We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Location is Great! Service is friendly at times, rude at others, and completely disorganized” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cleveland House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cleveland House
Ranked #42 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
u.s
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location is Great! Service is friendly at times, rude at others, and completely disorganized”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

The Cleveland House is charming - older, smaller rooms but clean. Location is perfect - you can walk to everything easily. Jeff & Rick, the owners can be really really nice (almost over-the-top), but they are completely disorganized, which translates into many people in our group having problems with their reservations. They don't have a good system to keep track of reservations and who they promised what (and they'll promise you a lot). They charged some people in my group cancellations charges even though they had cancelled months (7 months) prior and weren't ever told of cancellations fees. Others they forgot to charge them for a night and ended up charging them 5 months later.

I wanted nothing more to give this place 5 stars, but after dealing with all the hassles after our stay, the utter disorganization of the owners, I just can't imagine recommending it.

Also, if it's busy or if you plan on having a wedding group here, tell them to do something about the breakfast service. It was so slow, most of my group ate elsewhere, which ruins the fun and coziness of the B&B.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredToddlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    44
    14
    11
    15
See reviews for
14
85
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Have stayed here a number of times and will continue to do so. Rick and staff are consistently friendly and accommodating. Rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. Couldn't ask for a better location; on a quiet street yet within walking distance of downtown.

Room Tip: Rooms can be very cozy but not a problem if you plan on spending most of your time enjoying the site...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Nightmare experience. After I confirmed my reservation via phone, and received an email confirmation a week before my arrival, I received a voice mail - shortly thereafter - notifying me that my reservation had been canceled. By the time I could call back (same afternoon), I was told that the room had been rented to someone else. I was absolutely baffled, and the proprietor offered no apology whatsoever, and was quite rude in his effort to evade responsibility and shift blame to me. I had never had such a terrible and exasperating customer service experience. I was left scrambling to find another B&B at the last second of a festival weekend, and the proprietor offered no help. He couldn't have been less concerned or more arrogant. While the B&B may be lovely, and I would never - never - consider staying there again. Reserve at your own risk.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SeaCloudNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Cleveland House last Saturday night to attend a wedding on Goat Island. From the moment we walked in and were personally greeted by the owner Rick, we knew we had chosen the right place! Our room was comfortable and charming and the bathroom even had a jacuzzi tub. We will definitely return to the Cleveland House the next time we're in Newport. This place is the best value in Newport, hands down!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AletheaHarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

You can't go wrong staying here. Dave and Rick go out of their way to help. The location is perfect for walking everywhere. Once you park your car, you really don't need it again.
Breakfast was next door and a little disjointed, but not because of staff.

There is a communal breakfast table that was dominated by three couples that droned on endlessly,even though they were done eating. With six people waiting I'm not sure if it was oblivion or rudeness. Probably both.
Great place though, you'll really like it here.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank outhere28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed at the Cleveland House on 26/09/2011. We had booked the cheapest room available, but were offered the chance to choose an alternative room if we wanted to, for an additional charge. After a quick look we were happy with our initial selection, but it was nice to be asked. The room was fine, small but comfortable and very clean. Continental breakfast and off-street parking were included. The location is fantastic, on a quiet street just a short walk from the action.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grantbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

On a recent trip through New England, we stayed at the Cleveland House. We stayed at wonderful historic inns and bed and breakfasts. until we arrived at the Cleveland House. Maybe we were spoiled at all of the other places, but this one fell short! Parking was a problem, the rooms were greatly in need of renovation, we had to go to another inn for breakfast. It seemed more like a European hostel, not a bed and breakfast as we know them. I generously give a 3 star rating to this place.

Room Tip: Read several reviews before picking a place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.0 mi away
The Clarkeston
The Clarkeston
#39 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melville House
Melville House
#69 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Admiral Farragut Inn
Admiral Farragut Inn
#73 of 95 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#13 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chart House Inn
Chart House Inn
#38 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fair Street Guest House
Fair Street Guest House
#29 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleveland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleveland House

Property: Cleveland House
Address: 27 Clarke St, Newport, RI 02840-3023
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Cleveland House 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Cleveland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing