 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Weekend”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Just had the pleasure of spending a last minute getaway at the H-House. Nice room, nice breakfast, nice people. The rooms are very nice and most importantly, very clean, including the bathroom. Breakfast was delicious and convenient. Plenty of off street parking. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Back rooms have their own entrance and private sitting porch.......definitely a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    36
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
408
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We just spent two wonderful nights at the Hydrangea House and stayed in the Chesterfield Suit which was lovely. Dennis and Grant were great host's and very helpful with any questions we had.
We enjoyed a delicious breakfast and there was wine and cheese in the afternoon which was a nice touch. The Inn was very clean and had a great ambiance. It also was in a great location close to shops and restaurants. We can't wait to go back to Newport and the Hydrangea House.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug31350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The Hydrangea House lives up to it's historic setting in the furnishings and ambience, evoking the gracious living from years past. Wine, cheese and crackers in the main house was a nice late afternoon snack and a way to relax after a busy day of sightseeing. Our room was beautifully furnished and had all the modern amenities that travelers today expect. Turning down the bed, turning on the bedside lamps and leaving two delicious cookies on a beautiful little plate were nice touches at the end of the day. The only negative about the room was the noisy window AC unit which ran constantly. The breakfasts were sumptious and filling and served buffet style. Coffee refills were offered often. This B&B is part of the Select Registry which inspects its member properties on a regular basis to ensure excellent quality in all aspects of the accommodations. Only three B&Bs in Newport have achieved inclusion in the Select Registry, which is quite an accomplishment. We always stay at a Select Registy Inn, if there is one in the area of our travels, and The Hydrangea House did not disappoint.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newikel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelton, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Had a wonderful stay at the Hydrangea House Inn. Booked three nights in the Carrie in Paris suite which was spacious, very clean, and comfortable. The owners Dennis and Grant will answer any questions and are accomodating in every way. Thank you Grant for the fantastic breakfasts which we looked forward to each morning! The presentation and place settings each day were lovely. The cookies left at turn-down were delicious. We met several very enjoyable couples during the wine and cheese afternoons. The location is very good and you can easily catch the trolley to the mansions. Thanks for a great get-away. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lds0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We booked a one night stay at the Hydrangea House and soon realized we needed more time in lovely Newport, so added two more nights. Upon arrival we were told the owners had called and upgraded us to a suite! The Inn is a complete redo, so it doesn't have any original features, but what it does have is solid, quiet, beautifully done rooms, a lovely mix of antiques with modern amenities like plumbing that works, sufficient a/c, high end bedding and towels, free wifi, discreet TVs and ours even had a fireplace. They were sold out for our fourth and fifth night, but found us a place right around the corner. The location is on the same street as most of the famous mansions available for touring and has free on site parking, and is also within easy walking distance to the wharf. A rooftop bar is a five minute walk away for great sunsets.

Room Tip: Best location. Quiet but near everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

My husband and I had the most wonderful time at the Hydrangea House Inn this past June. Dennis and Grant are the most accomodating innkeepers ever! We loved everything about them and this beautiful place.

Room Tip: We stayed in the French Country room and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

What a great B&B experiance, clean rooms, great staff and sweet breakfast, had 3 nights here and loved it, we had a smallish room but only slept there so it was fine. Great location with shops and food places nearbye. We will be back again, thanks guys,
Cheers
Bozzies

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suzimark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,017 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
649 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
593 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#6 of 21 in Newport
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hydrangea House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hydrangea House Inn

Property: Hydrangea House Inn
Address: 16 Bellevue Ave, Newport, RI 02840-3206
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hydrangea House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter a world of grace, elegance and style where the intimate charm of Hydrangea House is complemented by its prestigious Bellevue Avenue address where once lived the Vanderbilts, the Astors and the Dukes. Each room's decor is designed around a specific fabric used in the room with luscious colors that were chosen to complement it distinct ambiance. Located in Newport's Old Quarter, guests will find restaurants, shopping and recreational opportunities within footsteps of the inn’s front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hydrangea House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydrangea House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing