We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like spending a night in a mansion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hydrangea House Inn
Ranked #4 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Like spending a night in a mansion”
Reviewed 17 September 2009

We just returned from another fabulous stay at Hydrangea House. It is like spending the night in one of the mansions down the street. The decor is impeccable and the rooms are spacious and immaculate. The breakfasts are superb, well beyond what you expect at a B & B. The garden is beautiful anytime of the year. I have stayed at many B & B's here and in Europe and Hydrangea House is one of the most elegant and comfortable places on earth to relax and enjoy yourself.
Dennis and Grant are available anytime for questions about restaurants and tourist attractions, and they are happy to make reservations for you. They are also two of the nicest people you will ever meet in your life. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markandmarianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    35
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
394
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shalimar, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2009

My husband & I spent 3 nights at the Hydrangea House Inn in mid-August. Let me preface this review by saying we don't normally stay in B&B's but this one really caught our eye & we weren't disappointed.
Grant & Dennis are the perfect hosts, friendly & efficient with a true eye for detail. Our room was the Verandah room. Beautifully furnished, it was comfortable & cosy. We enjoyed "wine time" every afternoon and were both blown away by the scrumptious breakfasts.
There is ample parking in a small lot behind the B&B. The wireless internet did not work in our room, but we were supplied with a cable so we were able to connect without a problem.
Rosie, the inn's dog, is a sweetheart with personality plus!
The location is suberb-within a short walking distance to Thames Street & all of downtown Newport.
We are now planning to go back to Newport, off season, and we look forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hydrangea House over the Jazz Festival weekend - including the very nice room with a large shower and good-sized Jacuzzi, comfortable robes, the hospitality, housekeeping, the great breakfasts, & excellent location.

All expectations were exceeded, except - - - for the lack of cookies. After reading about the excellent cookies on tripadvisor & the room diaries, we were looking forward to them. We even asked about the cookies and were told there was no dough. We would be interested to hear from others if cookies are no longer being offered.

That said, we really enjoyed our stay & would highly recommend Hydrangea House to others.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaRiverduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We splurged and stayed in the Dudley Newton Suite for 2 nights to celebrate our first anniversary. The room was spacious and beautiful, and the innkeepers helpful and friendly while still completely respecting our privacy. While the inn was full when we were there, we never saw the other occupants. It was like having the place to ourselves! We walked to the waterfront and the mansions easily. After a long, fun day of sightseeing, the double jacuzzi tub in the living room was a romantic way to relax. We peeked into the other rooms before guests arrived, and all are lovely--just check the size of the room on the website to make sure you know what you're getting. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahCNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRIARCLIFF MANOR, NY
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We stayed in the Oak room for our wedding weekend. The room is VERY large, has an amazing bathroom w/ hot tub. Cozy Fireplace. Super Clean! The innkeepers are the nicest people we have ever met. The breakfasts are AMAZING. This place is worth every penny.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VINTAGE718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Lake Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Loved everything about our stay.
Grant ahd Dennis could not have been more wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchessnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We went up for a very last minute weekend getaway and couldn't find a room anywhere decent. We found the Hydrangea House had a room available (surprisingly) and took it despite my boyfriend not being very fond of Bed and Breakfasts. We both loved it! Our room was so cozy and quaint and much attention was given to detail. The breakfast was amazing as well. We would absolutly go back and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitkat77774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
598 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.2 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#6 of 21 in Newport
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hydrangea House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hydrangea House Inn

Property: Hydrangea House Inn
Address: 16 Bellevue Ave, Newport, RI 02840-3206
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hydrangea House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter a world of grace, elegance and style where the intimate charm of Hydrangea House is complemented by its prestigious Bellevue Avenue address where once lived the Vanderbilts, the Astors and the Dukes. Each room's decor is designed around a specific fabric used in the room with luscious colors that were chosen to complement it distinct ambiance. Located in Newport's Old Quarter, guests will find restaurants, shopping and recreational opportunities within footsteps of the inn’s front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Hydrangea House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydrangea House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing