We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Details, details, details!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hydrangea House Inn
Ranked #3 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brunswick, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Details, details, details!”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Every detail is thought of and thoughful. From the moment we arrived, later than we had hoped, everyone was helpful and personable. The "concierge", the young man at the front desk who checked us in, when we told him we were travel weary and starving and asked where we could get a good steak, immediately said "22 Bowen, I can call for you to see if I can get a reservation", and he did for 9:00 pm and it was wonderful and perfect. This was our first time away from our 2 year old daughter (thanks to Nana!) and we really needed a relaxing, quiet, plush weekend and we got it! This trip was also to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary and what a nice way to celebrate! The room we stayed in was amazing! The Chesterfield Suite. The details: The room looks like something out of a castle w/ modern touches. The "living room" has a great gas fireplace that does warm things up as well as look great. From the two person, really a two person (my husband 6'1" and I am 5'6") jazuzzi you can see the fireplace, and the "mirror" tv above the fireplace...my husband thought that was great! He could watch the football game, while sitting in the tub, and watch the fireplace too. The little loveseat in front of the fireplace is comfortable. The view of The Viking Hotel across the street is beautiful, night and day. The bedroom was so nice..the bed huge, beautiful and comfortable. The heating/ac options in the room were perfect. The TV in the bedroom was a nice little size, you can see it fine, but it does not stand out too much. The closet a good size, the dresser too and the desk is great. The bathroom was super too! The steam shower w/ two heads, again truly two person and works great. I was so relaxed. The water closet is seperate from the main bathroom. Every detail was thought of, glasses, cups in the bathroom, q-tips, cotton balls, hair dryer, iron and full size ironing board. All the details thought of and the decor is so relaxing and fitting the age and style of the building. I have not even started on breakfast...over the top good.Each morning we were there, different china, and the table impeccably set. You are dining under a gorgeous crystal chandelier and you feel like a princess or prince! I often don't like to go to the same place twice, I like to check out different spots, but I will be hard pressed to change locations of where I stay when in Newport again. This stay and this place was exactly what two full time working parents of a toddler needed, we felt rested again, and as though much stress was lifted. The entire stay was wonderful. If you can...stay here! Oh, I almost forgot the cookies left on your pillow at night...delicious. All the details you could ever think of and more to make your stay wonderful! Go!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SSSNES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    36
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
408
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

There are many Inns to choose from in Newport and the good ones are pricey so choose carefully. The Hydrangea House is well run, meticulous and well located but can be noisy especially the lower priced rooms. You might be disappointed that it is part of a block of stores and doesn't have its own yard but it does have private parking. On the positive side, the hosts are tops and their knowledge of Newport can't be beat. On the negative side, for the price of their better rooms, you can probably find nicer accommodations.

Room Tip: Definitely avoid the lower priced rooms which overlook the parking lot next door. The Little Red Ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Andover, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We just stayed at the Hydrangea House last weekend for our 20th anniversary! It was beautiful, romantic and clean! We stayed in the Oak room, which was beautiful! Loved the steam shower, big tub and gas fireplace! I don't remember telling them it was our anniverary, and when we arrived in our room after dinner, there was a small cake with a Happy 20th Anniversary message!!! It was so sweet! Loved the breakfast, enjoyed the company with the guests and the wine/cheese in the afternoon was great. Dennis, Grant and Rosie, thank you so much!!!! Hope to be back soon! Darlene and Mike

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Dennis, Grant, and Alice were all wonderful hosts. Grant made the most delicious breakfast which was really worth getting up early for. We stayed in the Veranda Room, which had its own entrance. The room was extremely clean and cute. Beautiful setting and a beautiful area. We could not have asked for a better stay. We really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Just had the pleasure of spending a last minute getaway at the H-House. Nice room, nice breakfast, nice people. The rooms are very nice and most importantly, very clean, including the bathroom. Breakfast was delicious and convenient. Plenty of off street parking. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Back rooms have their own entrance and private sitting porch.......definitely a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We just spent two wonderful nights at the Hydrangea House and stayed in the Chesterfield Suit which was lovely. Dennis and Grant were great host's and very helpful with any questions we had.
We enjoyed a delicious breakfast and there was wine and cheese in the afternoon which was a nice touch. The Inn was very clean and had a great ambiance. It also was in a great location close to shops and restaurants. We can't wait to go back to Newport and the Hydrangea House.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug31350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The Hydrangea House lives up to it's historic setting in the furnishings and ambience, evoking the gracious living from years past. Wine, cheese and crackers in the main house was a nice late afternoon snack and a way to relax after a busy day of sightseeing. Our room was beautifully furnished and had all the modern amenities that travelers today expect. Turning down the bed, turning on the bedside lamps and leaving two delicious cookies on a beautiful little plate were nice touches at the end of the day. The only negative about the room was the noisy window AC unit which ran constantly. The breakfasts were sumptious and filling and served buffet style. Coffee refills were offered often. This B&B is part of the Select Registry which inspects its member properties on a regular basis to ensure excellent quality in all aspects of the accommodations. Only three B&Bs in Newport have achieved inclusion in the Select Registry, which is quite an accomplishment. We always stay at a Select Registy Inn, if there is one in the area of our travels, and The Hydrangea House did not disappoint.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newikel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,017 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
649 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
593 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#6 of 21 in Newport
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hydrangea House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hydrangea House Inn

Property: Hydrangea House Inn
Address: 16 Bellevue Ave, Newport, RI 02840-3206
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hydrangea House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter a world of grace, elegance and style where the intimate charm of Hydrangea House is complemented by its prestigious Bellevue Avenue address where once lived the Vanderbilts, the Astors and the Dukes. Each room's decor is designed around a specific fabric used in the room with luscious colors that were chosen to complement it distinct ambiance. Located in Newport's Old Quarter, guests will find restaurants, shopping and recreational opportunities within footsteps of the inn’s front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hydrangea House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydrangea House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing